We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, attentive and affordable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Roxbury B&B and Inns
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Pleasant, attentive and affordable!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location...easy access to mountains, and quaint town that offers liquor store, grocery store and a few restaurants. I stayed in Melissa's sweet with a couple of friends. The room was spacious, clean and uncluttered! Very sweet couple who accommodated all our needs and provided delicious continental style breakfast with homemade baked goods to start your morning off right!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Scudder Hill House while in town to look at wedding venues. Rae and Bruce were extremely warm and welcoming. Bruce made fresh muffins and apple strudel for our breakfast, which also included yogurt, fresh fruits, cereal, bread/bagels and great coffee. The house is very comfortable and has country charm. In the common room, jazz music plays in the background and there's a selection of board games. We stayed in the Kirkside Park suite, which includes a brick fireplace and it was lovely to fall asleep near the warm fire.

Most importantly, Rae and Bruce are very respectful of your privacy and won't go into your room unless requested (i.e. for cleaning). The first night we were the only guests and it felt like we were alone in the house, which I loved. They also know the area well and made great restaurant recommendations (note: go to Peekamoose!).

We will certainly be back and highly suggest staying at SHH.

Room Tip: Kirkside Park has a lovely fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My daughter and I spend a very nice long weekend in the Railroad Depot room.
5min to Plattekill made us 2 days in a row the first skiers on the lift which was great.
After skiing we enjoyed the relaxing, non TV room. We played games and relaxed.
We liked the breakfast. Bruce, keep on baking, your apple krumm cake and the banana cake were outstanding.
We definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gunther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Rae and Bruce were so pleasant and helpful right from the beginning. I believe we may have been the only guests on the off weeknights we chose to stay at the Scudder Hill House in January. It was a lovely, warm and welcoming place (especially in 5-8 degrees!) We stayed in the Rip Van Winkle room, which was really charming. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and it was lovely getting to know them as well. The best part were the home-made blueberry muffins in the morning!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent a 3-day weekend in January with the grandkids in the Catskills to introduce them to skiing for the first time. The Scudder Hill House was ideally located nearby both Plattekill and Belleayre. We spent a day at each, and one day horseback riding. We reserved the Railroad Depot Room which slept 2 adults and 2 kids, and Bruce & Rae gave us an extra cot for our 3rd grandchild. The breakfast was hardy with homemade fresh muffins and cakes. We were active and out all day long. The Scudder Hill House served our needs well. It was cozy for sleeping and had a good breakfast to get us started. Bruce & Rae were very helpful in giving us the lay of the land, and we enjoyed our weekend there so much that we rented a country house from them for the next 3 months to enjoy the winter weekends there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Yes the place is tiny but its comfortable. I was there to attend a wedding and I must say its not a 5 7 hotel but this place has comfortable beds and clean bathrooms and honestly thats all I need. I thank the owner for making our stay comfortable!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our family stayed in all the rooms the weekend of our daughter's wedding. Compared to other places our guests stayed, this is vastly over-priced. The rooms, while clean, were sparely furnished, no charm or comfortable seating. There was no lounge or public space to gather, the breakfast room which might have had to serve 20 people was small and very crowded with 3 tables and a dozen chairs. Makeshift repairs included rough railings on the front porch, a flimsy screen door hanging on one hinge. In short, look elsewhere for value, charm and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcpw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
12.4 mi away
No photo provided
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Colonial B&B At Stamford
5.5 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.1 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 County Highway 8, Scudder Hill Rd., Roxbury, NY 12474-1919
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Scudder Hill House is an historical farmhouse that sits on 5 acres of pine, fruit, and maple trees, just across the road from the serenity of Lake Wawaka. Located within a 6 mile radius of skiing, mountain biking, parks, and water recreation, you can enjoy the beauty of outdoors close to the comforts of home with a touch of old world charm. Decorated in antiques and rustic elegance, Scudder Hill House is comfortable, uncluttered, and simple. With windows that go from floor to ceiling, private baths in all quarters, quality beds, and large floor plans, our accommodations offer a spaciousness and comfort we feel is the best value for your money in this area. At Scudder Hill House, wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and start your day off with a hot breakfast and home made baked goods from muffins to coffee cakes all made from scratch by Bruce, served in the Breakfast Room. Here, our guests have 24-hour access to books, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, college-size fridge, and internet service. Then adventure out and take advantage of our nearby activities and attractions. From out front door, walk across the street and jog 3 to 4 miles, bicycle or kayak and canoe on Lake Wawaka. Our guests have confirmed that we have created a cozy, warm, and charming environment that feels like home. We hope you'll think so too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast Roxbury, Catskill Region, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing