We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Roxbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We originally had planned to stay 3 nights but changed to 2 nights a few weeks ahead of our stay. We specifically requested and were confirmed Railroad room which had a separate entrance, tv for the kids and a bathtub. The day before a confirmation was sent for 2 night in Melissa's Sweet. When we asked why we had been switched we were told we were informed of this when we switched rooms. Clearly this was not the case as all our correspondence had been by email and there was not mention of this. We surmized the owners had someone that wanted the Railroad room and also wanted the kitchen which was an optional cost add on for the room which we had not taken. We probably would have been OK with this had we been asked to make the change, but to do this on their own didn't go over well. Especially since our children did not want to use the shower.
The room and house were clean. Single beds were more firm than the queen beds which had the "roll to the middle" thing going on.
Our room rate was noted on the website as $125/night. We were told the rate was actually $150/night because they had yet to update the website.
Continental breakfast consisted everything you could buy at a grocery store. Thomas english muffins, Entenmman doughnuts, Quaker oats, boxed cereals, Folgers coffee, hardboiled (cold) eggs, etc. The point here being there were none of the those special breakfast items you would see at a bed and breakfast.
We saw Bruce briefly each morning to simply check in on whether there was enough coffee in the pot.
The location (just south of Roxbury) is a bit remote if you are looking to spend any time in and around Woodstock or the mountains of Hunter and Windham.
Overall it was a decent stay, but it lacked that special feeling we've experienced while staying at other bed and breakfasts. It felt a bit more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. That may sound harsh, but we just didn't leave feeling like "We can't wait to come back here again some time again" that we often find ourselves saying.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casper1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

I have stayed at a number of B&B's, but the Scudder Hill House is by far one of the best I have been to. Owners Bruce and Rae make you feel right at home from the moment you walk in, and I felt the experience continued through the whole stay. I stayed in the "Melissa Sweet" (that is not a typo) and it was extremely clean and very comfortable. It was the perfect location for my friends and I and was located very close to both Bellayre Ski Area for the day and a couple of local bars for the evening. I know I'll be staying here again in the spring when I go back to explore the Catskills!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Such a warm and inviting bed and breakfast location with quiet, comfortable, peaceful rooms and surroundings. Rae and Bruce are outstanding hosts. Truly a place not to miss.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My title says it all. The Brenners were excellent hosts. The room and attached private bathtoom was spacious and clean. Exactly what a family of four needed. Great for ski season and we'll be back for golf.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I stayed at the Scudder Hill house and would give thie place an A+ rating. Rae and Bruce are wonderful hosts, the food is excellent, the beds are super comfortable, and the location is easy to find.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basskill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We were looking for a place to unwind after a very hectic summer. Most B&B's in the catskills have no A/ C 's and we knew from our previous stay that the scudder hill house did. Just as before, the rooms were spotless, bright and comfotable. We enjoyed just hanging out on the deck in the beautiful yard.
The owners Rae and Bruce now have a website www.scudderhillhouse.com.
Unlike many other websites that we checked, thier rooms are as good if not better than they appear. Thier decriptions are accurate and thier prices are very reasonable. This place is a true gem! Can't wait to stay again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 24 County Highway 8, Scudder Hill Rd., Roxbury, NY 12474-1919
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Scudder Hill House is an historical farmhouse that sits on 5 acres of pine, fruit, and maple trees, just across the road from the serenity of Lake Wawaka. Located within a 6 mile radius of skiing, mountain biking, parks, and water recreation, you can enjoy the beauty of outdoors close to the comforts of home with a touch of old world charm. Decorated in antiques and rustic elegance, Scudder Hill House is comfortable, uncluttered, and simple. With windows that go from floor to ceiling, private baths in all quarters, quality beds, and large floor plans, our accommodations offer a spaciousness and comfort we feel is the best value for your money in this area. At Scudder Hill House, wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and start your day off with a hot breakfast and home made baked goods from muffins to coffee cakes all made from scratch by Bruce, served in the Breakfast Room. Here, our guests have 24-hour access to books, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, college-size fridge, and internet service. Then adventure out and take advantage of our nearby activities and attractions. From out front door, walk across the street and jog 3 to 4 miles, bicycle or kayak and canoe on Lake Wawaka. Our guests have confirmed that we have created a cozy, warm, and charming environment that feels like home. We hope you'll think so too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast Roxbury, Catskill Region, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing