We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey, yummy, quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The East Branch - CLOSED

The East Branch
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Homey, yummy, quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love this place. It's a blast from the past of cozy local diner that has great food (breakfast all day!) and nice ladies who wait on you with a smile, pour you another cup of coffee and chat you up while you enjoy the fare. Wish I had East Brand near my house!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for my private party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I got married in Roxbury last weekend and Katie closed down her restaurant last Saturday for a dinner with all the guests the day before the wedding. She was very helpful in planning the month before and was always responsive by email.

The dinner was perfect. We pre-ordered pizza and salads and kept ordering as people arrived. Katie and her staff worked quickly and kept bringing out more food. Everything was delicious and all our guests had a great time.

Katie's restaurant is very cute and with the outdoor patio, it was the perfect size. We definitely recommend going to The East Branch - either to have a party or to stop in for a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My local favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Here you have really delicious blueberry pancakes with REAL maple syrup (at no extra charge!) Wonderful ham, great French toast and terrific daily breakfast specials. A very short walk from everything there is in Roxbury and worth every step. The lunch specials are also very good and you have to beat the lines at the special service window for the pizza with the garlic buttered crust- a treat. Good soups and local flavor. The proprietress does it all along with the annually "best rated waitress" in the Catskills, Kathy. Also you can buy stunning small watercolors by a local artist. We have made this our go-to local hangout in our town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A completely satisfying dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is exactly the type of restaurant where I want to eat when I'm in the wilderness on vacation. Really friendly people serving really satisfying, tasty food. Bonus was that we could walk here from The Roxbury Motel where we were staying.

The garlic knots, calzone, burger, and spice cake were all very well prepared. This is not fancy at all but why anyone would go to the Catskills looking for fancy food is beyond me. I would definitely return here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best blueberry pancakes ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This isnot fancy, but great breakfast spot. They have great tasting farm fresh eggs. Fresh bread. Sinful sausage patties. But you must order the blueberry pancakes. My favorite breakfast spot.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jencole88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The East Branch also viewed

Roxbury, Catskill Region
Roxbury, Catskill Region
 
Roxbury, Catskill Region
Roxbury, Catskill Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing