We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Friendly &fablous”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Roxbury 2 weeks ago. We had a great time. The innkeepers were great very helpful and wonderful. The photo's on the website don't do the rooms justice. One is more wonderful than the next. The Owner was also a lot of fun and very charming. We will return this september for a big birthday. We can't wait! Enjoy!

Room Tip: All are great. For more fun get a theme room and have a ball!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indie8BucksCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great funky motel in the Catskills. If you are going up this way awesome rooms, fun and quirky, nice breakfast, friendly people. Great location for a wedding

Room Tip: Make sure you book a theme room! We had the angels room like a set out of Charlie's angels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We enjoyed our one night visit. We had relaxing massages and the rooms have everything you could possibly need. The breakfasts were great also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

After a great first visit to the Roxbury last summer, I was eager to return for another getaway. The area in and around Roxbury is quaint and full of things to do, and the Roxbury Motel is the perfect complement to it - fun, sophisticated and relaxing. I brought friends along for this trip and was looking forward to showing them what makes the place special.

I stayed in the Golightly a Go-Go room. Though I hadn't intentionally chosen it, I wound up enjoying the elegant theme. As with the other theme studios, it has a back door that opens out to the beautiful lawn behind the property. We spent one of our evenings down by the East Branch of the Delaware, enjoying the dusk over wine and cheese.

Each morning we enjoyed the substantial continental breakfast out on the patio. This is no meager affair - it's a spread, with almost any cold food you can imagine, and piping hot coffee and tea. The morning chill was taken away as we sat by the gas fire and talked with other travelers. It was a great way to greet the day, and get ready for the activities ahead.

Cell phone coverage is spotty in the town - and I was grateful! Nowadays it's hard to escape the office even on an airplane. But the Roxbury has "old-fashioned" phones in every room for people who need them, and they've got boosters so you can get cell coverage in designated spots. And with WiFi throughout the property, we just resorted to Facetiming friends.

Since I had a 3 day visit this time, I took their advice and bought a spa pass. At $20/person for the whole trip, it's a great bargain. I loved the spaciousness and green steam of the Shimmer Spa North best - but there is something to be said for the beautiful view of the lawn from the hot tub in the Shimmer Spa South. And the library was a pleasant surprise. With its mountain views and serenity, I could have read there all day. It is clear the Greg and Joe make things better and better with each expansion. They are currently working on a new suite called the Archaeologist's Digs. And I already can't wait to get back to check it out.

On this trip, we checked out Cooperstown, just over an hour away. I wish we could say we saw the lake and the Baseball Hall of Fame, but we never made it past Ommegang. Still, that's a great destination in itself, with craft beer and great Belgian cuisine. We also made it to Alder Lake for a beautiful hike. Getting there on the narrow and hilly dirt roads was somewhat harrowing, but it was well worth the adventure. You've gotta love a small town that has its own radio station - we popped in one evening after dinner at the Public Lounge and enjoyed a chat with the DJ when he was off air.

The Roxbury stands out for the attention they pay to detail. Everything is thought out, and they've anticipated virtually every need you have. They are available when you need them - without being in the way. I especially appreciate that they offer you a premium experience at a great value. Other places would nickel and dime you for many of the things the Roxbury throws into the rate - or offers at a reasonable fee.

The Roxbury is worth coming back to. And with each room offering a unique experience, I can see myself doing so again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TGP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed at " The Roxbury" and in a word WOW..It's wonderfully refreshing..aTrue Gem in an area where time seems to have stood still! We stayed in " kitty 's saloon"... The details cannot be understated..It is implacably clean..the staff friendly..everywhere you turned..your senses were met with such beauty, creativity..not your cookie cutter hotel/motel .. Greg, one of the owners, an awesome host..we highly recommend it ( although we'd rather keep it to ourselves)...there's plenty to do..we incorporated our trip with a day of Ziplining ...in Hunter ..about a half hour drive from the Roxbury....we cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: There numerous eateries within driving distance..directly across ..a very very casual eatery...don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puravida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in the Coconut Cream Pie themed room. It was made with an attention to detail to say the least. The hotel itself is very good, we went during a slow time so there were only three other rooms booked. The spa was great, although split between the two buildings. The continental breakfast was perfect before a long day of hiking. Lots of little extras were very nice, like coffee and snacks all day. The owners are also very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We came to The Roxbury in 2009 and finally had our chance to come back for Memorial Day weekend. This time we came with our 2 yr old son and stayed in the Wizard's Emeralds room.

We loved the room! It was spacious, clean, and amazingly decorated. I gasped when we opened the door and were greeted by the yellow brick road! All the details in this room are truly lovely, from the green chandelier, to the ruby red slippers pillow, to the yellow brick road painting on the wall, to the cowardly lion's tail on the ceiling. The list goes on. The bathroom is amazing as well, with the big tub for two and dual shower heads!

The owners and staff are so friendly and welcoming, and are always making sure everything is ok. You won't meet people as nice as them anywhere! They make you never want to leave.

My son loved it here, he always wanted to be outside by the gazebo. He enjoyed walking the grounds and just enjoying nature. I'm glad he was able to experience this with us.

A continental breakfast is served daily (cold cuts, breads, pastries, cereal, etc) and everything was so delicious! I kept going back for seconds. The coffee is also real yummy! They have little fridges in each room so if you want to bring extra snacks you are welcome to. They also have snacks in the office if you get extra hungry, plus extras for purchase.

I can't say enough good things about The Roxbury, you just have to go and experience it yourself. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeria3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
17.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
17.3 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
22.3 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
440 reviews
8 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474-1465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range: £74 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Catskill Region, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing