We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just returned from spending three wonderful nights at the Roxbury. We stayed in the Wizard's Emerald room. The room was meticulously prepared and the whimsical design really created a one-of-a-kind experience. The owner Greg and the entire staff were friendly and accommodating. I had pre-ordered a cheese platter, flowers, and a great bottle of Beau Joie champagne. All were waiting in our room upon arrival with the champagne nice and cold! They have a food truck, (Ate o Ate) that comes on site and will deliver right to your room. I had ordered a Valentines Day special meal of shrimp appetizer, arugula salad, filet mignons, and individual cheese cakes. The food arrived on time and was very good. We also took advantage of the couple's massage and took a nice hot steam in the North Spa. It was definitely relaxing after a great time snow tubing the day before at Windham. I could go on and on, but my suggestion would be for you to experience the Roxbury for yourself. We will definitely be going back to check out another room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zullo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place is nothing short of amazing! Just beautiful! A perfect getaway - about a 3 hour drive. We arrived late on Friday night and the office (which closes at 8pm) left us everything we needed to check in. Upon entering our room, there was an answer to every question we may have had in a binder. Unbelievably clean, friendly, and just wonderful. The bed was a piece of heaven. The spa is great, the skiing is nearby, and the staff is so friendly! This was a great getaway from our crazy lives in NYC. Linda was so nice and helpful upon our check in and check out. There was another lady upon our check out who was so friendly as well, she helped us with a bag and shirt we wanted to purchase.


Cassie's was great for breakfast (just a block away) and Mama Maria's (a 25 minute drive) was fantastic for dinner. My ONLY issue is I wish there were plastic forks, spoons, and knives in the room. We ordered dinner from Vasta's on Sunday night. I specifically requested forks and knives (among other things) and they delivered just the food - nothing else. We had to eat everything with our hands. PLEASE DONT ORDER FROM THIS PLACE, THEY GOT THE ORDER WRONG COMPLETELY and had the nerve to charge an $8 delivery fee.

I have recommended this beautiful place to 5 people already and I will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Beautiful, modern, new, comfortable, clean hotel in the Catskills. After long research for an accommodation in the Catskills for a 2 days ski trip right before Xmas, I decided to book this hotel. It was a great choice!! Most of the hotel didn't look nice in that area and were overpriced. We had the cheapest room which was a VERY GOOD VALUE. Unfortunately it was raining so we asked if we could be refunded for our 2nd night as we were not staying, the owner of the hotel refunded us and that was very generous from him to do that! We will definitely go back.

Thank you again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent a few days between Christmas and NYE at the Roxbury and what a treat! The owners are dolls. The rooms are amazing. The town is kind of a trip. Quiet. Our two almost adult kids are hard to please, and they were completely happy here. We walked to Publics for dinner twice, and ordered off of the gourmet food truck once. Both were great experiences. My only complaint would be that the woman who is there at breakfast is a miserable person. But hey, nothing is perfect. This place comes darned close though.

Room Tip: It was winter. Not complaining about the pool! TA needs a NA. Loved the Amadeus Suite. Lots of priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfernathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoxbury, Owner at The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We strive for perfection, so your acknowledgement of our efforts means the world to us. We LOVE it that your grown sons were able to enjoy themselves here and that you appreciated the quiet quirkiness of the town where our business resides. Your comment about a member of our staff being a “miserable person” bothers us tremendously, though. Possibly more than you might realize. “Miserable person” is a very strong expression. We encourage you to contact us directly so that we can delve into this further. As evidenced by some of our other reviews that talk about friendly staff, we provide constant training to our staff about the importance of friendly and hospitable customer service. So much so that we do not keep people here who exhibit difficulty with always being friendly no matter the circumstance. We have worked hard over the years to create a family atmosphere for our staff and unless they are not revealing their true feelings to us, we seldom see evidence of any staff member being “miserable.” From our observation when we are on premises (which is every day), most staff always seems quite happy and everyone knows that they are to be courteous to guests regardless of the situation. Not that it is any excuse, but the week between Christmas and New Year is absolutely crazy busy during breakfast time with a full hotel trying to eat, go skiing, plan their day, or check-out at the same time. In fact it has become so busy that we are currently renovating our lobby and breakfast area to accommodate for the increase in demand. Perhaps someone was unintentionally direct with you when a lot of other people were also asking for help? Regardless, this will have serious consequences, so I hope you will contact us directly about it. Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

For the second year in a row, four of us stayed at the Roxbury for New Year's Eve and enjoyed ourselves as much if not more than last year. For our three night stay we booked ‘Miss Kitty’s Saloon’, a two bedroom, 1 and ½ bath suite. We could not have been happier. Both bedrooms had very comfortable king beds, flat panel TV’s and ample closet space. The living area consisted of a couch (which is also a pull-out), love seat, a table with two chairs and another flat panel TV. There is also a counter top with a sink, microwave, coffee maker and a full size refrigerator. All the TV’s in the suite have cable and NETFLIX (a great addition from our stay last year). The main bathroom has a HUGE soaker tub/shower. There is always fresh coffee and tea in the morning to go along with the complimentary continental breakfast. The best part about the Roxbury are the owners and their staff. From the moment you arrive to the moment you head on home, they all make you feel like part of an extended family. I would and will recommend the Roxbury to anyone who will listed (couples, small groups, families). We can’t wait until our third annual New Year’s Eve at the Roxbury to ring in 2015…….

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The owners are amazing, the rooms are amazing, our anniversary was amazing, they are amazing. The town is sort of sleepy and not much to do. Every room is gorgeous and designed to amazing taste and quality. The stream next to the hotel will calm you down its so relaxing and not heard in the room. There is a kitchenette diner a block away with good hand made food. Great for couples getaway. The best, Only five star review I have ever posted on here or yelp. 6 out of 5 stars. The spa is worth it add it on soooo worth it. I am raving about The Roxbury.

Room Tip: We stayed in the MaryAnne's coconut creme pie. AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neverbuylivingsocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best experiences I've had staying in a motel/hotel in a long time! My girlfriend and I stayed here 3 nights during the week and we had a blast. We ended up staying in the final frontier room... And wow. Just wow. I'm a huge Star Trek fan and this place was a fantastic homage to the show! From the light up LED screens which look similar to panels on a starship, to the awesome set like furniture to the ceiling stars display which makes the room look like it's traveling through space! The towels, bathroom supplies and the beds were all great. The staff was very helpful with any of our questions and needs. We even got to meet the owner! We look forward to being back in a couple of months to try the Emerald room!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nutellalips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
17.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
17.3 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
22.3 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
440 reviews
8 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474-1465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range: £74 - £637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Catskill Region, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing