We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sackets Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlelight Guest House
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was large, very clean and the bathroom was clean and modern. We had a view of the harbour from our window. Breakfast is no longer provided but Alice gave great recommendations. Sackets Harbour is a quaint place with several good eateries.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Sackets Harbor is an historic site of the War of 1812 and Candlelight Guest House sits right beside the battlefield, so it's a great choice for history lovers. We chose the Ontario room because it overlooks the battlefield and Lake Ontario behind it. It was a perfect stay-- newly renovated rooms with very good quality furnishings, including a comfortable bed, quiet surroundings (we didn't hear the other guests) and a friendly but unobtrusive owner, Alice. Since this is a guest house, there's no breakfast, so it's a good place for people who don't go to B&Bs because they don't like talking to other guests or owners. However, Alice was very helpful, giving us a verbal tour of the town and calling a restaurant on our behalf. For dinner, we chose Sackets Harbor Brewpub, where the citrus sea bass was outstanding. Both the town and Candlight are excellent for those who seek a truly tranquil getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeetieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Plain, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were excited about getting up to Sackets Harbor again, after too long an absence. We were not disappointed! This is a very nice place in a perfect location on the lake. We have stayed there before and have always had a great time. The restaurants are wonderful and plentiful for such a little town and all the historic sites are easily accessible even by walking. We'll get back there again when we can get away.

Room Tip: The west facing room looks right out on the lake! Lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PRM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wonderful guest home. Perfect location. Cordial hostess. Great room and view. Quiet. Comfortable bed. Windows that actually open! Fans. Luxurious bathroom. Immaculate. Great sleep. Can’t do better! We will definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Great advice from trip-advisor. Clean, comfortable, room with a view. Great night's sleep on very comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful proprietor. Delightful town- picturesque, relaxing. We had a great stay in part due to this lovely guest house. Perfect recommendation for breakfast - Tin Pan Galley in Sacket's Harbor. Don't miss it- breakfast / lunch / or dinner!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inland Empire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed once again at the Candlelight Guest House in Sackets Harbor. The owners, Alice and Jerry have thought of every little thing that would make you feel at home. The suites are immaculate. They are nicely furnished including comfortable chairs, adequate lighting for reading and a generous variety of literature. The bath is furnished with plush cotton towels, a wide variety of toiletries and an excellent shower fixture. All rooms have coffee service and are served by a convenient hall frig. Alice and Jerry are the perfect hosts and could not be more accommodating. They really go the extra mile to suggest places you may wish to visit while in the area. If you catch them at the right time you might get to meet their sweet Mila dog and maybe even get to go for ice cream in their electric Mila mobile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-BC-SKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I just returned from a visit to the delightful village of Sackets Harbor. If you have never been there, perhaps you should consider it. I think you will be pleasantlly surprised. While there I had the pleasure of staying at the Candleight Guest House, located just a few steps away from Lake Ontario. Alice was a gracious host and quite personable. She has provided an inviting atmosphere with a keen attention to detail. My room was exceptionally clean, while at the same time, warm and inviting from the bed linens, bath towels and various and sundry toiletries to the refrigerator in the hall available for your convenience. I loved having the coffee service in the room equipped with mugs and spoons. No plastic or styrofoam here. Alice and Jerry were very helpful iln suggesting places to visit as well as suggestions for having breakfast, lunch and or dinner. An extra treat is meeting a lovely dog named Milia. So if you are fond of quaint villages situate on lovely lakes and warm and inviting accomdations, then visit Sackets Harbor and the Candlelight Guest House. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sackets Harbor
0.3 mi away
Ontario Place Hotel now Harbor House Inn
20.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Guest House

Property: Candlelight Guest House
Address: 501 W. Washington St., P.O. Box 92, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685
Region: United States > New York > Sackets Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sackets Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Sackets Harbor
Candlelight Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing