We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn by the Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Johnsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn by the Mill
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is my second time staying at the Inn by the Mill and it was just as wonderful as the first time (about 2 years ago). My girlfriend and I wanted to get away for a weekend and the word "perfect" was thrown around quite a bit. The host and hostess could not have been nicer, and the rooms couldn't have been cleaner or more quaint. Between the creek, the tasty treats, and the overall ambiance, this place was a gem. Will be coming back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
318 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here one night to attend Camelot at Glimmerglass opera. I'm a bit sad we arrived so late in the day as we didn't end up having much time to enjoy the amenities. We stayed at the cliff-side cottage which is HUGE - 2 bedrooms (our daughter was going to come but ended up doing something else), huge living room, game room (with cool dart board, lots of neat games including Labyrinth), great porch over looking a very cold stream we wanted to wade in (but time prevented us) since it was 100 degrees, AC, fully stocked kitchen with many home made goodies and copious ice cream and two caring hosts who explained every feature of the inn and the accommodations. They have poured their hearts into this property and it shows. To the "weird" review below, I mean, yes, point taken that the decorations are particular to the hosts' whimsies and eclectic tastes (not everyone wants the winter constellations on the bedroom ceiling, quirky wallpaper and real twigs on the ceiling to mimic a forest) but it is in the spirit of FUN. You might not decorate YOUR house this way but they made sure to put their own stamp on each room. Don does more of the "beneath the surface" stuff while Judith does everything you can see.

Any issues with our stay had nothing to do with the Inn or the hosts - the main route to Glimmerglass was closed with a detour (that they didn't mark) so it took FOREVER to get to the opera and we had more than our tour of the Amish back country roads. We're lucky we made the opera. We came back at midnight after a huge storm had knocked out the electricity but Don literally stayed up till midnight and met us with a flashlight to help us get in. Luckily the lights came on my morning so we were able to shower and eat breakfast before heading out. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to just hang out, enjoy the hot tub, view from the porch, etc... but this is a lovely retreat, home away from home and the Cliffside cottage has tons of space and every amenity in a homespun/woodsy style. We appreciated our hosts efforts to help us during the storm.

Room Tip: Hag House is VERY small - the Cliffside cottage is about 20 times bigger. If you want space, pick th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Located within a short drive of Glimmerglass Opera and Cooperstown, Cliffside Cottage, at The Inn by the Mill, is a private vacation rental cottage, with ALL the necessary provisions for self-preparation breakfast provided, excluding meats. The hosts, Ron & Judith, have thought of everything one could possibly need for breakfast, and during multiple-day stays the provisions are replenished as necessary.

Perched atop a cliff, the cottage overlooks a flowing stream, complete with waterfalls and rapids; what could be more soothing and romantic? After sunset, the stream and falls are illuminated by control switches within the cottage. With outside decks and seating, complemented by a large hot tub, we thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside for hours on end. During a brief rain shower, we were able to enjoy the vista through the large sliding-glass doors in the master bedroom and “water side” room.

Although the bedrooms are air conditioned, the cottage is so situated that we had a nice cool breeze from the many windows and sliding doors, and didn’t need the AC.

The kitchen is large, has a nice Jenn-Air stovetop with in-wall oven, and is fully stocked with every imaginable necessity to prepare breakfast. Also, there is a variety of snacks, such as chips, salsa, pretzels, etc, and the freezer is stocked with a variety of wonderful ice creams (with all the toppings, etc.). Also provided are homemade breads, Judith’s famous Oreo Torte, and “to-die-for” Mill-Wheel cookies.

The living room is cozy (and large), and has a new flat-screen television (with cable). Configured in an “L” shape, there is plenty of room for snuggling up with a good book in one part of the room, whilst others watch television in the other.

Off the living room, and down a couple of steps, is the “water side” room; what a delightful retreat! The water side room has a small dining table, two comfortable rocking chairs, and gas Franklin stove. Through a wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and glass sliders, the room overlooks a nice deck, and the stream’s rapids.

There are two bedrooms, each with air conditioning, and the master has a glass slider and deck overlooking the stream. This room, known as the “Forest Room”, is decorated as if one were in the treetops, looking up at the stars. The ceiling is an authentic recreation of the nighttime sky (real constellation configuration), and when the lights are dimmed, the stars shimmer (sounds corny, but it’s delightful!). The closet runs the length of one wall, and has more than enough space for our clothing for a week’s stay.

The second bedroom, the “bird’s-nest” room, although a bit smaller, is cheerful and roomy.

As an annual visitor to Glimmerglass Opera, I’m delighted to have found this wonderful house for my summer’s in upstate New York!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

There are bed and breakfasts and then there is the INn By The Mill......this place is amazing!
A life experience not to be compared to any other. Not only does it provide a cozy place to lay your head, you can spend your time on the premises appreciating New England's past. The history of this property hangs heavy in the air while walking the grounds. Any questions regarding the history of the Mill and surrounding areas can be answered by the Inn's knowledgeable hosts.
The fantastic baked goods made fresh by the hostess were simply beyond words. There were also many options of fresh fruit and healthy whole grain items to choose from.
The accommodations were very clean and anything that you could need was provided for you.
This B & B is one of the most relaxing and beautiful landmarks that we have ever experienced. The simplest pleasures of a cup of tea on the porch while listening to the falls easily melted away any stress that we may have arrived with. We will definitely be taking yet a third trip to this spectacular getaway in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different locations. The Cliffside offered the falls directly outside of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangsallie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We've just returned from our most recent weekend at Cliffside Cottage where, in aimlessly surfing the web, we read through the reviews of this property that had been written since we wrote ours in 2007. All the features we previously praised at Cliffside are just as praiseworthy now (except for the television, which is now a flat screen and therefore better), but it was interesting to read the reviews that point out cool things that don't even factor into our visits there--for instance, the wooded grounds that people like taking walks through (once we cuddled in our cocoon there, we hardly ever go outside except to use the hot tub) or the sightseeing attractions in the area (which we might consider seeing, were it not for the fact that we'd have to go outside). I guess that it all goes to show how many different kinds of perfect vacation you can have if you choose to stay here.

What puzzled us among the other reviews, however, was a recent one that called Ron "weird" and deplored the deplorable presence of too many sugary treats. It's true that Ron isn't the kind of bland vanilla guy you'd meet in a 50s sitcom, but who really wants to hobnob with Ward Cleaver? I can only guess that the people who wrote that review didn't get Ron's sense of humor, which is pretty dry and wonderfully wicked--but "weird" makes it sound like he stalks the grounds playing a clarinet and dressed like a nun. Instead, he's a supremely accommodating host, and visiting with him and Judith when we check in and check out is always a highlight of our visits there.

Judith, meanwhile, is truly the greatest baker I've ever known, and if anyone writes a review that succeeds in persuading her to cut down on the treats, that person will need to meet me at twenty paces on the field of honor. But if you'd rather not eat them, perhaps this will be reassuring: she's not a very big person, and I sincerely doubt that she'd ever succeed in tying anyone down and forcing apple coffeecake into his mouth. Moreover, if you decide to be virtuous about your diet (which, at Cliffside, would be the equivalent of deciding to wear a blindfold at the Louvre), there are healthy choices in plenty: whole grain bagels and English muffins, multiple cereal options, lots of fresh fruit, and so on.

In the end, there's no way that either the photos or the reviews (including mine) on Trip Advisor can do justice to this cottage--it's one of those "You've got to see it to fully comprehend how wonderful it is" kind of places. So find out for yourself: you'll be more than glad you did.

Room Tip: In our 15-20 visits there, we've never stayed anywhere other than Cliffside Cottage. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamlet903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you want a romantic and cozy vacation, this is it. This is the Best Bed and Breakfast my husband and I ever stayed at. Everything you need to cook or grab for breakfast is available. It was fantastic to have so many choices. We chose not to eat the ice cream as we are watching our diets but there were plenty of healthy items to choose from. Judith and Ron are hosts in every sense of the word. They make sure you are enjoying your stay. They are knowledgeable about the history of the township and village of St. Johnsville and recommended great day trips. We loved the Adirondeck museum, Beardsley Castle, Fort Klock, the cheese factory, and the boat tour of the Erie Canal. There is so much to do we did not have time to see it all. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The cottage on Cliffside is amazing. It has a jacuzzi, and a waterfall running right next to the cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexford, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you are looking for a place where you can relax in a clean, cozy and romantic environment then do not think about going here. No need to think about it, JUST GO! We stayed at the Cliffside Cottage for 2 days when our son was getting married at Beardslee Castle. We did not get to spend as much time in the cabin as we woudl have liked, but when we were there we really enjoyed it. The place was immaculate and had all of tthe things you would need. The view of the gorge was beautiful and relaxing and sitting in the hottub with cookies and champage in the moonlight was wonderful! The innkeepers Ron and Judith were very nice and you can tell they take EXTREME pride in making sure you have a great stay. If there is something you need just ask them. They also make sure to respect your privacy. We have already told many people about this place and we also plan to go back soon for a romantic weekend. There is not much to do so if you are looking for lots of entertainment then this may not be the place for you. But, if you are looking for a place to get away, relax, watch movies, sit by the fireplace, be romantic and just hang out then this is perfect. It does not have a mdern decor, but it does have modern amenities like a flat screen TV, DVD, lighting features, microwave, washer/dryer, hot tub and full cooking kitchen. The decor is very country and makes you feel VERY relaxed. The main bedroom is like you are outside. Judith has a wonderful decorating touch. She is also a great baker and I highly recommend the Oreo Torte cake and the mill wheel cookies. Ron will make sure to show you all you need to know for your stay and he has some wonderful stories to entertain you.
It is a bit pricey, but I think well worth it. You are forced to relax and mellow out. How can you put a price on that? We are hoping to get back there very soon.

Room Tip: Cliffside Cottage offers you the most for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Johnsville
17.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
14.8 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Overlook Mansion
The Overlook Mansion
#1 of 4 in Little Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
15.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Mill

Property: Inn by the Mill
Address: 1679 Mill Rd, Saint Johnsville, NY 13452-3911
Region: United States > New York > Saint Johnsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Johnsville
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing