We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Upstate New York Country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopkins House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Salem B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Slice of Upstate New York Country”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This ultra-charming 1790s vintage farmhouse brought back memories of my grandparent's country home when I was growing up. The house is magnificent, with its high ceilings, wood plank floors and original details. The breakfast room with its long farmhouse table is a delight. All this only to be topped by the hospitality. Aggy and Charlie are warm, lovely and welcoming. Breakfast with the local fresh eggs and warm oatmeal hit the spot. I could not recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prospero25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just spent a weekend at this B&B with my wife and it was fabulous. It's always a double edge sword to brag about a wonderful place but Charlie and Aggy deserve every bit of praise we can muster. Great location and the house has been carefully restored to remain "in character". The owners are really nice people and interesting to talk with, they make a visit a lot of fun and you really feel welcome in their home. Wonderful food recommendations also, listen well. Absolutely no doubt we will return ( and return and return...)

Room Tip: Top rooms probably quieter in AM but large room on 1st floor interesting and its fun to watch your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick46885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My hubby and I spent the week-end in the area to attend the Southern Adirondack Fiber Festival and were privileged to spend the night with Charlie and Aggie(Brandy too). The area is beautiful and Charlie and Aggie's tips on dining and other sights in the area including the Battenkill Valley Creamery were spot on. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

From the first moment I walked into Hopkins House with my very large dog, we felt welcomed. The house is a delight - from the 1932, 8 burner Magic Chef enameled stove in the kitchen, to the wood burning stove on the brick surround that Charlie and Aggy built. Copper tea kettles, and comfy rocking chairs add to the ambience and Brandy, their lab looks over everything from the vantage point of her bed. I suppose, I should mention the Palladian windows, fan lights at the front door, the gracious architectural proportions, and wide board flooring that are all part of the Hopkins House charm. But honestly, they pale in comparison to the comfiest bed I have ever slept in, and the warmth and hospitality of Aggy and her husband, Charlie. It was hard to leave the bed, but I did, early on Sunday morning, to come downstairs and find Charlie amidst the warmth of the wood stove, hand grinding the coffee he had just roasted. Could it get better? Well, yes. Breakfast was offered - a dazzling array of choices. I went with the Duveen Scramble- Charlie's own concoction of freshly laid eggs, with onion, broccoli florets and cheese, and some whole meal toast which was delicious, and Max my Mastiff/Lab cross enjoyed his first peanut butter spoonful, generously offered by Aggy. Neither of us wanted to leave..

Room Tip: Just let the Duveens know what you would like, the rooms are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Hopkims House Farm is a slice of Americana. Located a few miles outside of picturesque Salem,
it is a beautifully restored farmhouse that is a charming and relaxing way to step back into time.

Charlie ans Aggy are are a wonderfully inviting and interesting couple. And, Charlie makes a mean scrambled egg.

Dogs, donkeys, and lots of history make this an inviting and homey hospitality. Though I love my Marriotts, I would take Hopkins House any night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdickson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, vt
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great place to stay! It is a beautiful old home and farm with lovely rooms, comfortable bed and a great breakfast. Charlie and Aggie were perfect hosts. The surrounding area was lovely. We plan to stay at Hopkins House Farm again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland MA, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Charlie and Aggie are the welcoming hosts in their 1790 farm house. We have stayed there several times and have loved each visit. The farm has beautiful barns and other outbuildings, with a beautiful view down the valley. Excellent breakfasts and good conversations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hopkins House Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins House Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopkins House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6603 State Route 22, Salem, NY 12865-5507
Region: United States > New York > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy 1790 farmhouse with comfortable beds and a full nutritious breakfast, made with mostly local products. Located in the hamlet of Hebron, NY in beautiful Washington County. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing