We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Time”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was my first time traveling to Caldwell House and what a weekend it turned out to be. My fiance and I decided to take a trip up there for a short weekend trip, and we had a blast. This was the first weekend that the new owners, John and Dena, had taken over and based on the prior reviews, I don't think they missed a beat. We were only supposed to stay Friday night, but because of the snow storm, got stuck up there and they gladly accomodated us. Breakfast was great both mornings, especially since there was no power to cook with on Sunday! They even made us pasta on Saturday night when we couldn't get out anywhere for dinner. Not only that, but when we went to leave on Sunday, John had already cleaned all of the snow off of our car and we were able to zip right home. We will definitely be coming back for another weekend soon, we really enjoyed ourselves. Good luck to Carmella and Gene, but you left the place in goods hands with John and Dena!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0untryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
299
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Everything was perfect from the day we checked in, to the the day we left. Gene and Carmela made us feel right at home with them. From the homemade cooking/baking to the casual conversations we would have each day. The history of the home was also very interesting, and intriguing. We stayed in the Butterhill room which was a nice historic feel, with the touch of modern day life. Perfect for a couple looking to getaway from the their busy lives. A definite retreat we will hopefully return to one day.

The Cote's - Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Cotes_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Kelly and Andrew,
We deeply thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We hope to visit Canada and have lunch or dinner with you in your beautiful city.
Carmela and Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Everything was first-class, from the moment that Gene met us at the door till the time we got in our car and drove off two days later. Gene and Carmela run a superb operation. The home and rooms are beautifully appointed. The amenities are wonderful, from the beverages and cookies set out in the dining room to a most comfortable bed and room with hardwood floors and a bathroom that was most spacious and modern.

The best part of the stay, though, was the breakfast hour. It is most conducive to meeting and getting to know the other guests. Inevitably, you begin asking what they expect to do and see, you compare notes, and Gene, all the while serving an outstanding breakfast, steps in with pamphlets and brochures to further describe the sites you're talking about. Never does he try to dominate the conversation; he just politely hands you the promotional literature with comments like, "Here's some more information on the Storm King Art Center."

A final point, intended as praise, not criticism. I signed two credit card slips upon leaving, but thought I had paid for one night months before when I registered. When I got home, I checked and saw that indeed I had already earlier made a one-night deposit. I e-mailed Gene and asked if there was some mistake. He immediately called me on my home phone and my cellphone and left messages explaining that I was being charged for only one night. The other slip I signed was simply for record keeping. Such conscientiousness was impressive but not surprising. It simply reflected the overall excellence of the Caldwell House experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPM591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
You made our day. Thank you for taking the time to write your extensiv e review. We are glad that the billing situation worked out the way it should. All the very best, Carmela and Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a lovely B & B! Gene and Carmela made us right at home with their warm welcome, genuine hospitality, and knowledge about local attractions. We stayed in the attractive Trestle Room, named after a nearby railroad trestle which opened around 1909. Our room was immaculate with shining wood floors, fine furniture, and charming bedcovers and linens. The bed (so nice to find a a good mattress just firm enough!), thick bath towels, period dresser, and cozy armchair all added to our comfort. The shower's curved door maximized space; the sink, nicely tucked into the bedroom, allowed one of us to groom while the other showered.

And breakfast! Carmela made a delicious breakfast - juice, baked peaches with crunchy topping, waffles with homemade jam and local maple syrup, scones, and good fresh coffee.

We left refreshed and content and are looking forward to our next visit when we can sit with a drink on the historic columned front porch. If you have a chance, stay at the Caldwell House for a relaxing getaway. As for location - we were only minutes away from the fabulous Storm King Art Center and that monumental trestle. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLLPelham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
We deeply thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write a review. We hope your next stay at the Caldwell House is even better! All the very best, Carmela and Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our trip could not have been better. Eugene greeted us at the door and took great care to ensure our comfort. We stayed in the Catherine Caldwell room and it was very comfortable and clean and had a very comfortable four poster bed. We had a huge bathtub and a separate room with the shower and toilet. Breakfast was outstanding each morning. Included home made waffles, scones, eggs and coffee. We will definitely be back. A great place for a couple's weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Evelyn,
We deeply appreciate your taking time out to write your review. Your comments were very touching.
Gene Sheridan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Is there anything more wonderful than falling asleep in a lovely, cozy room at the top of a two hundred-year-old house?

If your day excursion got rained out, wouldn't you love to come home to hot coffee and a quiet hour reading in a parlor whose vintage sofa is actually as comfortable as it is beautiful?

Do you marvel at antique oil paintings?

Do you think you would be enchanted with the Caldwell family photographs that line the stair?

Do you love home-made ginger scones and french toast served with lime?

Our innkeeper appeared when we needed him; offered good advice about local restaurants (which took ten per cent off our bill when we gave them the Caldwell House card), and anticipated ways to offer kind service to make our stay more comfortable.
It was like staying at the home of a favorite uncle.

Don't you deserve to have as wonderful a stay as we did? Contact them now. Have fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvetheTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Gene and Carmela were especially gracious and the breakfasts were delicious - especially the lime French toast!
Wonderful authentic rooms and decor, great recommendations for nearby attractions and restaurants, and lots of relaxed conversation.
We'd certainly stay there again, and plan to stay there on our way to someplace further north. We'd have to rate this as one of our best trips ever!
Holly and Stan Blauser

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
963 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
9.6 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
178 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing