We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable welcoming family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Adorable welcoming family”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were looking for an authentic American place to stay and Dena & John's beautiful house didn't disappoint. They take a lot of pride to maintain this 100+ years old house's original features.
Dena and John love children. Our 6 and 10 year old felt at home straight away stealing Dena's yummy cookies from the jar and then rushing out in the large garden to play.
We shared an excellent hearty breakfast and enjoyed the conversations with the other guests. Had a very please time. Highly recommended.
TIP: for diner try The Bright Star Diner & Restaurant on Route 32. Lovely staff, portions are enormous and food is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much for such a kind and generous review. All feedback is incredibly important to us but we are particularly heartened by nice reviews from folks visiting from other countries.
We know that we can be the impression people have of Americans in general and it is so good to hear such nice words as yours.
Please come back and visit us next time the family is in the USA. We would love to see you again!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
301
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Dena & John are wonderful hosts, so warm & welcoming. They attract such friendly guests who sit around & talk over breakfast& Dena is a fine baker.The hosts are so accommodating,printing out directions to attractions & making suggestions for where to go for dinner.
The house is lovely, so well kept & clean.Our room(Butter hill) was beautiful &spacious( especially for a B&B), with luxurious robes & towels, had plenty of toiletries, covers, ac, i-pad & tv. ,too.
A gem of a place!
Iris

Room Tip: You have to check out the rooms--the 4 I got a glimpse of were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We have a range of mattress types here - "soft, medium, and hard" as each person/couple seems to have slightly different tastes. Next time we'll get you into a firm bed!
Hope to see you again real soon,

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This review is long overdue, stayed here in June to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday at Storm King and Brotherhood Winery. Dena and John were fantastic hosts. We were greeted by Dena when we got there and she gave a us a tour of the Inn. There were delicious cookies and snacks everywhere which was great after our drive up from nyc. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the company was great! The Inn is very clean, the owners very hospitable and the location is perfect. It was a shame we were only staying one night. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Average rated sleep quality since the mattress was a bit too firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
What kind remarks, we very much appreciate the effort you took to post this!
We look forward to seeing you again here at the Caldwell House real soon.

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We only spent one night at the Caldwell House, but as we left, we wished we had more time to spend there. Dena and John are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with warmth upon arrival and spending quite a lot of time telling us the house’s history, talking about renovations they had made and making recommendations for local activities and food options. The house itself is circa 1800 and is full of interesting materials and antiques. John and Dena keep it immaculate and the guest rooms are all large, comfortable, private, quiet and have private, individual bathrooms. If you must remain connected, they have wifi and excellent TV options (including a flat screen) in each room, but truth be known, we didn’t use any of that. We were just enjoying the peace and quiet, the comfort of the bed and sitting areas and the adventure of staying in an amazing old building. Loughran’s next door proved to be a very good place for dinner and our fellow guests also had good things to say about Bella Luna just down the road. Dena’s breakfast in the morning was outstanding and sent us all off into the day pampered and smiling. In all, Caldwell House is an excellent choice for spending a night or much longer and Dena and John will make sure you are comfortable, happy and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Dena and John are very accommodating - call them with room, diet, visit requests and I'm certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
How kind of you for such nice remarks! We are so happy that you enjoyed not only the Caldwell House but all the wonderful restaurants and attractions in the area.
We sure hope to see you again soon,

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting our cadet over Ring Weekend at West Point. John and Dena made us feel right at home with cookies and coffee on our arrival and continued great hospitality throughout our stay -- ipad and Netflix available in the room, dark chocolate for late night snacking, and great recommendations for lunch and dinner -- and of course a great breakfast and very comfortable bed. We enjoyed our time there immensely and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRJ330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again - in the brand new rooms that will be ready when you are back!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We chose to stay at Caldwell House the night before the West Point Triathlon instead of one of the local hotels in Newburg. We realized we wouldn't have a lot of time to enjoy the house because of all the things we had planned to do in the area, but we decided to stay there anyway because we knew it would be a great way to relax before the triathlon. We're certainly glad we made the decision!

We arrived Saturday afternoon and received a warm welcome from John, who gave us a short tour of the house before taking us to our room. When we explained that we needed to leave for the triathlon by 7:00 am and would miss breakfast, he immediately asked Dena what could be done to help us out. She quickly told us that she would make a parfait with yogurt, fruit and granola and leave it in the refrigerator. John then showed us where to store the bike for the night and printed out a map with directions to the start of the triathlon. Our short stay was definitely off to a great start!

After we settled into our room Saturday afternoon, we decided to head to Woodbury Commons for some outlet shopping. Before we left, Dena armed us with a voucher for a discount coupon book...and insider information about the best place to park. We grabbed a few treats from the parlor before we left and then set out for the mall.

Sunday morning brought and early start for us. (Thank goodness there was coffee in the parlor!) When we went to the kitchen to get our breakfast, we found a goody bag in the refrigerator with two generous servings of parfait, along with brownies, water and bananas. Needless to say, we wished we were going to be around for Dena's renowned breakfast that we'd read about, but her goody bag was a pleasant surprise and definitely filled us up!

When we returned from the triathlon, John and Dena had just left for church so we freshened up and prepared to depart. Meagan made sure we knew there was no need to hurry and asked if there was anything she could get for us. A bottle of water sounded really good, so the lovely young lady helping Meagan clean the rooms got a couple from the refrigerator as we were leaving. Needless to say, the hospitality we received at the Caldwell house continued right up to the very end of our stay!

We hope to travel to the lower Hudson Valley more in the future and will definitely consider staying with John and Dena again...if nothing else than to enjoy that breakfast we missed out on this time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
What a nice review. We really do hope you have the chance to visit us again so we can give you the "royal treatment"!
It is such kind people as yourself that make this business so much fun to be in!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked at the very last minute, but John was very accommodating. The Inn was lovely, the details adorable, and the breakfast was delicious. Before we left, we were already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. We, too, look forward to seeing you back here again, soon!!! :-)

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
973 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
9.6 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing