We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What a welcoming stay. John and Dena ( also enjoyed talking with Magen-their daughter )were so nice and greeted us with a warm smile. The staff,breakfast and all the accomadations were 10+. Highly recommend for a chilled stay. The area is so beautiful and so much to see(Storm King Arts Center etc. etc.)
Far exceeded are expectations.

Room Tip: All good - depends on your price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review. We enjoyed having you guys for the week - you were so much fun to be around and so interesting to talk to.
Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed here many times, as we have family in the area, and we thoroughly enjoy our time here. It's a lovely place. Very clean and comfortable. John and Dena are the nicest people. The breakfasts are awesome, etc. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for the kind remarks. It was so nice to see you again and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Until then, all the best,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights at Caldwell B&B, traveling by train from New York City. The rooms were nice and very clean. The staff is charming and service is impeccable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodaeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much. We really enjoyed your stay with us and the fascinating conversations we had.
Hope to see you here again real soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You are greeted by the most welcoming staff and then shown to your lovely room - full of amenities - and best of all - the most comfy bed! We so enjoyed talking with John (Dena was away at a family reunion.) We look forward to meeting her next time - as we plan to go back and to stay longer!

Room Tip: Our room had a brand new shower which we appreciated. Others may want a tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mahlon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you - and a special thank you for noticing the great work our staff does. Without them we'd be lost!
We're glad you got to see our solar panel array. It's been producing lots of power for us lately. Love these long sunny summer days.
Hope to see you here again soon. Until then - all the best,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I returned last week from a trip to the Hudson River Valley. We stayed 2 nights at The Caldwell House B&B and thought it was lovely. From the moment we drove up- it had the quaint charm you expect. Big welcoming home with large wrap around porch for relaxing.
Deana and John were great hosts.
The place was very comfortable with two different nicely furnished sitting rooms.
There is a pantry available 24/7 to guests nicely stocked with beverages and snacks.
We stayed in the Harmony Hill room which was large and comfortable with King size bed.
If you dont need a kings size bed - I would recommend the Catherine Caldwell Room, which has a queen and a huge bathroom that two people can share with comfort.
The home is historic yet very well maintained. And the grounds are lovely too.
If Storm King Art Center is on your agenda - this place is really close.
We highly recommend Caldwell House and would not hesitate returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you'll make it a frequent stop.
Until we see you again - all the best,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I could go on and on about how wonderful this B&B is.
The rooms and inn are so beautiful and comfortable you will want to live there.
The breakfast was just amazing.
But most importantly the owners Dena & John and wonderful.....couldn't be nicer.
I've stayed in many a B&B is this by far is at the top of the list.
And they are adding 4 more rooms and a banquet hall soon....a great place to hold a party, shower or event.
And so much to do in the Hudson Valley!!!
Two thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you'll come see us again real soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We just stayed one night on our way through the Hudson Valley, but we had a lovely visit. The rooms are quite nice and well appointed. TV's and Cable in the rooms, but still very charming. The house sits on a main road so there isn't really anywhere to walk around, but it is lovely to just sit on the porch or in the garden and enjoy a glass of wine or an iced tea. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. They have a "guests kitchen" with lots of snacks, drinks and a fridge that you can use for storing food if you are traveling. The homemade breakfast is excellent (fresh muffins, eggs florentine, fruit) and one of the guests had dietary restrictions that they graciously accommodated. John joined us for breakfast and shared stories of the area and some history while offering suggestions and tips for local travel. A relaxing, peaceful retreat after a long days drive!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthspacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you! Wish you could have stayed longer. We hope to see you here again in the near future.
Until then, take care and all the best,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,029 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
798 reviews
14.1 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range: £145 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing