We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic experience at the Caldwell House. Carmela and Gene are very attentive, accommodating and welcoming. The lodging was quaint, warm and impeccably clean. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic, and the experience is definitely worth the price of admission. A fantastic getaway with great hospitality. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMyNameisAuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

Hello Auri,
Thanks for the compliments.
Carmela and Gene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

Gene and Carmella were wonderfuls hosts, and the house itself was warm, inviting, and the perfect place to spend a few days outside the city. We were in the Butler's Room upstairs, which was the perfect spot to relax after driving to Rhinebeck, and then seeing the work at Dia:Beacon.

I highly recommend Caldwell House without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adg308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Caldwell house. The rooms were lovely. The breakfast was delicious. And the hosts, Gene and Carmela, made us feel very welcome. A highpoint to our visit to the area was talking with them and the other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Owners provide excellent personal service--very attentive, but discrete. Perfect balance between intimacy of a home and professionalism of a hotel. Breakfasts were superb. Our bedroom was large, air-conditioned, and included separate room with jacuzzi and bath. House has an interesting history, charming atmosphere. Location is great for exploring Hudson Valley. Would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We planned an inpromptu weekend getaway and Gene&Carmela were kind enough to accomodate us, even though our plans prevented us from doing the 2-night minimum. We choose the beautiful Catherine Caldwell room which had lovely period furnishings and an enormous bathroom with jacuzzi tub for 2! It was such a great way to unwind after a day of running around and since the tub was one of those great airjet models, we didn't even have to fill the tub all the way (a guilt-free jacuzzi for the eco-conscious).

We sleep peacefully and soundly, and woke to the gentle chiming of the grandfather clock the next morning. We had a delicious homemade breakfast with wonderful baked treats by Carmela -- I am an avid baker and cook myself, so I appreciated the quality and care that went in to her dishes. She used the best seasonal ingredients (peaches, blueberries, strawberries, etc.) and tried to make colonial recipes in keeping with the period history of the house.
I was impressed with the great care, attention to detail and period touches that they made sure to infuse the house with; there was a lot of historical information about the original occupants as well photos of the former inhabitants. It gave this house a little something extra that not every B&B can claim. Also impressive was the mounds of information, recommendations, and directions that Gene was able to provide to us on almost anything and everything.

It seems like Gene&Carmela were born to own this lovely B&B and, for my next trip to upstate, I will certainly try to stay here again. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvf_personal_shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We loved our stay at The Caldwell House. Gene and Carmela are wonderful hosts. Carmela's breakfasts were absolutely delicious (she also made the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever eaten). Gene was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area. We spent 3 nights in the Trestle room which was small but clean and quaint. My only criticism was the noisy air-conditioner in the window. Aside from that, we had a delightful time.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank HaiNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast experience. Our hosts, Gene and Carmella were accommodating and the house was beautiful. The food at breakfast was excellent and the company friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0ungTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
989 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
9.2 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
774 reviews
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
9.6 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range: £169 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing