We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The attention to details at Caldwell House is amazing: all the little attentions that are lacking at other bed and breakfasts or hotels were present here. The house is beautiful without being cluttered. Our host was very helpful when looking for dinner. But the breakfast itself was truly impressive. It was far from ordinary: not just pancakes but banana pancakes. Not just fruit, but poached pears. Not just muffins, but lemon orange muffins, all fresh and perfectly homemade. You can tell that Carmen and Eugene enjoy what they do. And they do it well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muriel_bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

Average B&B, room was dusty, rugs in bathroom were filthy. Breakfast was OK, no meat, had to ask for coffee, had barely a glass of juice. We were afraid to ask for more. Not worth the money. Surroundings were run down, grounds are nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Thank you for making us aware of issues that were unsatisfactory to you. We will make improvements and have instructed our staff to do also.
Gene and Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Carmela and Gene run an amazing b&b. There was a perfect balance between privacy and hospitality. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and clearly made with lots of love. My boyfriend and I hope to visit again sometime this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodiepups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and can highly recommend it. The food was great and the owners very knowledgeable and helpful with our trip in the area.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank henning86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic experience at the Caldwell House. Carmela and Gene are very attentive, accommodating and welcoming. The lodging was quaint, warm and impeccably clean. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic, and the experience is definitely worth the price of admission. A fantastic getaway with great hospitality. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMyNameisAuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCT, owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

Hello Auri,
Thanks for the compliments.
Carmela and Gene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Gene and Carmella were wonderfuls hosts, and the house itself was warm, inviting, and the perfect place to spend a few days outside the city. We were in the Butler's Room upstairs, which was the perfect spot to relax after driving to Rhinebeck, and then seeing the work at Dia:Beacon.

I highly recommend Caldwell House without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adg308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Caldwell house. The rooms were lovely. The breakfast was delicious. And the hosts, Gene and Carmela, made us feel very welcome. A highpoint to our visit to the area was talking with them and the other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,048 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
9.3 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range: £147 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery the USMA at West Point and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing