We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I Stayed at The Point"”
Review of The Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Point
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Reviewed 1 July 2014

That used to be a worthy claim for a visitor to the Saranac Lake area of New York State.
The physical plant was magnificent. The restaurant was a dream. The power boating was first class. Even just a walk out to the well stocked bar in the lean-to at the tip of the Point itself was a delight. One price pays for all so there is no bother with the usual accounting of an upscale property. Dining is at the main dining hall with other adult guests rotating around the tables. Pets OK but no kids allowed.
It used to be such a perfect property but a few years ago a violent windstorm tore through the property, crossed the lake and then returned to take down almost every single mature tree on the site. From an Adirondack setting in the woods suddenly The Point looked like a randomly roughed out golf course.
Ownership changed to make it part of an international consortium. The meals and cabins are still very nice. Some major repairs needed to be done. But The Point has lost much of the cachet that made it one of the most luxurious resorts in the United States just a few years ago.

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Steven B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I am happy to be able to tell you that the ownership concept you mentioned fell apart several years ago and we have since returned to running the way The Point did in the past. The damage the micro burst caused in 2008 has largely grown back in naturally and looks a million times better than I am sure it did back then. We can of course never replace the old trees that were there, but we take the positives it left behind with a smile and are happy to see all the wildflowers that are now able to grow in their place. I am also happy to tell you that many major repairs have been carried out including updates to almost every room and bathroom on the property. We do hope that you will come back and see all the wonderful things The Point has done.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

When I booked The Point for my birthday celebration, my husband was dubious. No cellphones, no TV, no wifi, stuck in the middle of nowhere, forced to eat dinner with a bunch of strangers. Uncomfortably like an English boarding school. Have to admit I was a little worried too - what if the other guests were all obnoxious investment bankers who could only talk about money? Well thankfully our worst fears were firmly pushed to one side.

The basics - beautiful setting, stunning scenery, rooms all individual and nicely "rustic" and "quirky" without also being "uncomfortable" which sadly seems to be the case more often than not ("design" hotels in London and NYC take note). Lots to do in a laid back kind of way - pottering about on the lake or hiking into the woods. Tennis, pool, waterskiing if you can face squeezing yourself into a wetsuit. We talked big about this at dinner but strangely by morning nobody was keen...

But what really makes this property work is the people - all the staff are amazing and you feel they would do anything for you. No request too large or too weird, whether it is lunch for two out on the lake or truffled popcorn at 3am (again, I'd like to apologise to you all for the singing). And maybe we were particularly lucky, but our fellow guests were wonderful too. We had such a fun time - talking and laughing and playing pool and setting fire to marshmallows (aka making s'mores). Most people visit for a celebration - birthdays, anniversaries - so there is a party atmosphere pretty much all the time. But a Downton Abbey sort of party, not a Jersey Shore sort of party.

Apparently The Point has 60% repeat visitors - and the only surprise is it's not higher. We are missing you all already and hope to be back!

Room Tip: The Boathouse is amazing if it's available and you can afford it. But I don't think there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

SJFLondon,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. What an incredible description! It is so nice, I just hope people don't think I wrote it! We so thoroughly enjoyed having you both here and we miss your singing most of all. Please come back and see us when you are back this way.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I came for to the Point for a "mini-moon" immediately following our January wedding. We were extraordinarily fortunate to have the entire property to ourselves for the duration of our stay. Our time at the point was absolutely magical. The friendly staff at every turn went the extra mile to make the most memorable stay possible, including a croissant baking lesson, and having hot truffle popcorn (along with plenty of other freshly-made treats) waiting before a roaring fire on the island in the lake, just because the staff had overheard me mentioning how much I like popcorn before we set out on our walk. Our stay at the Point couldn't have been better and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Emily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was such a pleasure to be able to help you and your wife celebrate, especially as the Rockefellers of The Point! Look out because now we expect you two to celebrate every anniversarry here (we need all the croisant-making help we can get.) Please send our best to your wife and we look forward to seeing you both soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's very small, it's elegant without being fussy. It's rustic but very upscale, there is nothing to want for. All in all it's a delight! There are but a few rooms spread out resort style. There are a couple in the main cabin but the better rooms are the furthest from the main house. They are Ralph Lauren at his finest - all American style. It is all inclusive. One payment only. Meals are communal sitting at two round tables in a lodge room with deep checkered couches, leather furniture and authentic animal heads hanging on the walls. A couple of nights are formal . You are living in a bygone era when these properties were the summer camps of the people you have read about. The Point is on Lake Saranac fitted out with a 1920's boat where cocktails are served. Weather permitting, lunch might be served outdoors. Swimming is permitted in the lake, hiking is a pastime. Or perhaps reading in a hammock. It's a restful time when one doesn't even think about cost. It's all included, no extras here, just relax, have fun and eat well.

Room Tip: The one floor layout mid way is my favorite. Or the boathouse if you want to overlook the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Sandy,

Thank you so much for your review. I loved your descriptions! It was such a pleasure to have you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having had the good fortune of staying at many five star properties throughout the world, I must say that The Point is hands down the most special I have EVER stayed at. I have wanted to visit it for years and we – that is, my girlfriend now wife and of course our dog -- went for my 40th birthday. We actually went in September 2012 and were deeply remiss for not posting this sooner but felt compelled to write this.

It was everything we had hoped for. The days are relaxed and fun – hikes on the trails and wonderful tours of the lake on either a canoe or the property’s wonderful Hackercraft (handmade wooden speedboat). In fact, on the last day the manager Cameron personally took the three of us on a tour of the lake and its many extraordinary Great Camps among the natural beauty of the Adirondacks.

The evenings are one of the things that make the Point so special. The food is extraordinary and Great Camp Adirondack setting sublime. Even more special is that Saturday (as well as Wed) nights are black tie. As someone who is business casual 95%+ of work days, I enjoy occasionally dressing up and that Saturday dinner was a total joy.

Beyond the setting, the staff are just perfect. They have an uncanny ability to know what you might want and take care of it effortlessly. As just one example, on the last day we were remarking to Cameron how we didn’t want to leave and return to our chores in our NYC apartment including coming home to all of our dirty laundry – little did we know that this was a cue to them for them to go into our room and take our laundry so when we returned later from our day out our laundry was all done! Wow.

While a stay is indeed on the expensive side, we liked that it was all inclusive (not just food but alcohol as well!) so you can enjoy without endlessly being nickel and diming for services as happens at so many other resorts.

Whether you are a normal traveler looking for an extraordinary weekend, a billionaire (know some come), or even a former US President (not sure about them but they would still have a unique time!), a stay at The Point will be very special and remembered forever. We look forward to returning ourselves!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing note about us. We were thrilled to host you for your birthday celebration. I can't believe it was 2012, it seems like it was only last year. We can't wait for you both to come back so we can celebrate the new marriage! Please send our love to your wife and dogs. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Let's start from the initial phone call to inquire about whether this was the right place for an elopement. what can I say: We just got back married and with wonderful memories.
Ann was friendly, thorough in helping us with the plans, assuring everything was above our expectations. We stayed at the Weatherwatch, a truly magnificient room, with beautiful views. We visited in Jan to see the place and go over plans with Ann to assure our visit in Feb was perfect. and it was. upon our arrival in Feb, we were greeted with a warmth and friendliness and we felt immediately that we had come home. Cameron was a great host, friendly but always assuring service was what the Point emulates. Everyone knew everything about what you would need and always try to assure you are comfortable. When we had a defective SD card for our camera we had one in a few hours. We mentioned a certain winemaker we loved in Oregon and viola, a beautiful Ken Wright pinot for lunch. This review could go on and on. All the staff are deserving of kudos for making our stay a beautiful memory we will never forget.
For our wedding day luncheon, a superb menu we had asked for and was delivered without a flaw! The evening dinner was a black-tie event and the staff skilfully made it seem like our wedding reception with fire lanterns ( wishes by each guest written on it for us) and sharing the wonderful wedding cake they made for us. A special mention to the kitchen for the wonderful food that came out and made us want for more.
A few people who made our day special: Ann( for the special flowers at lunch), Curtis( for the help during our photo session), Katrina and Denver( for always making us smile) and David( for the best lunches) and of course Cameron( for being a great everything).
We did not want to leave but already plan on returning next year. A true pampering at its finest!!!

Room Tip: every room is exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear WildFoodie,

Thank you so much for your amazingly generous note about us. As you well know, we all very much enjoyed your company. We are so honored to have been part of such an amazing celebration and we are so happy for the two of you. We can't wait to welcome you both back home!
Sincerely,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This property has it all. Location, service, amenities, staff, everything but cell service and WiFi (which is refreshing). Expensive but one of a handful of places that are worth it. ALL the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. A unique experience in a beautiful part of the USA.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LBMEdgerton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron K, General Manager at The Point, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear LBMEdgerton_WI,

Nothing means more to us here at The Point than when someone spends their valuable time to post such wonderful things about us. Thank you so much and thank you for visiting us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Cameron and The Point Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
10.5 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
500 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
437 reviews
17 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
15.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,155 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point

Address: PO Box 1327, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-7327
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £1,569 - £2,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point is a world apart. A Private, adult only, Adirondack estate on the edge of a shining mountain lake. A Great Camp of the Great North Woods, built by William Avery Rockefeller a century ago as his family’s private home. Today The Point is a resort like no other, a magnificent log retreat full of priceless art and fine antiques, where guests gather as the high society of the Gilded Ages once did at vibrant house parties deep in the forest. As a guest of The Point, the secluded, 75-acre property is yours, the days unfold at your leisure, and the staff anticipates your every need. Each meal is an event, each day an adventure, each night a celebration. It is simple, splendid, authentic. It is a perfect place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Hotel Saranac Lake
Point Saranac Lake
Point Hotel Saranac Lake
The Point Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing