We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean and Friendly”
Review of Lake Flower Inn

Lake Flower Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Flower Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Schenectady, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We have enjoyed our visit to Lake Flower Inn for the past four years and Kim has always been charming and very helpful and has the fresh hot coffee ready in the mornings. We have enjoyed the fireworks from their pool/lakeside area during the winter carnival.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bailey4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Our son recently graduated from Paul Smith's College of the Adirondacks. During his 4 years at Paul Smith's, we had the opportunity to stay at the Lake Flower Inn at least 2-3 times per year, including during Winter Carnival time. My husband and I particularly enjoy staying in "Mom and Pop" motels, as we have found over the years that they are not the normal cookie cutter motel/hotel that you normally find. The Lake Flower has been one of our favorites among our Mom and Pops visited over the years. The rooms are very basic, featuring 1-2 queen size beds, a night stand, seating arrangement, and dresser arrangement with TV. The bathrooms are tiled in a circa 1950's tile that is still in great condition. The showers are alway hot, the bathrooms and sleeping areas ALWAYS very clean. Kim, the proprietor, goes out of her way to welcome her guests, regardless of whether it's your 1st visit or your 5th. This motel sits directly on Lake Flower, very near the location of the Ice Castle sculpture which is created each year as part of the Winter Carnival. The pool is always very clean and overlooks Lake Flower. There is probably one of the best views of Winter Carnival fireworks from the parking lot of the Lake Flower Inn. It is withing walking distance of several eating establishments, and driving distance of of more eating establishments, shopping plazas. Lake Placid is very near. We would highly recommend the Lake Flower Inn as one of the must-visit places during your trip to the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank butchermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I stayed hear during the 2010 Saranac Lake Winter Carnival and it was a blast! The fireworks were great and we had a front row view as this hotel is only steps from the lake. The owner/operator is a really fun, sweet woman who keeps the place clean, friendly and affordable for those who can't spend $300 a night at some Lake Placid dive (read the reviews, Lake Placid seems a bit of a rip-off) There is a dock and swimming pool but seeing as we were there in winter we couldn't make much use of those, though I can imagine it would be a great spot during the summer. A quick drive to Lake Placid (10-15 mins tops) and some great local stuff (downtown is within walking distance) make this a great value. Another reviewer has stated that the decor is a bit dated and they're right but it doesn't matter much - everything from the bed to the bathroom is white glove clean and in good shape, what else is there to say at this price level, really? Cable TV, in room fridge, good heating all worked and were "modern". The king bed suite overlooking the lake is awesome - highly recommended for couples. Best b-day ever ;)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlarghNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Stayed there because almost everything else was booked in Lake Placid or very expensive because of peak leaf viewing season. Ok for a short stay- one night or so. Nothing special, entry from the outside. Water was hot, TV remote worked, and bed was comfortable. The motel was within walking distance of places to eat and visitors center. Had room with window view of Lake for ten dollars extra. View was nice but no privacy. Any one can see inside as you are looking outside.
The price $118 was high but probably reflected the demand.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hunrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delevan, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My husband and I just returned from a well deserved vacation in the Adirondacks. We stayed in 4 motels from Old Forge to Lake Placid. The scenery was unbelievable as the leaves were just peaking. The Lake Flower Inn on Lake Flower in Saranac Lake, NY offered the most stunning display. We found the motel very clean, the service friendly and the location perfect. We stayed in the unit closest to the lake and were wonderfully surprised by the large picture windows, King sized bed and overall homey feeling. I would highly recommend a stay at the Lake Flower Inn to anyone considering a visit to the Adirondacks. Tell Kim, the owner , Hello!

  • Liked — the cleanliness, views
  • Disliked — ??
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KatKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
438 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
8.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Flower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Flower Inn

Property: Lake Flower Inn
Address: 234 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2460
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Flower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Flower Hotel Saranac Lake
Lake Flower Inn Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing