We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in the Area!”
Review of Adirondack Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adirondack Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Adirondack Motel is a home away from home. My sister, nephew and I stayed two nights in one of the kitchenette rooms last fall, during a cool weekend in the Adirondacks. Every aspects of our stay was simply wonderful. The owner-operators, a lovely couple who I believe live on-site, welcomed us as if we were old friends, with a batch of fresh baked muffins, their signature treat.

The room was homey, with a large bed, pull-out couch, table and chairs and kitchenette including stove, microwave, sink and coffee maker. The BEST part, however, was the view of Lake Flower, especially at night. Twinkling lights of the building on the opposite shore charmed us to sleep.

The owners also allow pets, and their two dogs are wonderful greeters.

We hope to visit Saranac Lake again this summer or fall, and will definitely stay at the Adirondack Motel. While there are many, many places to stay in the area, one would be hard pressed to find better accommodations at double the price. And try to catch a show at the Pendragon Theater, a local theater company that take great pride in the quality of their performances.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more for one of the rooms overlooking Lake Flower. It's worth every penny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our motel. We are delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed your visit with us; but most of all we truly appreciate your wonderful review of the Village of Saranac Lake and all its features and amenities. We heartily agree with all your recommendations, and also suggest the 3rd Thursday Art Walks during the months of June through September, with Art and Music all around Downtown Saranac Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for one night in Feb 2013. Here is our review:

Rooms: Small & no-frills & adequate. Mini fridge in room is too noisy, but not a problem since we turned it off at night. Bathroom is small and clean. Beds are twin sized. There were two beds in our room. Heat was comfortable in winter. TV had good variety of available channels.

Location: Motel is easy to find. The property is located on water, which is great for summer. But in winter there were no activities on the frozen lake.

Price: Paid $131 in high season. In my opinion, its too much for this class of property in winter, but then its high season and it was the last available room.

Conclusion: Adequate accommodations. Friendly owners. Low value for price paid in winter, perhaps better value in summer due to lake front location. Can recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment after your recent visit, and to give us the opportunity to address your concerns regarding our rooms and rates. Our rates are seasonal and can vary widely during event and Holiday periods. February is a wonderful and busy time here in the Adirondacks at the peak of the Winter Season; and President's Day Weekend is one of the most popular times to visit. Our rates on such Holiday weekends will be higher than some other times, and reflect a fair market value. The price mentioned in your review includes the 10 3/4% state and local taxes. Our standard motel rooms all have two beds: some with one queen and one double, others with 2 double beds. None of these motel rooms have twin beds.We do have larger suites, but they are obviously higher in price and were not available for your date.
We sincerely regret that you were not completely satisfied with your visit; and we value your feedback to "keep us on our toes". We will take your comments to heart as we strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and happy experience. And we will pass on to our staff your kind appreciation of their housekeeping!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed two nights at the Adk Motel, and it was a great place to stay. Spotlessly clean, thoughtful touches like a little refrigerator and boot tray in the room, coffee and yummy homemade muffins in the lobby. Very cozy room, comfortable beds with quilts. Rustic lamps and decor. Great view across Flower Lake - we watched the start of the ice castle from our room (it was 8 degrees out!) Convenient - we walked to Nonna Fina for a delicious Italian dinner. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welkin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. And we always enjoy meeting our guests for coffee in the morning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This motel has an enviable location right on Saranac Lake. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep here. We only had a single overnight stop here on our way to Maine, but we would have loved to stay for longer.

The owners recommended and Italian restaurant nearby. The food was very good and it was reasonably priced.

If you are going to Lake Saranac look no further than here for a place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our room was comfortable and especially clean. The small frig was really appreciated. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting by the lake at sunset. The motel is dog friendly and, in addition to the motel grounds, there are a lakeside park and good sidewalks very close by. Good Italian restaurant within walking distance or short drive. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelfan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Cannot say enough nice things. Our room was cozy and clean. We stayed in the boathouse on the second floor with a beautiful view of Flower Lake and te surrounding quaint village right outside our window. A deck out our front door was nicely equipped with chairs to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the view. Our host, Fred, was kind and helpful, and his beautiful dogs were adorable. The bed was comfy and the newly redone room was clean and well equipped with a gas cooktop, mini fridge and freezer and microwave. Dishes and cooking utensils were provided and were clean and in good shape. We found the Adirondack hotel charming and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deena129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This may look like a left-over from the 50s but it's a terrific place to stay in Saranac Lake, being right on the lake. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms are nicely updated. There's a small fridge if you're carrying things that should be cooled. There's a Keurig coffee maker in the office to provide morning coffee and wonderful muffins, by way of a continental breakfast. We'd stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 94OmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
499 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
7.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.6 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Motel

Address: 248 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2460
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £81 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of everything Adirondack. Fish, ski, hike, paddle, swim or just relax. At the edge of Saranac Lake and only 7 miles from Lake Placid. Motel rooms, lakefront Boathouse efficiencies and large Cottage suites. Motor boat rentals available. Free moorage for your boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adirondack Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adirondack Motel Saranac Lake, New York
Adirondack Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing