We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Fred and Sue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adirondack Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adirondack Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saranac Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank You Fred and Sue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I rarely post a review, but my wife and I have to say we were so appreciative of the wonderful service, insight and flexibility Fred and Sue showed us when renting a small boat for a week this summer. Fred went above and beyond and thought nothing of it. While we did not have the pleasure of staying in one of the rooms, the property is wonderfully situated in the heart of the Saranac Lakes region. Kudos ADK Motel. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
So nice of you to comment and review our Boat Rental operation. We have a limited motor boat rental at our facility: 2 pontoon boats and one fishing boat, which we rent during the summer season. These are available first to our guests and then to the general public. Our guests have complimentary use of canoes and kayaks from our lakefront property. This is Fred's baby and he is especially delighted that you had a good chose to comment on his boat rentals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Another great summer weekend at this fabulous property. Great weather, a Bon fire with marshmallows , great rooms and hospitality . When visiting this area this property is a must!!!!
We will be going back in August

Room Tip: Ant room is great . Cottage is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are very appreciative of your kind review, and happy that you enjoyed your visit. Sue and Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
636 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We love staying at these 'mom and pop' motels that, unfortunately, are being replaced by modern strip mall chain accommodations. This little gem - 13 rooms - is lovingly managed by Fred and Susan right on the shores of Saranac Lake. The room was spotless and comfortable. Adirondack chairs welcome you to relax on the shore overlooking the lake, and there is a gazebo with barbecue for any grilling you want to do. Two of the rooms face the lake and are larger, though at a higher cost. The town of Saranac Lake is a pleasant 10 minute walk away along the lake. An added bonus is use of kayaks and canoe for all guests. We rented Fred's fishing boat for a day - $125 - and toured the chain of lakes, having fun going through the old locks and navigating the old river channels linking the waterways. If you get the opportunity, do this fun activity. We spent four nights here and would gladly return. Unfortunately, this family owned motel may be replaced by a new modern spa and hotel in the coming years, so hurry by before another classic 'mom and pop' bites the dust.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this nice review of our motel operation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful Village of Saranac Lake! Sue and Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Another good weekend stay at this clean, comfortable and welcoming motel. Best location in town for walking to Nona Fina's for dinner and looking out over the lake, albeit frozen. We would never look further for a place to stay in Saranac or Placid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welkin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
It was so nice to see you again and we greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments. All the best to you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Another great stay at this gem of a motel. Stayed last weekend at the cottage on the lake. Traveled with our friends for our annual Corvette Christmas party. Fred & Sue are the best hosts. Property is well maintained and provides everything you could ask for. Happy Holidays and see you next June.

Room Tip: book the cottage, nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are always so happy to see you; and we love that you keep coming back. Many thanks for your visit and your kind comments. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Jacobs, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Great motel and Fred + Susan were super friendly. I only wish we could have enjoyed the lake - we'll have to come back in the summer! Good coffee in the rooms. Nice to have books and other local resources we could borrow from the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoencm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and we are glad you enjoyed the Saranac Lake area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

When we went looking for a place to stay in Saranac Lake, we noticed that the village doesn't have a great many chain motels. It's more of a "mom-and-pop" place. And that's fine.

We used TripAdvisor to stay at the Adirondack Motel. We have no regrets about that decision.

You can't beat the location. It's right on a lake overlooking the village. When we got up on a frosty fall morning, the steam was rising from the lake to make for a pretty picture. The motel is right on the road to Lake Placid, which was very useful.

The room was as clean as advertised. Yes, some might be used to a little more room, especially in the bathroom area, but it was adequate. The room also has some nice little furnishings and touches to make it feel "homey." The rooms are all on one floor and laid out parallel to the driveway and parking area. That always has the potential for some "wake-up noise" from other guests, although it wasn't really an issue for us.

What's more, the owners are as friendly and helpful as advertised. They gave us some good suggestions about the area. Saranac Lake was actually a little smaller than I thought, but the area is pretty when the trees are in full bloom.

We'd certainly come back here if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBailey182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muellercapital, Owner at Adirondack Motel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words; and we are happy you enjoyed our little town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Motel

Property: Adirondack Motel
Address: 248 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2460
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of everything Adirondack. Fish, ski, hike, paddle, swim or just relax. At the edge of Saranac Lake and only 7 miles from Lake Placid. Motel rooms, lakefront Boathouse efficiencies and large Cottage suites. Motor boat rentals available. Free moorage for your boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adirondack Motel Saranac Lake, New York
Adirondack Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing