We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashion Charm in Adirondack Mountains”
Review of Adirondack Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adirondack Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Charm in Adirondack Mountains”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Super duper clean, and fresh sheets, nice and quiet, peaceful setting. Fred and Susan are not your everyday creepy Motel owners, some places I have stayed the owners should not be in the hosipality business. Fred and Susan are exactly the type of people that should be in the hosipality business, friendly and professional all the way. I will definately make this a regular stop for me on my bi-yearly motorcycle trip from Ontario to Vermont. Thanks again, I highly recommend. A. Skelly /Stowe/VT & Toronto/Canada

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

All of the positive aspects of the reviews on Trip Advisor are true. The Adirondack Motel is a perfect place to stay. Clean and comfortable with the owners accommodating in every way. Have stayed here for the past 3 years and find this motel to be a peaceful, in town, on the lake location. Highly recommend the Adirondack Motel for your Adirondack vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocbrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I was recommended to the Adirondack Motel by a family member. I took a motorcycle trip from London Ontario and stayed at the motel for 2 days. The accomodations were fantastic. The rooms were exceptionally clean, well priced and nice and quiet at nightime. The owners(Susan and Fred) were very hospitable and gave us recommendations on places to see and travel locations. The motel was right on the lake so after a long day of riding we could sit by the water and relax. I would definitely give the motel two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banditlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I have been vacationing in the Adirondack Mountains for almost 20 years and 14 of those trips have been spent at the Adirondack Motel, ten days at a time. The word "motel" is inadequate in describing the lovely grounds, gorgeous vistas, comfy accomodations, and thoughtfully planned amenities that make up this lakeside "mini resort". You can hear NOTHING from the rooms on either side of you - I am not kidding! There is a refrigerator in every beautifully appointed room. There are also large "housekeeping" suites available with kitchen facilities. The office looks and feels like a cozy nook from one of the Great Camps of the old Adirondacks and has a microwave, a gourmet coffee machine, ice machine, restaurant menus, tour pamphlets, tons of free advice, magazines, maps, and even books for the borrowing - all available from early morning until late evening. The continental breakfast (included) is highlighted by the warm, homeade muffins set out every morning. The ADK Motel is nestled in the lovely village of Saranac Lake, NY. The (1875-era) village itself is nestled in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains, one of the most beautiful parks in the United States. And - if you've never been here - it's like nothing you've ever seen before unless, it's been said, you've experienced the Swiss Alps. The surrounding area is known for its wilderness hiking, biking, canoeing, backpacking, and FISHING (can you tell what our favorite pastime is?). Lake Flower gently laps the motel property and is the gateway to a chain of lakes including Lower Saranac and Middle Saranac Lakes, both of which are accessed by travelling through real locks, a thrilling experience for the uninitiated! You can anchor or drift and fish for bass, troll for pike (even the little ones feel like monsters when they hit your lure), or just throw in a worm with a bobber from the dock. Many guests gather in the gazebo each evening to watch the sunset over the lake and to swap stories of the day's adventures or let you in on the gem of a store or fishing spot they've found. Guests can dock their own boats right there, or rent one of the ADK Motel boats, or have the complimentary use of a kayak, canoe, or paddleboat. You can walk to some really decent restaurants and have a very nice dinner for two for around $40, grab some pizza or Chinese takeout, or travel a whopping seven miles and have a gourmet meal in one of the fine dining establishments in the neighboring village of Lake Placid, the home of all-things-Winter-Olympian. You can even take a passenger train between these two villages and visit the museum exhibits and gift shops in both train stations. There are several other museums, including one built and run by a Native American family and John Brown's (the fiery abolitionist) farmhouse museum and grave. You can see a movie in a theater built a hundred years ago, attend a first-class, summer-stock drama or comedy, visit a state fishery, spend a rainy day delving into the huge collection of Adirondack history housed in the Saranac Lake library, or take a long ride on virtually empty highways amidst the towering pine forests dotted with lakes. You can use the motel gas grills and picnic tables and lounge around on the outdoor furniture strategically placed all around the landscaped property. The owners, Fred and Susan, make every effort possible to ensure your stay will be enjoyable to the utmost degree. I know I've left out several great things I'll wish I'd remembered to write about in this review. I'm not exaggerating when I say we absolutely love the Adirondack Motel. In fact, we're headed there in about four weeks for visit number 15 and cannot wait to get there!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fishing542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This motel is defiantly the best place I've ever stayed, my family and I have gone here well over 5 years. There is a nice big lawn for anyone to enjoy. You can grab a little lawn game they have for you to use as well. Theres canoes, a kayak, and a paddle boat for the guests to use. The muffins in the morning are great, they are homemade. Also there is a very nice coffee maker. Make sure you meet "Adirondack Jack," the owners dog, you can play fetch with him. Its also nice that they allow dogs, at only $10 per night. There are several gas grills for guests to use, and you can sit in the relaxing gazeebo. Take a bike ride around Moody Pond, it is very enjoyable. Also, its a close walk to town, so you dont even need to drive. Dont forget to make the short walk to the ice cream stand.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adklover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this motel as it was close to a town where I needed to do some business. Rented the 'upper' cottage room and it was very clean, comfortable with a great view of the lake. The motel has free wi-fi and it works very well. The beds are on the 'firm' side but failry comfortable. I do wish I had taken my own pillow.
The hotel allows dogs (which I appreciate) yet walking around the property there is no 'evidence' that dogs have been around.
It is very obvious that the owners take great pride in this property. It is very well cared for and offers several nice outdoor areas to sit, relax and enjoy the view. The gazebo on the property has comfortable chairs and access to a very clean gas grill that can be used by guests for cookouts. The owners are helpful, friendly and available as needed to answer questions, etc.
The Lake/small beach area looks like it will be very relaxing in the summer months with easy access to clean swimming water and lots of sun throughout the day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coopsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternMA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

The motel rooms are standard American motel-style rooms but they are clean and comfortable. The owners are helpful and friendly. Off-season rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
425 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Motel

Property: Adirondack Motel
Address: 248 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2460
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of everything Adirondack. Fish, ski, hike, paddle, swim or just relax. At the edge of Saranac Lake and only 7 miles from Lake Placid. Motel rooms, lakefront Boathouse efficiencies and large Cottage suites. Motor boat rentals available. Free moorage for your boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adirondack Motel Saranac Lake, New York
Adirondack Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing