We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Nearby Hotels
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point(Saranac Lake)
US$1,863
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adirondack Motel(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Flower Inn(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
62
14
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
14
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheron suitesmy wife and daughterliving roomevery morningpaddle boardingwinter weekendbeautiful lakelove this placeheronsfishingrentalcabinaccommodationswaroaktrackerunits
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We (4 adults and 2 kids) went earlier this year to the Ampersand Bay Resort at the Saranac Lake and spent 3 days of joy and rest. The Resort was absolutely the right choice and we really enjoyed our time there. The scenery is beautiful, the houses/apartments are in great condition and Mary (the good soul/manager of the resort) is such a nice, welcoming and helpful lady.

The apartment we stayed in was over two stories/levels, with a balcony and 3 bedrooms (1 master bedroom w/ KS bed + Jacuzzi tub + shower (upper floor), 1 bedroom w/ QS bed + shower (upper floor), 1 bedroom w/ sofa bed for 2 (lower floor) – bed sheets and towels are provided.

The kitchen on the lower floor is fully equipped (dishes/glasses, silverware, pots and pans, etc. … + outdoor grill on the back porch).

There is as well a possibility for renting boats at a reasonable price (really worthwhile, as it is lots of fun and there is also less/no waterweed further outside on the lake). Kayaks can be used for free and there is a field for playing beach Volleyball (sand beach by the lake).

Grocery shopping is within 5-10 minutes by car (for the Germans: there is even an Aldi!). The Olympic resort of Lake Placid is 15-20 minutes by car.

Once we’ll be in this area again, we will definitely spent a few days in this beautiful resort. Thanks for everything Mary (your 6 Germans)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feinsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We appreciate it and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

I have been vacationing in Saranac Lake for over 18 years. We have done everything from camping, vacation home, and various cabins on the Saranac Chain of lakes. I was very impressed with our stay in Birch 1! Very clean (spotless in fact), comfortable beds, all modern appliances, good views of the lake and surroundings. Easy access to town and activities. Excellent docking for your boat. This trip was "the guys" trip for golf and fishing, but I am looking forward to bringing my wife and kids next summer! Clean beach, daily evening campfire, and even some soccer/play balls for the kids to use. Finally the property management was very friendly, easily accessible, and frankly go out of their way to help accommodate your needs! Superb overall experience. KD - Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lungdrkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Thanks so much for this lovely review. We look forward to having you back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Eleven of us stayed in two, Heron Creek Boathouse suites the third week in August 2012. The accommodations were amazing. Everything was clean and well supplied. Coming with family we were interested in cooking most of our meals. The kitchen was supplied with everything we needed, pots, dishes, silverware, dishwasher, blender, toaster, ice water and ice straight out of the door of the refrigerator, gas grill on deck with all the long handled cooking utensils we needed (but they will bring you a charcoal grill if you prefer.), beautiful Jacuzzi in the master suite, very good wireless broadband internet and I just can’t do justice with words to cover all that was in the suite.
The management made it clear that if we needed anything just ask. They had a well stocked store room with just about anything you could need like fans if you don’t care for air conditioners, etc. The staff was extremely warm, helpful and accommodating. All eleven of us kept getting the same answer to our questions, “Yes we can take care of that.” And we were so comfortable going about our days as there was no pressure to make dead lines for anything.
Of course the views could not be any better. But the Adirondacks never fail to be breath taking and Ampersand definitely laid out the site to take full advantage of the natural beauty that is the Adirondacks.
With kayaks, canoes, volleyball court, evening bonfires, comfortable lawn furniture, etc. all included, relaxing and fun for their visitors is obviously their number one goal and they have succeeded in every way.
Years ago the reviews for this lodge were not so good. But the management and staff who have taken over just this past January or February have advanced this resort in leaps and bounds. I don’t know how they have done so much in such a short amount of time. I can only imagine that it is their positive attitude and real caring for the business.
We will return when ever possible. It was the most care free stay I have had at a resort/motel ever. They are still making advances with parts of the resort that are not yet available I am sure. But they sure do know when a suite is right to make it available to their patrons. Nicely done Mary, Jon and staff. Thank you for a well needed break away from everyday life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

What great feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have vacationed at Ampersand Bay since 1965, when I was 4. It is my home away from home.The resort made numerous changes this season to improve upon what had been the status quo. All of the staff is friendly, professional and helpful. The grounds are clean, and well maintained. In the older rustic cabins, new beds replaced the older ones.Each unit is now equiped with a gas grill (no more charcoal) and picnic tables. New lund boats replaced the old boats. The new units are beautiful and first class.For me however, i like the older cabins. They are 1 step above camping. Each with its own charm, appeal and history.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilljmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Thanks for your review. Since the new management group took over in January 2012, we have put forth a lot of effort to make as many improvements as we can. We look forward to sharing the latest changes and improvements with you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We just traveled home from a wonderful vacation at Ampersand Bay in Saranac Lake New York. We rented a two story, 3 bedroom, 3 full bath rental (Heron 2). The living room and master bedroom suite overlooks the beautiful Ampersand Bay. The vacation rental is beautifully furnished , jacuzzi tub, full 21st century kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. It was the most beautiful place I have ever stayed! We were able to climb mountains, enjoy the lakes that you can get to from Ampersand and shop in Lake Placid (only about 15 minutes from Ampersand).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews