We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is amazing!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I were in town for a wedding in October and we stayed here. I absolutely fell in love with all the Adirondack style furnishings. The atmosphere was cozy and peaceful. The view was stunning. All the comforts you could want were right there. When you're there, it is easy to forget how close and convenient it is to town because you feel like you are immersed in nature when you gaze out at the water and beautiful fall colors. The space was clean, cozy, and comfortable. Just being at Ampersand Bay and taking in the fresh air and beautiful scenery was so rejuvinating and relaxing. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you stayed with us and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Two sides of our family stayed together here in one unit for our near-by family event. The rooms were immaculate, towels soft and fluffy, carpets so nice and clean, so quiet.
We enjoyed the waterfront, the beach, the evening fire, the views, morning coffee on the back deck, sunset on the front deck. Everything was decorated in fine Adirondack style. Beds were perfect.

Room Tip: For couples, choose the waterfront rooms, with private decks and jacuzzi. For extended families, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyinadks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you for the review! We put a lot of effort in so that our guests have a great time. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We (4 adults and 2 kids) went earlier this year to the Ampersand Bay Resort at the Saranac Lake and spent 3 days of joy and rest. The Resort was absolutely the right choice and we really enjoyed our time there. The scenery is beautiful, the houses/apartments are in great condition and Mary (the good soul/manager of the resort) is such a nice, welcoming and helpful lady.

The apartment we stayed in was over two stories/levels, with a balcony and 3 bedrooms (1 master bedroom w/ KS bed + Jacuzzi tub + shower (upper floor), 1 bedroom w/ QS bed + shower (upper floor), 1 bedroom w/ sofa bed for 2 (lower floor) – bed sheets and towels are provided.

The kitchen on the lower floor is fully equipped (dishes/glasses, silverware, pots and pans, etc. … + outdoor grill on the back porch).

There is as well a possibility for renting boats at a reasonable price (really worthwhile, as it is lots of fun and there is also less/no waterweed further outside on the lake). Kayaks can be used for free and there is a field for playing beach Volleyball (sand beach by the lake).

Grocery shopping is within 5-10 minutes by car (for the Germans: there is even an Aldi!). The Olympic resort of Lake Placid is 15-20 minutes by car.

Once we’ll be in this area again, we will definitely spent a few days in this beautiful resort. Thanks for everything Mary (your 6 Germans)!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feinsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We appreciate it and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

I have been vacationing in Saranac Lake for over 18 years. We have done everything from camping, vacation home, and various cabins on the Saranac Chain of lakes. I was very impressed with our stay in Birch 1! Very clean (spotless in fact), comfortable beds, all modern appliances, good views of the lake and surroundings. Easy access to town and activities. Excellent docking for your boat. This trip was "the guys" trip for golf and fishing, but I am looking forward to bringing my wife and kids next summer! Clean beach, daily evening campfire, and even some soccer/play balls for the kids to use. Finally the property management was very friendly, easily accessible, and frankly go out of their way to help accommodate your needs! Superb overall experience. KD - Orlando, FL

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lungdrkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thanks so much for this lovely review. We look forward to having you back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Eleven of us stayed in two, Heron Creek Boathouse suites the third week in August 2012. The accommodations were amazing. Everything was clean and well supplied. Coming with family we were interested in cooking most of our meals. The kitchen was supplied with everything we needed, pots, dishes, silverware, dishwasher, blender, toaster, ice water and ice straight out of the door of the refrigerator, gas grill on deck with all the long handled cooking utensils we needed (but they will bring you a charcoal grill if you prefer.), beautiful Jacuzzi in the master suite, very good wireless broadband internet and I just can’t do justice with words to cover all that was in the suite.
The management made it clear that if we needed anything just ask. They had a well stocked store room with just about anything you could need like fans if you don’t care for air conditioners, etc. The staff was extremely warm, helpful and accommodating. All eleven of us kept getting the same answer to our questions, “Yes we can take care of that.” And we were so comfortable going about our days as there was no pressure to make dead lines for anything.
Of course the views could not be any better. But the Adirondacks never fail to be breath taking and Ampersand definitely laid out the site to take full advantage of the natural beauty that is the Adirondacks.
With kayaks, canoes, volleyball court, evening bonfires, comfortable lawn furniture, etc. all included, relaxing and fun for their visitors is obviously their number one goal and they have succeeded in every way.
Years ago the reviews for this lodge were not so good. But the management and staff who have taken over just this past January or February have advanced this resort in leaps and bounds. I don’t know how they have done so much in such a short amount of time. I can only imagine that it is their positive attitude and real caring for the business.
We will return when ever possible. It was the most care free stay I have had at a resort/motel ever. They are still making advances with parts of the resort that are not yet available I am sure. But they sure do know when a suite is right to make it available to their patrons. Nicely done Mary, Jon and staff. Thank you for a well needed break away from everyday life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
What great feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have vacationed at Ampersand Bay since 1965, when I was 4. It is my home away from home.The resort made numerous changes this season to improve upon what had been the status quo. All of the staff is friendly, professional and helpful. The grounds are clean, and well maintained. In the older rustic cabins, new beds replaced the older ones.Each unit is now equiped with a gas grill (no more charcoal) and picnic tables. New lund boats replaced the old boats. The new units are beautiful and first class.For me however, i like the older cabins. They are 1 step above camping. Each with its own charm, appeal and history.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilljmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thanks for your review. Since the new management group took over in January 2012, we have put forth a lot of effort to make as many improvements as we can. We look forward to sharing the latest changes and improvements with you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence Center New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We just traveled home from a wonderful vacation at Ampersand Bay in Saranac Lake New York. We rented a two story, 3 bedroom, 3 full bath rental (Heron 2). The living room and master bedroom suite overlooks the beautiful Ampersand Bay. The vacation rental is beautifully furnished , jacuzzi tub, full 21st century kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. It was the most beautiful place I have ever stayed! We were able to climb mountains, enjoy the lakes that you can get to from Ampersand and shop in Lake Placid (only about 15 minutes from Ampersand).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and look forward to having you join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
8.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
2.6 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

Property: Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Address: 31 Bayside Dr, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-1576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampersand Bay Resort is a cluster of vacation rentals spread over 28 acres on the shores of Lower Saranac Lake in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. We strive to provide our guests the privacy and family oriented nature of a vacation rental with many of the added amenities of a resort. All of our rentals units have full kitchens, necessary cooking utensils and appliances, BBQ grills, linens, dining rooms, living rooms and multiple bedrooms. We offer an evening campfire, marina with bait shop and gas station, free canoes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards, beach volleyball and other beach games for all of our guests. If you'd like to bring a boat, you can launch it here on our property and keep it in one of our slips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ampersand Bay And Boat Club Hotel Saranac Lake
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing