We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great adult weekend at Ampersand Bay"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Ampersand Bay Resort over Easter weekend. What can I say, this place was amazing. The property was spacious, big, and beautiful. The unique details throughout the property really gave it a rustic feel. That is just the outside, when you walk into your cottage you will be amazed. Our cottage had three bedrooms, a full kitchen, dining room, master bedroom with a spa jacuzzi, two balconies to view the great scenery, and a wonderful living room with a fireplace and a flat screen television. The best part was the wonderful and gracious hospitality of the Ampersand Bay Resort staff. Mary you rock. Anything you need, the staff makes sure you will receive. To end, if you are looking for an awesome place to get away, view some great scenery, go do some shopping and feel like you are at your home away from home, stay at the Ampersand Bay. See you soon and thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErrinN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Wow! Thanks so much for your kind words about our resort. As you know, we strive to have every visitor have the same experience that you have had! We truly appreciate you taking time out of your busy life to share your review. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Ampersand Bay Resort on Feb 28th thru Mar 2. We stayed in the Maple cabin and it was excellent. The cabin was much more spacious than I imagined. It was nice to be able to sit on the couch next to the fireplace on a cold winter night. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a winter getaway or better yet...a stay during the heart of the summer when you could experience more of what the Ampersand Bay Resort and Boat Club has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The location of this resort is amazing. We feel like finding Ampersand has changed our family forever. We have adopted the resort as our home, and now it is the destination for our annual family reunion. It is a hidden gem on Saranac Lake. We are almost afraid to write this review, because if the word gets out about how special this place is, we may never be able to reserve the lodge again. Honestly, we do love it here. We rent two or three cabins and the lodge each year and gather our extended family for a week long vacation. We love the beach, bonfire, canoes, boats, fishing, hiking, and family time.

And of course, we love Mary and the team who run this place. Everyone at the resort is now part of the Bobak family. We will see you again this July.

Thanks Josh & Melanie

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We sincerely enjoyed meeting all of you and love having families come together at Ampersand Bay. Many families choose our resort for their reunions. Some come every year, some come every other year and some come for a special event, like a birthday or anniversary. We love having large groups of family get together- we always end up feeling like part of the family by the end of their vacation. This was especially the case with your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Recently spent the weekend staying in the Saranac Suite. Went with husband, brother and sister in law and had more than enough space. Master bedroom has a gorgous view with a master bathroom. The steam shower is to die for! The second room we used had a double/full size bed and twin. The third room included two twins. All three had a unique rustic and adirondack decor and had plenty or closet space. The living room has a very comfortable couch that overlooks the beautiful lake and scenery. There is also the lovely sounds of nature and what I believe to be a waterwheel below the deck near the docks. The dining room , also having a gorgous view on the lake, seats 8 people. The kitchen had all the necessary items to cook in. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and cooled steak on the outside grill. Nothing is better than grilling in the snow. We loved our visit! It gave us the opportunity to relax and leave the hustle and bustle of life at home. We are returning in June.

Room Tip: The saranac suite gave a full view of the lake and mountains. I did check out the other suites and...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeandliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We love having guests visit us in the winter months and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

stayin the saranc the weekend of 2/24/2013 was beautuiful and clean....very relaxing not far from Lake Placid, Amazing views.Would definatly stay again.Can just imagin how it is during summer/fall with the views

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for staying with us! We love hearing from our winter guests as we are often mistaken as only a summer destination. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed for our wedding in Sept. 2012 and our ~30 guests who stayed on property all had an amazing experience. It was an amazing experience seeing everyone playing on the beach, out on the lake, and around the nightly campfire. Mary and her staff took great care of us.

Room Tip: All of the Heron suites have amazing Lake views. A great view to wake up to!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianWADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here! We loved seeing you and all of your guests take advantage of the lovely weather and our lake-front location! Please come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I were in town for a wedding in October and we stayed here. I absolutely fell in love with all the Adirondack style furnishings. The atmosphere was cozy and peaceful. The view was stunning. All the comforts you could want were right there. When you're there, it is easy to forget how close and convenient it is to town because you feel like you are immersed in nature when you gaze out at the water and beautiful fall colors. The space was clean, cozy, and comfortable. Just being at Ampersand Bay and taking in the fresh air and beautiful scenery was so rejuvinating and relaxing. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you stayed with us and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.9 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
471 reviews
8.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,312 reviews
8.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
8.8 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

Address: 31 Bayside Dr, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-1576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £148 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampersand Bay Resort is a cluster of vacation rentals spread over 28 acres on the shores of Lower Saranac Lake in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. We strive to provide our guests the privacy and family oriented nature of a vacation rental with many of the added amenities of a resort. All of our rentals units have full kitchens, necessary cooking utensils and appliances, BBQ grills, linens, dining rooms, living rooms and multiple bedrooms. We offer an evening campfire, marina with bait shop and gas station, free canoes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards, beach volleyball and other beach games for all of our guests. If you'd like to bring a boat, you can launch it here on our property and keep it in one of our slips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ampersand Bay And Boat Club Hotel Saranac Lake
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing