We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Grand Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best stay ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The place is great!! Super clean and the beach is always raked and the sand is beautiful. Every night there is a bonfire set up and the whole family goes out for s'mores!! Theres a great fishing dock and kayaks are always available! Im coming back every year until I decide to live up here!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Throwbackbobak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks so much for reviewing our resort! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and can't tell you how much of a part of this place you and your family have become. We sincerely look forward to every year and are so glad that you plan to continue your tradition of staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived on a Saturday about an hour ahead of when we thought. No one was at the office or answered the phone that was posted on the door, so we sort of wandered around the main building for a few minutes. Finally the grounds manager arrived and said that he had our keys and check-in form. He was really nice and showed us to our site and talked about the grounds. Since it was dinner time we looked for a place to eat and left. Upon return we had a message from the property manager asking where we were and that she wasn't going to be there much longer and hoping we would arrive soon. Ummmmm, staff communication a problem??? Oh well, we chalked it up as a mix up.

Stayed in the corner unit of the Heron suites above the water that overlooked the small "beach" area which was nice because it allowed us to watch the kids without always being on the sand. And while the lodging was decent, the building suffered from "differential settlement" which means the foundations on the ground side had settled further than the water side. So what? Well,that meant the floors were all sloped from the water side to the front door. You could put a ball down and it would roll the entire length of the rental ......... on all floors.

Furnishings were decent, appliances were nice and a very rustic typical Adirondack unit. Beautiful view over the lake. No accessories at all though. Very bare bones. I'm talking about basic kitchen stuff. Plastic cooking utensils, cheap silverware and really simple basic plate ware. If you looked at it funny it would probably break. For the cost of the unit we expected better.

Biggest complaint ....... "Quiet hours" are from 10pm to 7am. What we didn't know is that the week we were there the facility had rented out a portion of the places to Bass Pro Shops to do photo shoots of the Tracker boat line. That meant all day long there were two to three boats pulling in and out as they went out or returned from photo shoots on the lake. Oh ...... did I forget to mention that they started this at 0515 in the morning? Every morning? And while they weren't talking loudly, sound carries across water and went right into our suite. And since it was gorgeous weather, it made no sense to "have to" close our windows to avoid that. Oh yeah, they started up boats in the slips underneath us. Nothing like a 300cc engined bass boat firing up right below where you're sleeping.

When we mentioned this at the end of the trip we did not even get much of an apology or is there anything they could do for us. Just a "Well, I guess most guests would just shut the windows and put the AC on." Not for $3500 a week they wouldn't.

Overall it is not a bad place and it appears they are really trying to improve the entire facility. But don't get your hopes up that this a resort. It is a rental facility with a few amenities. And it is a VERY active boat area as they also rent out slips which means a lot of other people coming and going who are not guests. So if you don't mind boats? Go for it. We'll be looking for a little bit quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Staying on the water is nice, but noise and sloped floors aren't great. The newer units toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and absolutely loved meeting your family.

We truly wish you would have conveyed your concerns prior to checking out as we would have happily relocated you to a quieter spot. We pride ourselves in offering a wide variety of options to fit everyone’s needs and one of our Birch Suites might have made all of the difference for your family as they are much more removed from the hustle and bustle of the marina. We understood during our several conversations when making your reservation that being right over the lake, with air-conditioning was a high priority for your family. It’s always our pleasure to make changes any time that things don’t meet our guests’ expectations. We feel strongly that advertising ourselves as Ampersand Bay Resort and Boat Club clearly conveys the nature of our resort, and apologize that your expectations were not clearly aligned with our property’s function as a resort with a full-service marina and boat rental shop.

We would like to apologize that you felt that our customer service was not up to your standards and that you felt dismissed at check-out. We take satisfaction in providing an excellent experience to all of our guests. We genuinely hope that you will give us another shot in the future as we know how much your children enjoyed making new friends and playing volleyball on the beach. We always use feedback like yours to continue improving our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moravia, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in 2 story suite on the water for two days with my wife and daughter and her husband and child. Unbelievable view of the lake. Everything you could want in a rental, felt like home, clean, well furnished, modern. Great kitchen. Loved the access to water sports like paddle boats, kayaks, stand up paddle boards and canoes free of additional charge. Beach was sandy and great for my 3 year old granddaughter. Mary and Kelsey were informative and very helpful. The nightly bonfire is cool too! Had a terrific fireworks show downtown Saranac over Flower Lake and we were back in the condo 10 minutes after the conclusion of the display. We will be back to this place and the wonderful surrounding area.

Room Tip: Loved the Heron suites poised right over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHHaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, General Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review and for your positive comments. We are happy to have introduced Ampersand Bay Resort to you and your family. We so enjoyed having you and seeing you and your family enjoy the views, sandy beach, complimentary canoes, kayaks and Paddleboards, along with our nightly bonfires. And the fireworks over Lake Flower were indeed spectacular. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just rented a 2 story suite on the water for three days with my wife and 2 older children. Unbelievable view of the lake. Everything you could want in a rental, felt like home, clean, well furnished, modern. The fishing on the lake was great. Mary, Kelsey and Hunter were gracious staff. The nightly bonfire is cool too! We will be back to this place and the wonderful surrounding area.

Room Tip: Their website is very accurate in terms of what you will be getting, so review it carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, General Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Ampersand Bay Resort. We so enjoyed meeting you all. We are glad that you enjoyed our signature nightly bonfires. They are certainly a way to gather each evening while relaxing with that magnificent six-mile view down the lake. Thanks for the wonderful comments about our staff. As I mentioned in an earlier review with one of your family members, it's enjoyable work when you have such a wonderful group on property. Thanks again and we hope to see you all in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

None of our family of approximately 40 had ever been to Ampersand Bay before and only a couple had been to the Adirondacks before. We selected Ampersand Bay based on a relatively distant connection as well as the website. As it turned out we could have not made a better choice. Tuicked into the northern bay of a 6 mile long beautiful lake, it was all we could have asked for and more. There was a variety of accomodations with less expensive options as well as higher end options though even the lower cost options were quite nice. The layout of the place was perfect for promoting family reunion gathering. I would also say the entire staff was incredibly accomodating, welcoming and flexible. Its location offered seclusion and serenity but for those who crave a bit more, it sits just 2 miles from the town of Seranac Lake and 9 miles from Lake Plac id offering restaurants and shopping. Andf the surrounding areas offer so much outdoor activities, you won't get bored. I highly recommend thios location!

Room Tip: They have high end expensive some right on the water and some not. All very nice. There are also l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, General Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Ampersand Bay Resort for your family reunion and for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that our resort met the needs of you and your family. It's easy to be accommodating, welcoming and flexible when you have such wonderful guests. How wonderful it is that you carried on a tradition of getting two families together and creating memories that will last a lifetime. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from a family reunion at Ampersand Bay Resort, and I can't say enough good things about it! Our cabin was clean and well stocked. The grounds were perfect for kids and adults alike; the kids had the run of the beach, lawn and fishing dock. Paddle boards, kayaks and canoes are all available free of charge. Pontoon rentals are available. Each cabin has a front porch that is ideal for visiting and outside eating. Ampersand Bay itself is relatively narrow and long, which makes it a somewhat protected area in which to canoe, paddle board, etc. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful -- especially Mary! I definitely recommend this place, and hope to have an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, General Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We so enjoyed you and your family. Thanks for choosing the Adirondacks and Ampersand Bay Resort for your family reunion. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

First, I must apologize for my late review as life had some ups and downs these last few months. I stayed at Ampersand Bay Columbus Day weekend 2013 for my annual Upstate weekend with my husband. This was our first time staying at Ampersand and we quite enjoyed the weekend. We stayed in the corner Heron Suite, which was just delightful. It had plenty of space and 2 balconies which was perfectly suited for drinking wine and enjoying the views of lower Saranac Lake. Keep in mind these balconies are made of wood and they are directly over the lake so there will be bugs. There were tons of spiders and lots of webs. We would knock them down as much as possible and the staff helps too. I actually think the corner suite had lots to do with the bugs since it was open on 2 sides. As my husband kept reminding me, it was the wilderness!

When we arrived there were some flies cohabiting the second bedroom; we called the staff and they came with some sort of vacuum to take care of the problem. Honestly, we did have a fly problem all weekend and it was slightly annoying to hear the constant buzzing but I am sure this was a fluke thing (I believe they mentioned they had a storm a few days prior).

One of the best things about the weekend is the nightly bonfire, bring marshmallows. My husband and I enjoyed sharing stories with other guests and drinking wine at night.

Ampersand is in a great location, within walking distance of downtown Saranac and a few minutes drive to Lake Placid. We look forward to returning here next fall!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess22nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks a million for your high rating of our resort, we enjoyed meeting you and are so thrilled to know that you plan to return to our resort again next year. Our signature bonfire is always a favorite and marshmallows just make it that much sweeter!
While a few spiders and flies are a part (albeit not a welcome part) of any Adirondack vacation, the change of seasons, storms, and other factors can contribute to a bump in the population. We did take your concerns seriously and since your stay in October have contracted with a specialist who is working with our environmental concerns and unique architecture in mind to find ways to help us limit the impact of the unwelcome parts of the wilderness on our guests. We are confident that you will notice a change when you return to us again.
Thanks again for your review, and for staying at Ampersand Bay Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
8.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
8.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

Property: Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Address: 31 Bayside Dr, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-1576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampersand Bay Resort is a cluster of vacation rentals spread over 28 acres on the shores of Lower Saranac Lake in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. We strive to provide our guests the privacy and family oriented nature of a vacation rental with many of the added amenities of a resort. All of our rentals units have full kitchens, necessary cooking utensils and appliances, BBQ grills, linens, dining rooms, living rooms and multiple bedrooms. We offer an evening campfire, marina with bait shop and gas station, free canoes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards, beach volleyball and other beach games for all of our guests. If you'd like to bring a boat, you can launch it here on our property and keep it in one of our slips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ampersand Bay And Boat Club Hotel Saranac Lake
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing