We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

I've been coming up to Ampersand Bay in Saranac Lake, for more then a decade. The comments some of these people posted were ridiculous. I leave the city to escape city people, fish, and enjoy the pristine views. Ira and Kathy have always been great hosts. My boat is always waiting for me clean and fueled. I have stayed in the luxury suites and cottages. If you want to escape technology and be more in tune with nature go for the cottages; on the other hand if you want to enjoy a jacuzzi and state of the art appliances go for the suites.

My favorite place to stay is the Saranac, it has a L floor plan that allows you to see 360 views. These people that leave those bad comments, don't speak about the good Ira and Kathy do. When guests get stuck out on the lake at 1 in the morning, their the ones that come out and get people; when its not even their responsibility but of the DEC. They also don't speak about how they upgrade people and create bonfires for them. I go there year round and will continue to go despite those comments.

  • Liked — The hosts and the fact I had everything I needed.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwoods6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

if this is your vacation destination. DCTraveler had it just right. Suckered in by their Website. I rubbed my eyes and could not believe it was the same place described therein. This dump costs more than lodges and cabins of real quality. It's a scam, plain and simple, avoid, avoid, avoid. We stayed about ten minutes otherwise I'm sure we would have contracted some rare disease.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ThemTharHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Ampersand Bay Resort had a turnover in management in February of 2012. Since then, a vast amount of effort has been put into rehabilitating the property and cabins. We would love to have you come back and see all of the wonderful changes that we have made since you last visited us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

These guys have a nice website. That's the best thing I can say about the place. DON'T BE FOOLED BY IT!

My wife, 3-yr old son, and I checked into one of their "family-
friendly" cabins on a Saturday night and found much to our surprise that our cabin had a parking lot view. The building itself looked as though it had not been maintained for many years and had peeling paint and broken windows that were repaired only with tape. Upon entering the cabin, we found all the ambiance of a crack house with a musty smell, old green carpet, peeling paint (almost certainly lead-based), as well as furnishings that appeared to be have been acquired either from a very low-end garage sale or cast offs from the side of the road. When we complained, the owner offered to let us move to a lake front unit for the "discount" price of $450 per night, but only for a portion of our stay.

We set about looking for a place to move to immediately, but everything else was full on our first (and only) night there. When we turned back the sheets to sleep, we found that they were visibly dirty with dirt and hair. It was completely disgusting. We found sheets on the other beds that looked somewhat cleaner and wrapped ourselves in those on the creaky old bed.

We found new (and wonderful) accomodations the second day that cost $30 less per night. We were told by the Ampersand Bay management that our deposit (over $700) would be retained unless they could re-rent the room. They acted like they were doing us a huge favor by not robbing us of the cost of the full week. The room was so bad and beyond redemption that we preferred to dump the $700 and get on with our vacation. Don't make the same mistake that we did.

I wish I had taken photos, but we were so shocked and eager to escape that I didn't even think of it until after we had gone.

  • Liked — The lake that it's on.
  • Disliked — The cabin was wretched.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DCTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
The management group that runs Ampersand Bay Resort turned over in February of 2012. One of the first things that our group did was to either re-habilitate or tear down the cabins that were in need of repair. The entire housekeeping staff and property maintenance staff was replaced in 2012 as well. We would love to invite you back to our resort as we are very proud of the changes that have been made and we can assure you that cleanliness is our top priority. Please see the reviews that we have had since February 2012 for an accuarte representation of our current management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Heron Creek Suites which are new townhouses built right on the water. They are very clean, well-equipped and great for families with children. They really did a nice job with the place, high-end fixtures, appliances, etc. The only downside was the log walls on the first floor do not offer ANY soundproofing. Upstairs, there was no problem with noise. Great view of the lake and a nice beach for children that is safe and shallow.

The other housing options did not look so appealing and appeared run-down.

Free canoes and kayaks were a definite plus.

  • Liked — Nicely furnished and equipped
  • Disliked — first floor quite noisy in Heron Creek Suites
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRDJAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the older cabins. Obviously no effort is being put into the upkeep of the older cabins while new townhouse-like buildings are being constructed. Peeling paint and wallpaper, moldy showers, bathroom door that doesn't close or fit frame for more than $133 per night??? Also beach is shallow and weedy. Beware of resorts that ask for full payments months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NewJerseyTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
The management of Ampersand Bay Resort turned over in February of 2012. Since that time, we have put a lot of effort into the maintenance and upkeep of the rustic cottages. Cottages that were not up to our standards have been torn down or are no longer being offered for rent. Our new housekeeping staff works day in and day out to ensure that our guests will arrive to a spotless rental- whether they have chosen a rustic cottage or a luxury suite. Please refer to the reviews from 2012 to see an accurate representation of our resort under the new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

The place itself is very nice. Overlooks the lake, fishing is great and cabins are very nice. Staff (owner & family) are crazy country people! They got drunk and rowdy and started to harrass all the guests to the point people were afraid for their lives. I would not reccomend this place to anyone and it's a shame because the place is beautiful.

  • Liked — Location, Cabins
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Local2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Starting in February 2012 the resort has been run by a new property management group. None of the previous staff was carried over during the transition. Please see our 2012 reivews for an accurate picture of Ampersand Bay Resort and its courteous and professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Ampersand Bay.
We had a great time! We were upgraded from Views #1 to the Saranac suite. Lucky us! The suite was amazing! It had views of the lake from
almost every room! It was HUGE and had a kitchen that included a Viking stove and a Sub Zero fridge. I think we were upgraded because of some construction going on near Views #1 and the management wanted to make sure we were not disturbed by it. Now that's caring about your guests! Included with our stay was the free use of canoes,
kayaks, and even a Sunfish sailboat. We had fun paddling around and catching fish. The beach was nice and sandy - although we did not have a chance to swim with it being a bit chilly in early June. At night, it was very quiet and peaceful. We star gazed from our deck. The staff was very always helpful and friendly. It was well worth the
trip from Texas.

  • Liked — The Saranac Suite was amazing!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank setine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.8 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
426 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.8 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,272 reviews
8.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

Property: Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Address: 31 Bayside Dr, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-1576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampersand Bay Resort is a cluster of vacation rentals spread over 28 acres on the shores of Lower Saranac Lake in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. We strive to provide our guests the privacy and family oriented nature of a vacation rental with many of the added amenities of a resort. All of our rentals units have full kitchens, necessary cooking utensils and appliances, BBQ grills, linens, dining rooms, living rooms and multiple bedrooms. We offer an evening campfire, marina with bait shop and gas station, free canoes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards, beach volleyball and other beach games for all of our guests. If you'd like to bring a boat, you can launch it here on our property and keep it in one of our slips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ampersand Bay And Boat Club Hotel Saranac Lake
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing