We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traveller”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sara-Placid Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
“traveller”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very pleasant owner(Steve) and very clean and quiet room. Good rates and beautiful scenery. I would go back if I'm in the area. Close to restaurant and stores. Saranac Lake is a beautiful town to visit and lots to do. Claude the Baker.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your time in providing a review of the Sara-Placid. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. Steve/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
49
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

super clean (I have a thing about nasty floor, and germs). I always bring my own blankets but theirs were freshly washed. Kitchen was so cute, and even had supplies like pots , pans and plates and such if you wanted to cook there. A beautiful front area with gazebo and small pond, and across the street was Lake Flower. And you can use their paddle boat, at no charge on the pond. The manager (owner?) was EXTREMELY gracious , parking right in front of your door, and just down the street is Town of Saranac Lake, and a few miles the other way is Lake Placid. We are weekend travelers with relatives in the mountains and I have found my new favorite place to stay when we are here. I usually only go for the larger hotels with a good reputation but this is definatly an exception.

Room Tip: any room is a pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you Debi and Ken for your nice review, and for all the referrals that you send us. We hope to see you again this year for the 90 mile canoe classic. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Thank you to Steve for another great stay at the Sara Placid. I always take the time to write a review after staying at the Sara Placid just so people know what a great place this is to stay. The rooms are always so clean and the beds are so comfortable. It is nice to have a flat screen TV, large refrigerator and coffee set up. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we are in the area. Can't wait for our next stay! Debi and Ken Shaver

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
That you Ken & Debi for staying with us again. We always look forward to seeing you both each September. Take care, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were 2 couples traveling together and called this motel because it seemed a good value according to past reviews. Right from the telephone call Steve was very accommodating. He showed us 4 different rooms and all were extremely clean with all amenities. AC, microwave, fridge, wifi etc. Don't pass this up. Large rooms, comfortable beds, good shower and nice views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for providing a review of the Sara-Placid Motor Inn. I enjoyed meeting your family and showing them the different types of accommodations that we have to offer. We hope to see you again. Steve/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

So much more than I expected from, what appeared to be a simple roadside motel. We had a small kitchen unit and everything was supplied. The beds were supper comfortable and the cleanliness of the carpets were a welcome surprise after what has been experienced in other locations. Wifi excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPOJIBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review and all of your comments. Glad that enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed here a couple times. the beds are very comfy- if you like soft beds that you sink in to, and I like that they have both a microwave and fridge. central to everything. owner was helpful as well.
didn't notice street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HillaryA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. Hope to see you again. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Good location for the winter carnival. Clean rooms with TV, kitchen etc. Owner is friendly and helpful and in site. This is handy for traveling locally and to Lake Placid and rates are better than most others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I Really enjoyed our conversations and the bakery items that you had made and left us to enjoy. Hope to see you again. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.1 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
449 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
153 reviews
6.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara-Placid Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara-Placid Motor Inn

Property: Sara-Placid Motor Inn
Address: 445 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lake/mountain setting. Motel rooms, kitchenettes, housekeeping apartments, suites with private bedrooms, Jacuzzi Suite, bed and breakfast type accommodations and three lakefront cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara-Placid Motor Hotel Saranac Lake
Sara-Placid Motor Inn Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing