We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sara Placid gets one of my few great reviews”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sara-Placid Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Reviewed 23 July 2008

As a pilot, I am in hotels 20 days out of the month. I rarely review cause thats just too much work. This place stands out. The view and location are great. I stayed in a fully equiped fishing cottage and tried out the roadside motel part on my last day. The owner went well out of his way to make us comfortable. Everything is clean and comfortable. He even let us use a couple of his Kayaks on the room. Restaurants and groceries nearby. A very neighborly feel about the whole deal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank captgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Sara-Placid Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2008

A private (not chain) motel with comfortable beds, sizable rooms, quiet, next to a restaurant that provides breakfast and lunch. The owner, Steve, takes an avid interest in his guests comfort.

We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DomKindred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

I wish to extend our grateful thanks to Steve, the owner of the Sara-Placid Motor Inn. Not only did he provide immaculate, spacious, reasonably-priced accommodations for us , he lent us his own tools and workshop to try to fix the broken Harley which had stranded us in Saranac Lake. We stayed for two nights with Steve's gracious hospitality until a tow-truck arrived. The 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom condo units we used were spotless and had quiet country views. We'd recommend this place to anyone - and have!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afragilebalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Our stay in the jacuzzi suite at the Sara-Placid was very enjoyable. The room was very clean, cozy and spacious. The jacuzzi was a perfect compliment to the suite. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds ever! Overall a great place to stay and highly recommended!!

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank NWM0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

This was the fifth property we have stayed at in Saranac Lake, NY in the last ten years and definitely the best of them. The room was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed, and came equiped with a microwave and frige. The gounds are very pleasant and well cared for. The atmosphere was quiet and restful. There are several restaurants within a short walk and a very nice breakfast place, McKensie's, next door.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank jbel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

My friend and I were traveling around the East Coast for 25 days. We stayed in a lot of different hotels and motels. One of the best ones was Sara-Placid Motor Inn at Saranac Lake. The room was very spacious,clean, and with all the items you need.
The view from the rooms is beautiful. Specially at nigth, when you can sit outside, with a full moon, that reflect on the lake. Very romantic !
The place is very quiet , and is near the road though.
There is a cozy restaurant across the motel to have a wonderful breakfast.
I recommend this hotel if you are on this route.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Cande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma
14
Reviewed 30 April 2006

my first stay at the saraplacid inn was in the spring of 1981. My familly and I were so impressed ,we have returned time and time again.
I have always been impressed with the staff,the friendly service and home like feel of the place.
The view from any angle is breath taking and there is lots to do and see..
my children are grown now and I find myself
humbled by the stories and memories they share about our vacations there.
They now plan those trips and vacations for their family.

B Small
Oklahoma

Stayed: April 2006
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.1 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#7 of 9 in Saranac Lake
47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara-Placid Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara-Placid Motor Inn

Address: 445 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £50 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lake/mountain setting. Motel rooms, kitchenettes, housekeeping apartments, suites with private bedrooms, Jacuzzi Suite, bed and breakfast type accommodations and three lakefront cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara-Placid Motor Hotel Saranac Lake
Sara-Placid Motor Inn Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing