We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and warm!”
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Cozy and warm!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We first stayed at the Porcupine in October '08 and returned for a much longer visit (a full week) in September 2011. We were delighted the first time we stayed and were excited to return. It is the perfect place to get away from the bussiness of everyday life and the house has the historic character and Adirondack charm that is great in the region. (check out the framed house blueprint in the breakfast room) It is a quiet, cozy place located in a quiet residential area not far from town. There are several spots to lounge in the B&B and the owner makes you feel like you are staying in an old friend's house - with her dinner/sightseeing recommendations, warm personality, easy banter, and overall house atmosphere. We felt equally at ease coming and going or hanging at the house all day. She is willing to take the time to answer any questions, joke around with you, and discuss music/books/hikes, etc. It is a smaller B&B and like another reviewer said if you are a good customer (i.e. polite and friendly) you will get excellent service back. We thoroughly enjoyed our time, our room, our hostesss, and the breakfasts! Hopefully we will find another time to return. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone! (There are a couple of items that need to be tweaked/updated on the website but otherwise everything is accurate.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranMuffin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    12
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

you can breath the atmosphere of the past here. We stayed in the Bartlett suite which is very big and confortable, but the room we liked best is the beautiful dining room where Amy (the innkeeper) served us a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was our first stay ever at a B&B and when we first drove up we were a little reluctant that we had made the right choice choosing a B&B over a hotel, based on the outside appearance of the Porcupine. It has a very "haunting" look to it! However, once we were greeted at the front door by Meg, and we stepped inside, our whole opinion changed. The inside was very clean and cozy and Meg was very informative as to sites and restaurants to visit. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay after site seeing all day, the Porcupine is the place to staty. Thanks for everything Meg!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It is not the lap of luxury, but that's not why we come to the Adirondacks or Saranac Lake for. The Porcupine Inn was built as a 'cure home' for a TB patient and has a lovely back porch where you can envision patients taking the outdoor 'cure'. It was stifling hot outside but the non-airconditioned home stayed cool and we slept under blankets with only a ceiling fan on low and windows open.

Meg, the owner, was helpful and well meaning, anxious to give a real B+B experience and succeeded with a wonderful breakfast, helpful advice, and nurturing a welcoming atmosphere (the pool table lighting is cool).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Pros: Quiet location, large rooms, decent breakfast (although meager in size), pool table, hottub

Cons: The place is run down,not clean, beds are from Motel 6, the property is overgrown and not well tended. I paid $543 for two nights and and would say this is surely not a luxury Inn...I would expect the price for this to be in the $90 to $100 per night range based on how tired and unattractive the whole property is.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaFaye48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this beautiful b&b. The property is very well cared-for and the owner is very charming and very knowledgeable about the area. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious and the breakfasts were outstanding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I would recommend the Porcupine Inn to all.
Meg did a fantastic job of welcoming us and making us feel at home. We were welcomed with open arms, shown around and then invited to a complimentary drink. Meg was very personable and informative, she gave us a map of the areas and great recommendations. She suggested the Brown Dog Cafe, it was great ambiance and food. The inn was very clean, cozy and warm. The outdoor hot tub was the best way to end the day, amazing sky/star views. Good selection of games and pool table to play. We stayed in the Mohawk room, great views, fireplace and very comfortable bed. After having a fire our first night Meg replaced the log, no problem so we could have another fire! The breakfast and coffee were great!! Our first morning we had french toast croissants with bacon and Eggs Aldrich on the second day which was SO delicious, fantastic way to start the day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the off season, in the Mohawk room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iburki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.4 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Property: Porcupine Inn
Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-5525
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake
Porcupine Inn Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing