We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Creek is worth returning again and again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fish Creek Pond Campground
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have been traveling here since we were kids (brothers, sister and parents) and not much has changed except our spouses or significant others go with their kids and more extended friends and family. It's contagious. A great friend of the family has been going for 50+ years. It gets in your blood.

The best part about it is the location. The scenery is beautiful and almost every campsite is on the water. We have a boat so this is ideal as the pond (small lake) is small enough where the water is always calm, but big enough to have fun (tubing or just relaxing). There is a launch in the park although it's shallow under the bridges. There is a small store near by (Trading Post) for essentials. There is a daily wood truck, ice cream truck and another with tasty treats (so you may never need to leave). There is a road with a 15 mph limit and a bike trail outside of the park connecting the two entrances, which allows for a nice 4.5 mile trip. There are plenty of hiking trails (or we mountain biked, posted activities, parking lot basketball court, sand volleyball pit, beach, swings etc. If you go boating, grab a lake map and hit Saranac Lake. Don't miss Chapel Island & Tom's Rock. There are plenty of cool lake front homes to see and nice views of the mountains. There is a small channel you need to navigate to get to the lake which is shallow as well so trim up your motor if boating.

Saranac and Tupper Lake are not far away (15 minutes by car) if you need a small town that offers restaurants, a Rite Aid, Save-A-Lot, Dollar General etc. Most sites are wooded and they are not on top of each other so there is some level of privacy. Lake Placid is about 45 minutes away and makes a great day trip (Olympic Village) and Whiteface Mountain (add 30 more minutes).

a couple items to note are the showers are $.25 for about 5 minutes (one main building near mid park on the way to Rollins Pond which is a connecting campground). There is no electric and water spigots are every 5 sites or so. There are also bathrooms close to every site. They are very dated and I would recommend bringing hand soap and possibly a better grade of TP as what is provided (if folded over about 5 times equals one normal ply). staff is very helpful. It's a fantastic place to visit if you love camping and don't mind roughing it a bit. You won't be disappointed. Copy and paste this link into your browser for actual campsite photos. It's an awesome tool: http://fishcreekpond.com/campsitephotos.php?campground=Fish%20Creek

Enjoy, but beware it's addicting!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Yes, the setting is beautiful and most the sites have lake view. However there are 2 things I do not like.
1. The campground is noisier than most other state campgrounds I have stayed in. Some sites have no privacy.
2. There is only one central location for shower, and it is practically outside of the main camp area, which means you have to drive there to take a shower. From where I stayed, I had to drive about 5 minutes. So inconvenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

very beautiful. We used Adirondack campers to rent a camper. It was really nice. the kids really enjoyed it and best of all no electronics! just family time. It is nice to go on vacation and be able to connect with your kids again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank smolnar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This Park charges a $5.00 per day extra charge if you are from Canada - kind of leaves a bad taste in your mouth! Also a one time service charge to register. Other than that - nice park with water access sites.

Room Tip: Check their web site for photos
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank pwuchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is hands down the best campgrounds I've ever been to. Adirondack beauty aside: the sites are amazing: all the ones we've stayed at are big. 90%+ are right on the water! The ones we have camped at have a little, tiny, sandy beach that my daughter really enjoyed. Comfort stations are close (every 10 campsites I think) and they have water faucets too. Each campsite has a fire pit- some are iron and some are cement block. An ice cream truck, ice truck, wood truck and even canoes for rent come around daily. Also, if you have a boat... you can dock it right at your site. Close to Lake Placid, Tupper Lake & Saranac Lake. We like to visit the Wild Center in Tupper Lake and explore shops in Saranac and Lake Placid. Fish Creek Pond ruined all other Campgrounds for me. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kisseliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

my family and I have been going to fish creek every year since my mom was a baby and then she took us to fish creek every year growing up and now we bring our own kids we sleep in tents and we bring our boat and our bikes and the dog and we have a great time the only time that it is not fun is when it rains and the wind picks up and the trees start to sway and some of the trees do fall on peoples stuff we have had it happen to us a few times but we still keep going every july for two weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This yr. was my 2 visit to Fish Creek. Went with friends who have been going there since they were kids. Almost every site (300+) surround the lakes (or ponds-haven't figured out the diff) and the bottom, at least around the shore, is sandy.....great for youngsters to wade - under supervision! There is an official beach and an amphitheatre although, I've never gotten to either. There is a store right outside the park to buy some basics which also has a small deli which makes subs. Restrooms are spaced about every 8-10 sites so never far away. NO elec. or water hookups and you would want to go online to http://fishcreekpond.com/ which has photos of each and every site, in all directions, because some could be problematic parking your bigger rig. Boat livery on lake rents canoes, kayaks etc. if you don't have your own.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saranac Lake hotels
11.8 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
94 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
11.6 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Creek Pond Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Creek Pond Campground

Address: 4523 State Route 30, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-3053
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 355
Also Known As:
Fish Creek Pond Campground Hotel Saranac Lake
Fish Creek Pond Campground Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing