We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise.”
Review of Left Bank Cafe

Left Bank Cafe
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: French Cafe/Bistro serving all day. Croissants & espresso, crepes & tartines, soups & salads, French Regional specialties, wine pairings, riverside dining in the summer. Annual break from November 14th to November 30th and Apri 19th to April 26th
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the spirit of honesty, we did not eat here. We were riding through the area and needed a break. Went for a walk through town and stumbled upon this place. Sat on the deck overlooking the river and enjoyed a beer and a glass of wine and a bowl of walnuts complete with nutcracker. The service was good and the menu had some very enticing items listed. Other diners seemed very pleased with their selections. If in the area, we will definitely visit the Left Bank and enjoy the food along with the spirits.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    60
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and authentic!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed riding our bikes over to Left Bank cafe for French onion soup and wine on the outdoor dining veranda, overlooking Saranac River. The service was impeccable, food authentic, prices very reasonable for French restaurant, and ambiance relaxing in this small town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“... of the Saranac River; Now I get it!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A lovely find. Looking for dinner on a Friday Night in Saranac without reservations, we were not expecting to be seated at a nice table on the porch overlooking the river. Yes, across the river is an old factory building, but it is appropriate given the history of the town. Our server was efficient at the beginning, slowing down a bit as things progressed, but never disappeared.
The food was delightful. I had seared scallops and my wife had roasted salmon, each with a thoughtful and tasty starch and veg. The portions were smaller than some might like, but the prices and the portions matched perfectly. The wine list is short, but appropriate for the bistro-like offerings, with just two soups, a handful of salads and a short list of entrees. Wines were available by the glass or in the $20-$50 dollar a bottle range. Deserts fit comfortably after the meal. Crepes suzette was terrific (though not flambéed tableside) and the Key Lime and Blueberry tart was ... well, tart, as opposed to overly sweet. Would love to have such a place near home to make a weekly treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevCanonDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Treasure tucked in Saranac Lake”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a party of 10 at the Left Bank Cafe. We had great service and the food was wonderful. The price is quite reasonable so it is a great value for your money. Be sure to save room for dessert!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BurmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scenic location with fine food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

And a recently renovated kitchen preparing a broad menu to fine standards. We reserved (a good idea on a busy weekend in full summer season) mid afternoon and were seated to a table for four on the outside deck right above the smoothly flowing river that flows out of Flower Lake. The service was relaxed and considerate and allowed our group plenty of conversation time. The we ate lamb, steak, salad, and vegetables and enjoyed all our dishes as well as well nicely paired matching beverages. While not inexpensive, the quality was there to match the price points. You'll like this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jheyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Left Bank Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing