We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Left Bank Cafe

Left Bank Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French Cafe/Bistro serving all day. Croissants & espresso, crepes & tartines, soups & salads, French Regional specialties, wine pairings, riverside dining in the summer. Annual break from November 14th to November 30th
New jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This place has great energy, managed with professionally and with great passion. Loved interiors (books, baby grand, wall art, etc). Musicians performing live music made this outing super cool. Food was prepared, served with great care and taste. Loved crepes, salad, tartatines.. just a memorable place. Please support!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Long wait times on a Friday night led us to the unpretentious façade of this bistro-styled restaurant. A quiet table, an excellent wine selection, and live classical piano played while we enjoyed two superior dinners made us appreciate that the Mexican and Italian restaurants down the road were loud and crammed full that night. We will definitely go back the next time we are driving through Saranac Lake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnCUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the food & the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We loved the food at this Cafe & will return. Also sat on the patio with the babbling stream next to us...very nice !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dunnbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
231 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the spirit of honesty, we did not eat here. We were riding through the area and needed a break. Went for a walk through town and stumbled upon this place. Sat on the deck overlooking the river and enjoyed a beer and a glass of wine and a bowl of walnuts complete with nutcracker. The service was good and the menu had some very enticing items listed. Other diners seemed very pleased with their selections. If in the area, we will definitely visit the Left Bank and enjoy the food along with the spirits.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed riding our bikes over to Left Bank cafe for French onion soup and wine on the outdoor dining veranda, overlooking Saranac River. The service was impeccable, food authentic, prices very reasonable for French restaurant, and ambiance relaxing in this small town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Left Bank Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing