We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 Years and Counting...”
Review of Cochran's Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cochran's Cabins
Buffalo, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“25 Years and Counting...”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My family has stayed at Cochran's every summer for about 25 years. The cabins are sturdy and cozy, many with wood burning stoves for taking the chill off of cool nights; the screened-in porches are the perfect place to enjoy a storm; and you can't beat relaxing on the expansive decks or your very own dock when you just want to sit a spell and let your cares drift away.... Each cabin is private, surrounded by woods, and situated on or right near the water. The Cochrans are gracious, helpful hosts, and we depend upon a daily greeting from Lainey. This is the perfect, quiet Adirondack get-away.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you year after year and have enjoyed having you. You're like family to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Berlin, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in one of the housekeeping cabins for a week in early September 2010. The cabin is very clean ,comfortable and rustic. No TV, no phone, no internet and that's the way we like it. The wood stove used for heating is an added bonus. Great for those chilly Adirondack mornings. The channel, which connects Lake Kiwassa to a huge interlake water system, is about 25 feet from the door. The canoeing is fantastic. You can rent one or bring your own. Birding is superb. Sitting on the small dock is fun. Waving at the boats, canoes and kayaks as they go by becomes part of a daily routine. The town of Saranac Lake is only 15 minutes away ( excellent place to eat and walk around) but you get the feeling that you are "off the grid". This type of vacation cabin is not for everybody, but if you love the outdoors, hiking, boating, and peacefullneess, you will love this place. My wife and I have been coming here since 1996 and we will continue to vacation here for many years to come! The Cochran family are wonderful hosts and readily available to assist you with any needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! It is always nice to have you here - it seems like just yesterday we met in 1996 on your first visit. We look forward to seeing you (and your dog, Major) again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had a wonderful experience while staying at Cochran's Cabins. We stayed in Camp George. It is a rustic cabin and ,maybe not for everyone, but was just what we were looking for...you are in the woods in the Adirondacks...so the peace is incredible! I loved getting up in the morning, having my coffee while watching the mist rise from the lake!Margie is a wonderful host...very knowledgable and helpful with things to do in the area.
I hope others will find the tranquility that we found at Cochran's Cabins.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola54126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Cottage, NY
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We loved staying at Cochran's Cabins! The owners are friendly, and the water and woods there are just beautiful. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and basic - not luxurious, but we weren't there to hang out in the cabin, we were there to be outdoors. It was quiet, peaceful, just a great spot to relax as a family - the kids found plenty of fun around the boats and lake front and also hiking in the woods.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueValleyCottage_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver,CO
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My girlfriends and I wanted to get away and have a fun-filled girly vacation. We were able to really relax and be outdoors at this property. We cooked, drank wine and played games from the comfort of our own private kitchen. During the day we had our choice of many outdoor activities from canoeing, water skiing, and hiking. There's even a secret pond that the owner will give you directions to. It's an easy boat ride away. There's no lights on the properties, which makes it perfect for stargazing. While the cabin was very rustic, it had great charm and character, perfect for our reunion with the girls.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

A friend and I rented Camp Jenny at Cochrane Cabins for a week and had a wonderful time. It was rustic, but much less so than we expected. They just added a new deck to the cabin, which was wonderful and on the nights when the bugs got bad, the screened in porch was delightful. The owners are so incredibly nice! I forgot to bring my blankets and they were happy to lend me some. We rented Kayaks from them for a day which was also really fun. Camp Jenny was nicely secluded so we could let our two little dogs run around - they also had a great time!

I'd love to take more friends up here and stay again.

Helpful?
Thank angelkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2008

A tripadvisor user recommended Lake Saranac as the best place to stay in the Adirondacks and we were not disappointed. Cochrans Cabins was a perfect haven.

We stayed in one of the cabins 5 metres from the edge of Lake Kiwassa and cooked our own breakfast in our own dinky kitchen every morning. We ate on the porch, hung out with Lainey the dog, went canoeing from our own pier, and were in 10 minutes drive of many amazing long walks. The owners were more than helpful, especially letting me use the phone and web when trying to book our next hotel. The town is great too for food and supplies. Lake Placid is a short drive if you want to get a bit more touristy.

We saw deer, bald eagles, woodpeckers but alas, no bears... We would go back every weekend if weren't living in London, UK!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hooolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
437 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
104 reviews
8.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochran's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochran's Cabins

Property: Cochran's Cabins
Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among the Kiwassa maples on Lake Kiwassa and Kiwassa Outlet, Cochran's Cabins are just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. The property is nestled on over twenty wooded acres at the end of the road, on the water's edge of Lake Kiwassa. Offering 12 cabins, 1 lean-to, boat rentals and camping logistics. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cochran's Cabins Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing