We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Mc Kenzie's Grille

Mc Kenzie's Grille
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Canandaigua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Food was mediocre, service was ok, prices a little high. We usually pick a spot and keep going back, decided to look elsewhere and found a much better place down the road

Helpful?
1 Thank chrisman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/ Awesome service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Service was fantastic, very friendly, very professional.

Breakfast food was great.
We had waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage. My daughter had Oreo cookie waffles (waitress's recommendation). She was very pleased with them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiloIsKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Breakfast out and back”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ate breakfast here before heading out for a canoe and camping trip with oatmeal on the menu for 5 mornings. This place did not disappoint 4 hungry men. The waitresses were very cheerful and helpful. We had another satisfying breakfast on our way back-- after eating the oatmeal in cloudy or rainy mornings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Winter Carn Downfall”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

upon arrival to McKenzies, we were NOT greated by a hostess but had to excuse ourselves to ask for a table. As it was winter carnival, we had a large group of people that they could not accommodate… they told us "we will never get our dining room back together" (which was not our problem, as they had just accommodated a largER party moments before) Our waitress greeted us with a "What do you want to drink?" and after two coffees and three waters, she returned for our food order. We were not ready to order and our waitresses response (I'm not sure what her name is as she didnt even greet us or introduce herself) was a sigh of annoyance and a long look at her watch. without a word she then left and came back about 10 minutes later. At this point we were annoyed and had already served ourself coffee refills from the waitress station across the room. our food came out relatively quick but our wait for our check seemed to take forever. when going to pay, we were two seconds away from ringing out ourselves, too. for being such a small-town restaurant (which we ARE locals). We were so excited but so unimpressed. WILL NOT BE GOING BACK!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElizzCompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Winter Time”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Once again a trip to Saranac Lake for the winter carnival, breakfast was good and hot when served. Soup and pie for lunch were also delicious. Close to the motels so can get busy at times like any small restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Bailey4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mc Kenzie's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mc Kenzie's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing