We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Cafe

Blue Moon Cafe
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Cafe, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1996, a casual place to relax, grab a snack or meal any time of the day or night. Traditional coffee bar,beer and wine and alcohol, specialty baked goods and cheeses. Unique menus & specials. Saranac Lakes best kept secret for evening meals!
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was at my vacation home in saranac and had to stop by because the breakfast is to die for!! I was would defiantly go back this time. Seems like the food has gotten much better..I havent done their lunch/dinner though

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    122
    51
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

For SL it's good. But the coffee was lukewarm. Why do they not check the temp? And the soup, Turkey vegetable with black bean would have been superb if it was hotter.! WARM UP YOUR SOUP AND YOUR COFFEE! IT IS COLD OUTSIDE IN THE ADKS IN THE WINTER! I'll give you a 5 next time of you warm up the coffee and the soup!

Helpful?
Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Jacobs, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great menu choices - something different in Saranac Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived, but was pleasantly surprised by the menu! Lots of interesting options (especially in the "bowls" section) and food generally seemed on the healthier side. We were also surprised to see they had a fairly decent beer selection (although bottles only). If I lived in the area I'd be going back for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schoencm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“And another SLK gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great food, nice crowd. I love Sunday breakfast here. Good coffee and the local newspapers, too. Fresh local baked goodies you won't find anywhere else, enjoy !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was "the place" to have breakfast in town on a Sunday morning. Of course, it was one of two breakfast spots open in town! We waited to be served for at least 10 minutes, and then another 15 minutes before our breakfast was served. Very short-staffed for the number of people in the restaurant. However, the quality of the food and there was a good amount of it. The coffee bar was self-serve which, given the level of service, was an excellent idea.

If we were in a hurry, we'd probably forego this restaurant. But overall, we were satisfied.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing