We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~hidden gem in the adirondacks~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

a friend of mine and I spent the weekend in a cabin, we brought our books, journals and just wanted to relax and unwind away from the rat race we call life, the view and lake are spectacular. We felt so relaxed and peaceful while at this location. Breakfast was great and the hosts were fabulous. I would highly recommend this location for anyone that loves the adirondacks and wants to be in the woods relaxing! Thanks Margie, we'll be back~

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank nancy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

I came across Kiwassa Lake B&B searching the internet for B&Bs in the Adirondacks and what a find it was. It exceeded my expectations by far! Where to begin? Upon arriving we were greeted by their beautiful black labrador Laney who immediately rolled over for a tummy rub…right there, I knew this was going to be a great experience. The rooms are immaculate and oh so clean, the ambiance tranquil, the views spectacular, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts are helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. Margie has every detail covered even right down to the proliferation of bird feeders outside the balcony so we could sit quietly watching hummingbirds perch briefly in the trees before swooping in for a feed.

As a bonus, for kayak enthusiasts, Kiwassa Lake is perfect for a leisurely paddle or for the more energetic and adventurous amongst us; a few miles paddling up river through lock gates will find you in Lower Saranac Lake with its maze of little islands perfect for a picnic lunch. Although, I would love to keep this new found gem a secret that would be really selfish. Kiwassa Lake B&B comes highly recommended for that moment of escape from our hectic lifestyles.

Room Tip: All four rooms are spectacular and well appointed (we got to see them all during our stay). However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kiwassa Lake B&B for 4 nights in late August, our second annual stay at this lovely inn. We woke up each morning to a panoramic view of lake, steam rising off the water, and the state park forests beyond. Off we'd go in a canoe for a pre-breakfast paddle to look for loons and enjoy the cool breezes. Then a swim in the cold lake waters to work up an appetite for a delicious breakfast and pleasant conversation with our hostess and friendly and interesting guests. Fortified, we would head out for a hike up a mountain to enjoy views of the Adirondack lakes and peaks. Saranac Lake is an excellent "home base" from which to enjoy nature and wonderful dinners in town or in nearby Lake Placid (try The Cowboy on Rte 86 approaching Lake Placid). We'd also recommend a visit to the Wild Center in Tupper Lake and the Visitor Interpretive Center and surrounding trails in Paul Smiths.

Room Tip: All four rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I needed an escape to unwind for a few days. We had a very nice comfortable room with a picture window and small private balcony overlooking the lake. Enjoyed the company of the hosts and the other guests. Beautiful place to kayak, fish, watch the birds, enjoy the sunset on the dock and finish a bottle of wine as the stars come out. We hiked, shopped interesting stores and ate in good restaurants. Learned a lot about loons and spruce logs for construction of long spans. I must say the fish in kiwassa are much smarter than in the next lake through the channel. In lake Oseetah the perch and pike kept us very busy. Can't wait to go back. Oh yea.. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place was a little bit hard to find but once you got there it was wonderful. The hosts were wonderful without being overly chatty, the breakfasts were delicious and the lake was beautiful and easy to kayak or canoe, even if you aren't very experienced. We spent only 2 nights but would definitely return for a longer period. The B&B rooms were big and very attractive. The ones with a view of the lake were especially nice. The cabins looked more rustic but still comfortable and with their own docks if they were on the water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you like camping, but want some comfort as well, but you dislike typical camp sites with tens of tents around you, and at the same time access to the city life (Lake Placid and Saranac Lake), this is the place to be.

Located right on Kiwassa Lake Outlet, you have the option to either use your own tent or use the lean-to provided. We chose to have our own tent and use the lean-to to protect our belongings from rain. A nice touch is the private shower with hot water. For some people pure wilderness is the main requirement, for us, that was the perfect combination of wilderness, comfort, nature and city life. You can wake up in the morning at the sound of birds and have a perfect lake view; prepare the breakfast beside the tent, go fishing or canoeing after that. BBQ in the afternoon and finishing with a perfect movie night in Lake Placid or marshmallows at the fire camp . If this is what you want, you found the perfect place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is the perfect place to take a break from reality and relax. The bed and breakfast was homey yet luxurious, clean and perfect for couples. Cochran's Cabins are ideal for groups or families. It's located just off the beaten path to remain calm and peaceful, but not far enough to feel isolated. The town of Saranac Lake is easily accessible via boat or car -- not to mention, there are boats available for rent at the B&B. The view is incredible and the breakfast is delicious. The Cochran's were wonderful hostesses who bent over backwards to make sure their guests felt comfortable. I couldn't think of single negative thing to say if I tried!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Lainey, Manager at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you so much for your response. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
9.6 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
507 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#2 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,174 reviews
8.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 13 in Lake Placid
354 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £157 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwassa Lake Bed and Breakfast is a waterfront, Adirondack B&B offering four oversized guest suites, each with a private bath. Some rooms offer a balcony overlooking the lake and one offers a fireplace. Although once you get here you'll feel like you're a million miles away, the property is just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake and ten from the Olympic Village of Lake Placid. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, free parking, boats/kayaks/canoes for rent and gourmet gift baskets for a fee. Come visit us - you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins Hotel Saranac Lake
Kiwassa Lake Bed And Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing