We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanda's Village Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Edie and Joe, the owners, are extremely nice people. They had coffee available each morning in the office and were always available if you had a question. They even gave us some dining recommendations.

The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had the 2 room unit that had a bath in between that worked out great for our family of 4. The first room had a bed, dresser, tv and dorm size refrigerator and window air conditioning unit. The second room had another bed and dresser. In between was a bathroom with a shower and commode. Each room had their own closet and sink with storage underneath, mirror and light. We even had nightlights.

Location is fantastic - very easy to get around and right across from Flower Lake.

I would not hesitate to recommend them or stay with them again when we are in the area!

Room Tip: Joe and Edie will give you a recommendation based on your party size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSKrogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family recently stayed for two nights at Amanda's and were very pleasantly surprised at how nice the accommodations are. While some of the exterior has been weathered by the Adirondack winters, the rooms were bright, ultra clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The owners made us feel like family when they welcomed us to their property. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to the Lake Placid/Saranac Lake area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1to1imagineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Owners are almost like B&B hosts: gregarious and outgoing. Joe is especially chatty. Property is old-fashioned and nice. Our room was dark but well-kept. Mattress a little soft for my tastes. Mini-fridge in room. Protected wi-fi available. Alarm clock affixed to top of TV, so in the morning there’s no simply reaching out to silence it! Only available electrical outlet (bedsides the one used by fridge and air conditioner) could not accept three-prong plugs. Water in bathroom not very hot. Property is across the road from lake; partial view from our room but crossing road sometimes chancy (no pedestrian crosswalk). Reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazoiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

When i made my reservation---the owner and i laughed it up as she was taking down my info....that right there made me believe that this was a good place to stay and for the price.....when i got there that afternoon-as i checked in,we yucked it up again.....friendly atmosphere.As i entered the room...i was pleased.It is,as stated in another review;very 60ish,road side motel....and who cares?Its well kept and was comfortable-with a decent price.I read a review by Scott,really cutting this place down....what does he want?My gosh ---this is Saranac Lake and it is rustic....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Amanda's offers a reasonable rate for a clean nicely appointed room. It's a great jump off point for the Saranac Lake/Lake Placid area. The owners are friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We will stay at Amanda's any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed a few days because my husband was having surgery at the nearby (2 miles) Adirondack Medical Center. They gave us a patient discount on the room. Staff was friendly. The room had 2 double beds, a table and a couple of chairs, a small fridge, etc. The only minor thing I could get picky about is the bed was a little firm for me (fine for my husband and adult son) and I would have loved a fluffier pillow. Basically looked just like the room picture on their website. Great water pressure in the shower. The room and bathroom were spotless. My husband spent one night a couple of weeks ago as he had an early dr appt. He had a single room with one double bed and was just as pleased with the first visit. Several local restaurants in the area and not too far from a grocery store, McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Dunkin Donuts. (The Cakery Bakery has delicious eclairs and Casa Del Sol has a coconut/cilantro rice that is yummy.) You'll definitely want your own vehicle as taxi service is questionable. 2 companies in Saranac Lake - 1 the phone was "temporarily disconnected,' and the other the driver was out of town and wouldn't be back for a couple of days. We'd definitely stay again should the need arise and highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I had casually mentioned when the reservation was made that we were returning for our anniversary. Our room was clean and comfortable, and included a lovely bouquet of flowers with a card wishing us a happy anniversary. What a sweet surprise! This may be a budget hotel, but the personal touches will make it seem like you spent much more. We've told everyone the story of the flowers. Who does that sort of thing anymore? Joe and Edie did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Village Motel

Address: 185 River St, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2022
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: £41 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adirondack motel is open year round, located on River Street opposite the park and public boat launch with spectacular views of Lake Flower. We are within walking distance of the downtown shopping district, numerous restaurants, churches and a host of entertaining activities. Lake Placid and its many activities are only an eight-minute drive away. All rooms at Amanda's are non smoking since 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Village Hotel Saranac Lake
Amandas Village Hotel
Amanda's Village Motel Saranac Lake, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing