We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
US$745
US$665
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adirondack Motel(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Flower Inn(Saranac Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
102
87
21
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
87
21
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatslife jacketschecking outbeds were comfortablethe staff was friendly and helpfulcasa del solfamily runflat screen tvadirondack chairsshort drivebalconylakemotelbicyclesadirondacksecomicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room itself was quite average. Ground fl on lake with good view, esp of the marina. Main room was spacious. Bath was small, maybe 3x10, with no ventilation. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Some maintenance issues were evident, I.e. end of baseboard heat smashed, and screen on window bent. Sm refrigerator sat on floor and shelving was missing. A solid shower curtain w liner was used rather than one with netted top so showering was done pretty much in the dark. Wi fi seemed intermittent, w connections dropped and needing to be re-established. There were few outlets, 1 available socket in main room and 2 in bath. It took awile to figure out which light was operated by the switch just inside door and that key only worked handle lock with the deadbolt acting as night security. Location meant you drove just about everywhere.
What made it very good was the friendly helpful staff; the clean room with comfortable beds; the availability of personal water craft at no extra charge, good tv with plenty of channels and the McKenzie Grill across the street where simply the best breakfast can be had. (We didn't eat lunch or dinner there.)
We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sschestnut2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My daughter and her friend are camping through NH,VT and NY for the week. I told her to pick a location and I would pay for a room for them mid week. I just happened upon this place on the Internet and knew instantly they would like it. When I called from out of state the front staff could not have been any nicer! Helpful with all my Mom type questions,which made me feel as if they were staying with really nice people! When my daughter arrived she said "Mom,this is a perfect place for us! We are going to go kayaking for free at Sunrise!". She loved the room and the location. I will highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to NY!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunriseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

This really was one of the most enjoyable reviews I have read. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our staff. As a mother of three, I truly appreciate your confidence in us and comfort in sending your daughter our way, one of the best complements our business has had.
If your travels take you our way please stop in as I would love to meet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

this was our 3rd trip to saranac lake, a sleepy charming town where time stands still. the inn is a great base for all of our wanderings and a peaceful, beautiful place for just hanging out. we tour the great camps, head into the mountains, paddle the lakes and visit in the historic sites including riverwalk, the saranac labs and the robert louis stevenson cottage. got my first set of johnny cash stamps at the post office in town. great library with lots of books and info from staff about local stuff, like the old "cure cottages" we're always checking out. cool mornings with mist on the lake and loons calling. staff and fellow guests all very friendly and fun to talk to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I love that you had such a great trip to Saranac Lake and really enjoyed all our town has to offer! I am also extremely jealous of your Johnny Cash stamp!
We hope next time you are in our little corner of the world you stop in, even just to say hello. Until then, safe and adventurous travels'
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have never been to the Saranac lake region. We loved your hotel. It was very very clean and comfortable. My wife tends to be a little pickier on hotels and she couldn't wait to come back to stay with you. Your staff is extremely detailed oriented and our trip was so relaxing, so much so, we stayed an extra night that was not planned. We are excited to book our future trips with your inn!

Room Tip: We loved the water side views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us, including the extra night! We appreciate the positive feedback about our staff and I will pass along your kind words. Looking forward to your next visit should you return to the Adirondacks- until then happy travels.
-Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The room was on the water with a fabulous view. It was small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. This room had been flooded recently by the heavy rains and its proximity to the lake and smelled bad. There is mold in the shower caulking. There was no fridge or microwave, nor a coffee maker. To make tea we were advised to use hot water from the tap. Hardly hot enough for that purpose. Cory is an outstanding employee and should be commended for her excellent customer service. The owners need to invest in the simple amenities as mentioned above to make this a good value for what they charge. Rates fluctuate dramatically depending on events in the area. Increase of 50% for the rugby tournament.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the water as the bugs are atrocious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 328Laurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly relay to Cory you were so pleased with her customer service, it is always wonderful to receive positive staff feedback.

We are sorry you were not happy with your room although you were pleased with its cleanliness and comfortable beds. I looked back at your reservation and noted you booked a single queen room, as described on our site this is a smaller room for two with fabulous views. We are happy you loved the views, and suggest next time booking one of our many larger room options, As with all of our single queens, refrigerators and microwaves are available upon request.

Boiling water is available for tea and cocoa at our coffee station in the office, along with a large selection of teas and chai. We are sorry you missed this station. For future travels we always suggest to please ask the staff should you need assistance or areas attended to. Hotel staff are always happy to help and are unaware of your needs unless addressed.

To note, our rooms have not flooded. There has been a lot of rain this year all over the east coast, effecting the Adirondacks by way of humidity and higher water levels in the lakes, however no room flooding has occurred. Also, like all hotels rates do increase during the peak season from the off. We at Saranac Lake Inn work to balance this with awesome specials and discounts throughout the summers, and suggest booking those dates next time.

Safe travels and should you come to Saranac Lake again we would be happy to assist you in your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews