We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Saranac Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Saylorsburg, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here due to close proximity to Paul Smiths College. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful. Rooms were very clean and breakfast was wonderful. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    168
    78
    13
    15
See reviews for
162
122
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Onaping, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

After driving many hours we were greeted by a friendly face at 11 pm. Clean warm room with a modern bathroom at a reasonable price. The building was quiet and we all had a comfortable stay. There are stores and restaurants neaby to add to the convenience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was clean and secure. The staff was friendly. There was a strong wifi signal. It was nice having the fridge/microwave and coffee in room. The price was fair.

The lighting in the room was an issue, was hard to work at night due to lack of lighting. There were 3 lamps however the wattage was very low. There was a strong chlorine smell in the hallways. The bathroom was pretty small.

The location was convenient with several places to eat nearby. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Rooms need to be more updated - bathrooms need to be cleaned better - mold was under the sink rims and wallpaper was falling off - no fans in the bathroom that is why wallpaper was falling off - beds were hard and uncomfortable - pillows were for of a feather type and not foam - very uncomfortable - was there for college visit - other families felt the same way -

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Scott & Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed with my family here for three nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Th staff was friendly and helpful. The room had refrigerator, microwave, cofee maker. We didn't go to the pool because we came there to ski and have fun in a snow. I don't have complaints and definitely would stay here again. A big plus also is the restaurant just few steps from the hotel where you can have a very decent breakfast for dicounted price. I didn't try the restaurant for breakfast or lunch, as we were mostly in the area to have some fun in the snow. Room had a coffee maker and microwave. Several supermarkets in the area, as well as McDonald's and Pizza Hut. Would I stay here again? Very likely if the price is right--which it was at the time. « less

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vladimir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY State
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and while the property itself is looking quite dated, I have no complaints. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

I didn't try the restaurant for breakfast or lunch, as we were mostly in the area to have some fun in the snow.

Room had a coffee maker and microwave. Several supermarkets in the area, as well as McDonald's and Pizza Hut.

Would I stay here again? Very likely if the price is right--which it was at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsmandms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Out of all the choices that you have in Saranac Lake, this is the only hotel worth staying at. The hotel is nice and for the most part clean. Front desk staff is very warm and inviting. Always helpful and knowledgable.
The biggest issue with this hotel is just the fact that it is showing the age in terms of how many people have stayed there. Honestly though you can tell that it is being kept up. So that is a plus for them.
Housekeeping does need to try and pay a little more attention to detail though as the hallway carpets had a food spill on it that was never cleaned up during my stay.
Compared to the other choices in this area you will not go wrong staying here and will get a good nights sleep.
It is really a shame about the restaurant next door as they are only open for breakfast. To me that is never a good sign for a restaurant. Maybe during the tourist season they are open more? No idea on that. But there is a pizza hut, Mcdonalds, and subway right down the street. Still would have rather had dinner close to the hotel at a good restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
6.8 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saranac Lake

Property: Best Western Saranac Lake
Address: 487 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463 (Formerly Best Western Mountain Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saranac Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Saranac Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western
Best Western Saranac Lake New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing