We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Clean Room and Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Saranac Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Clean Room and Pool”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a good 3 night stay here after a mix-up with our booked price through the central reservation centre - front desk clerk eventually (and reluctantly) found way to match the rate we were quoted & willing to pay. Room with king and pull-out queen was great for our family. Good location for accessing much outdoor adventures in area and Lake Placid town, nearby. The front desk people were as friendly as they needed to be for this type of service but it didn't seem to come naturally to some of them. Main drawbacks were...i) no safe in room, ii) no hottub/sauna/change room in pool area, and iii) no breakfast included, as with many similar hotel properties. We'd stay here again if we couldn't get something comparable in Lake Placid.

Room Tip: No reason to stay on 2nd floor (and use stairs) since ground floor rooms in same area (away from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    168
    78
    13
    15
See reviews for
162
122
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel service I have ever experienced. Due to a serious family hospitalization, I was forced to check out a few hours after checking in. The concierge did nothing to make a bad situation better. They refused to give me any type of compensation, and I paid the full price. When I spoke to the manager, he was rude and unsympathetic. This experience made me never want to stay in a Best Western again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank K8lyn-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel itself worked for what we needed, a place to sleep after experiencing the beautiful outdoors. It was a little outdated, but the rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. It is on the main road and is walking distance to to a few local restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Christan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Bed was comfortable and the king suite was fairly roomy.

Windows were locked shut. Clearance between bathroom door and toilet bowl was less than one inch!

Shower curtain was somewhat grimy. Service issues - not enough towels, one day the cups were not replaced.

The associated restaurant was good for breakfast and a reasonable value.

Room Tip: Two story, no elevator. non smoking king suites 233 234 are fairly close to stairs and ours was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt-mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in a nice location with a view of the lake across the highway and pond connected to the lake immediately adjacent to the hotel. (We saw a family of geese on the bank of the pond beside the hotel in the early evening). Our room was large and nicely furnished with a table and two chairs plus a large arm chair with an ottoman. The bathroom was large but the counter was small. The room rate was very reasonable, particularly considering the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It has been a number of years since I last stayed at this hotel, and I wasn't in a hurry to go back. A recent business trip in the Lake Pacid area left me with not many choices if I wanted to stay in a Best Western, so I booked a room here. When I checked in, I was pleasantly surprised that all of the rooms are now non-smoking, and that they made some real nice improvements in the entire hotel. The only disappointment was that they still did not offer a continental breakfast. However, breakfast was available at a restaurant right next door. I enjoyed my meal there. I plan on returning to this hotel for future business trips in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Ma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

All 5 Best Westerns worth e great, amenities were available for all of the family and Breakfast, discounts were generous. Overall rating is about a 10. Some comforts were not available but considering that it was the holiday ( 4th of July weekend) we really can't complain. I would recommend staying at any Best Western and probably will stay again with rewards and amenities available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
6.8 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saranac Lake

Property: Best Western Saranac Lake
Address: 487 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463 (Formerly Best Western Mountain Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saranac Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Saranac Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western
Best Western Saranac Lake New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing