We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family-run hotel with good amenties and woodland walks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice family-run hotel with good amenties and woodland walks”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We've stayed in this hotel twice now and have come away happy and refreshed both times. The hotle staff are friendly and there is a real "local" feel to the place. The hotel has a pub/restaurant across the way which serves nicely prepared food in a low-key, relaxed setting. The real bonus with this hotel is the forest walk down to Lonely Lake, a superb, short stroll - especially on a misty morning as the sun rises, the birds chatter and the mist clings to the lake and slowly climbs the trees on the lakeside to greet the watery sun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    96
    21
    4
    13
See reviews for
80
212
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the romance package they offer, which included a comfortable king-size bed, jacuzzi bath in an oversized bathroom, an adjoining living room and another full bathroom. We were greeted with chilled wine and chocolates. Our ground-floor room opened up through the sliding doors to a tranquil woodland setting. We enjoyed a delicious dinner as part of the package in the on-site hotel. Before dinner we watched the Kentucky Derby in the bar with other guests. The bartender makes a great Mojito!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was decent. The room (we had the lofted room) was very nice, well-kept and comfortable. We had dinner sent to the room and the food (steaks) and the service that night was excellent. There happened to be a sweet sixteen party that evening so there was some loud music and kids running around, but other than that the evening was very nice. A continental breakfast was offered, but be sure to keep everything tidy, the woman working that morning was very upset that I spilled the orange juice (she was a having a bad morning I guess). Overall the hotel experience was enjoyable.

Room Tip: The lofted room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy14626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moriah, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Well kept, clean, very nice room and comfortable beds. Couldnt be totally happy, lost power in the area for four hours and hotel had no generator so sitting in the dark was not a pleasent experience. Like the last hotel I stayed in when i was awoken by fire alarms, no discount was offerred.

Helpful?
Thank Hollowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I have not had a weekend together in at least 6 months, so I surprised him by booking a weekend away for the 2 of us. A co-worker had told me about Longfellows. From the first phone call to checking out we had a wonderful experience.

We booked the romance package. Right away on the phone, we were upgraded to the king loft instead of the deluxe king room. I am thinking this is because their massage therapist was not going to be there this weekend. They were very friendly on the phone and answered all of my questions.

When we checked in- they were completely ready for us. We walked in and it was the easiest check in ever and she was so kind to us. We went to our room and were surprised by how large it was and how clean it was. Chilled champagne and chocolates were waiting for us.

Meals- wow is all I can say. The restaurant staff went out of their way to help us. The food was delicious. With our package- we had 2 appetizers, 2 salads, 2 entrees and 2 desserts. All that we had to pay extra was any alcohol, tip, tax, and if our entree was over a certain price. Both of our servers were excellent.

The room was very clean and the jacuzzi tub was wonderful-and much better than the spa that we had gone to on Saturday. I should have asked the front desk staff when I made the reservations for recommendations for spas- I am sure that they would have led us the right way!

We are so thankful for all of the staff at Longfellows. They completely took care of us and took care of needs that we didn't even think of! Our room was great. We did note that the walls are thin, but we turned our tv on low and that really took care of the noise. There was one snafu on our checkout date; however my husband spoke to the front desk staff and it was immediately taken care of and they refunded our stay slightly. (housekeeping was not aware- they stated- that we had a late checkout while we were still "using" the room... ) When we checked out- this was handled with grace and tact- and that is all that I could ask for!

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend- we will be back.

Room Tip: We were in the inn portion- so did not have an issue with the skylights- since they are not in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

My hubs-to-be and I stayed one Saturday night here. It was wonderful! The front desk staff is so personable and friendly! We reserved a king room with a loft and it was soooo nice! There is a huge bathroom with a jet tub downstairs along with a couch, fridge, tv, and desk, and then up the stairs is the king bed and second TV. So spacious and not expensive at all. Everything was super clean and the bed was very comfy. The pillows are feather so bring your own if you prefer. We also ate at the restaurant and our waitress Katie could not have been more wonderful! So friendly! Try the crab and artichoke dip, it is the best!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Truckersgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I decided to get away for a few days during president's week. Saratoga Springs is one of our favorite spots to go to and have been there on numerous occasions. This is however, the first time that we have stayed at the Longfellows Hotel. From the time that we first stepped into the lobby throughout our entire stay, the staff at both the hotel and restaurant were professional and friendly. I had arranged to have the dinner package added to our first night's stay which also included a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting in the room when we arrived. I figured that the champagne would be some cheap brand but it was not. We had dinner reservations at the restaurant for 6:30. We were running about a 1/2 hour late and when I called the restaurant to tell them, they were most accomodating and our table was still held for when we did arrive. Everything about our meal was top notch from appetizers to dessert. We could not have asked for a better meal and the waitress did an excellent job of getting us through the evening. Our King Suite was great and very roomy. The only complaint is that the sofa in the living area really needed replacement. I would recommend the Longfellows Hotel and Restaurant to anyone looking for a great getaway.

Room Tip: Even though a little more expensive the King suite was really nice and roomy with the bed in a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdsstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.5 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
3.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.3 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Property: Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Address: 500 Union Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in making the everyday exceptional; providing outstanding service; and offering an experience you will treasure. Located one mile from the Northway, we are nestled on the countryside just minutes from downtown Saratoga and away from the hustle and bustle. We pride ourselves on offering a relaxing, stress-free environment where we get to know our guests by name. We’ll take care of your dinner reservations, shuttle you to and from town and remember your favorite paper. We offer spacious guest rooms, luxurious lofts and executive suites with numerous amenities to provide all the comforts of home. At our adjacent restaurant, you’ll enjoy award-winning cuisine and a wine list that’s earned Wine Spectator’s recognition for over eight years. Please be advised that menu items and prices are subject to change based on market prices and at Chef's discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, Hotel Saratoga Springs
Longfellows Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing