We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a real casino” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saratoga Casino Hotel

Saratoga Casino Hotel
Halfmoon, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a real casino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

They advertise themselves as a casino, its not. It's a video slot parlor. It's nothing more than slots operated by a computer system that issues payouts like lottery tickets. They decide the payouts each day. Your not playing against the machines. If they want to tighten the machines they can at will. And most times payouts are poor. People win jackpots now and again. But it's NOT a casino. No tables or dealers. They just have slots. They lure you in from out of state with using the word casino. My advice, go to an actual casino. It's more fun and the drinks are free there, not at Saratoga.

Helpful?
5 Thank ffhal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    116
    101
    36
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Casino, race track....it doesnt get any better than that.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Tucked behind trees and a winding road to get to the casino and harness track, how great is that. Everything is so clean and neat. The casino has many slots, and upstairs they have a huge room of t.v's for all the different race tracks around the country. Plus, seating outside to watch the races, water ponds and fountains in the infield of the track. Just a please to just walk around and relax.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank coach787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
337 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“If the slots are for losers, this Turkey Sandwich is for winners.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This review is simply for the Turkey Sandwich ($7.50) in Lucky Joe's restaurant inside the Saratoga Casino and Raceway.

Typically, I don't bother to eat at a restaurant in a casino where you stand in line like at a fast food chain and place your order with a clerk standing at a register. However, on the recommendation of my wife, who has had this sandwich before, I tried the Turkey Sandwich. To start with, looking at the portion size, it is a very good value. Quality? The wheat bread was fresh, flavorful, thick, and soft. The turkey was not a pile of shavings, but thick slices of fresh breast meat. I'm sure you can alter how it is assembled, but this one was ordered with lettuce, cheese, and mayo. The only oversight was that onions were put on it without being requested. But they were easily removed and actually left just the slightest flavoring without affecting one's breath. Fresh and crisp potato chips (made on site?) were served on the side along with a pickle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Small Town Casino”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

On a recent visit to NY my wife and another couple were in the Saratoga area and decided to hit up the local Casino for something to do. Not one of us is a serious gambler but enjoy occasionally playing slots. We all had a good time and would go back again for something to do in the future I'm sure.

Having said this, I would like to note that the other couple is family and my wife and I visit the upstate NY semi-frequently. Otherwise we would be spending time in the mountains taking advantage of the beautiful scenery and surroundings and not in a Casino.


Back to the Casino. It was small but adequate in comparison to a major casino and just fun in general. I did not see any table games and am not sure of the laws in NY on gambling. However, race betting was available. We did not eat in the buffet but in "lucky joes", a quick service pizza, sandwhich, salad type place right off the game floor. It was nothing special nor did we expect that. It got the job done and was not bad.

Overall, good way to spend an hour or two in the area and like I said before, we would go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

It had no table games, just slot machines. It was nice to be able to bet on the horses but thats about it. Vapor nightclub was the only thing that stood out and made the raceway exciting and an experience. Stay away from the Garden Buffett! I recoment Fortunes restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saratoga Casino Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing