We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”

National Museum of Dance & Hall of Fame
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum solely dedicated to American professional dance featuring the permanent exhibition of Mr. & Mrs. Cornelius Vanderbilt Whitney Hall of Fame, which recognizes those who have influenced America's dance heritage.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This beautiful converted building which was once the Lincoln Bath is the perfect place to look at the history of dance in America. The exhibits are interesting both visually and educationally. I loved the enlarged photos of the dancers that were taken from the book Dancers Among Us. I had to purchase a copy at the gift shop. The exhibits are well curated and it's a pleasure to spend a bit of time there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to dance”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I visited the museum for a master tap class and the studios were extremely well kept and the instructors were excellent. They have classes all throughout the year for novices and advanced dancers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rasheda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much more than expected”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A lot of the way we look at things are directly related to our expectations. We had little, as we thought the exhibits would be limited in scope and "style" - so we were very pleasantly surprised to find much, much more of interest. Thank goodness for benefactors who donate so much of their money and time to make such a place become a reality. The admission price is very inexpensive and they have a wonderful children's area! Who knew? If you are in the Saratoga area (another treat) it's well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyPH417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Informative experience!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to see, especially on a rainy day. My daughter dances so it was very interesting. Lots to see. Great family day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachloverRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Vermont
2 reviews
“Bring the family”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our family (grandparents, adult children and grandchild) loved this museum. My 7 year old niece loved putting on the costumes and putting on an impromptu performance for us.

I thought I was going to be bored in this museum but I was captivated! If you are in the Saratoga area, do yourself a favor and visit this museum!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Dance & Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Dance & Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing