We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saratoga Springs Food Tours

Saratoga Springs Food Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the tastes of Saratoga while learning about what makes our area so special. Start at the famous Saratoga Farmers market and taste some of the mouth-watering cheeses, tapinades and home-made jams creatively produced by local food artisans. At the same time our experienced guides will tell you the inside history of Saratoga and the area’s farm community.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The tour was exquisite. Joe did a great job and our group had a really nice time. The weather was perfect and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to sample and learn more about Saratoga local cuisine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfeudy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castleton On Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My daughter gave me two tickets for my birthday. I've been to Saratoga many times, to the Flat Track and for dinner but never to the Farmers Market or on a food tasting tour. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I can tell you that it was a lot of fun and educational. We started in the Farmers Market and sampled great organic products while hearing exactly how the products were made. Some of the sampled products were Greek yogurt, various flavors of natural peanut butter and full fat chocolate milk that tasted like ice cream. Then we proceeded to taste the famous water from one of the springs and then stopped at an old historic inn where we sampled a great appetizer made of local beef. Then it was on to the shops on Broadway where we tasted infused olive oils and vinegars, salsa and spices and cup cakes (not together of course). ;-)
Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, take a camera and a shopping bag or back pack if you want to purchase items and an appetite. There is plenty to taste.
Joe is a fabulous guide and raconteur. I'm sure you will have a great time. Carol T

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We use to live near saratoga so I wasn't sure how boring this might be. We went with friends who were visiting. It was a lot of fun. We started at the farmers market and was able to sample different food. (the yogurt from Argyle Farms was amazing) headed to the Old Bryan Inn and had an appetizer and learned it's history. Then a few local stores on Broadway. The tour guide was great. My husband and I learned alot about each place we went. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Visiting from Australia, we did the tour recently with a group of friends from the Saratoga/Albany areas and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our visit to America. A young lady was filling in for Joe as our guide and did a brilliant job leading us through the Farmers Market and some of Saratoga's other culinary delights.
Highlights of the tour included the visit to the Saratoga Olive Oil Co shop where we could taste oils from around the world (including Australia), a light lunch at the historic Olde Bryan Inn and a generous taste test at Cafe Gelato.
We also enjoyed a guest appearance from a local expert who gave us a fascinating insight into the history and health benefits of Saratoga's famous mineral springs, which bubble to the surface in public parks in the middle of town.
An excellent tour we would recommend to anyone visiting Saratoga, although it only operates on certain days during part of the year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JanandDamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piscataway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A cultural and culinary extravaganza!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Visited Saratoga on Saturday and was fortunate to join Joe and his famous food tour. Bring your appetite, comfortable walking shoes and let yourself get whisked through the "golden age" of Saratoga Springs. Joe's tour was the highlight of our visit to the area. Touching on the highlights of the era when Saratoga was the place to be seen by the rich and famous and its historical significance during the Revolutionary War combined with present day food sampling from various Farmers Market vendors, shop, hotel, and restaurant owners made the 3 hour tour fly by. Something was purchased at almost every stop and will certainly be enjoyed over the coming weeks as a reminder of the fabulous time we spent this weekend. Thanks for making our day Joe!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saratoga Springs Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Springs Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing