We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn - Bathroom really needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn - Bathroom really needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked this on Hotwire, hoping to get the new Hyatt at Malta. As it turned out, this location was much better as we could walk to downtown. The Inn is historic; as such is not new and not upscale. However, it is clean and the rooms are well appointed. We had a quiet room at the back on the second floor. Because its old, the rooms are a little dark. Great King bed, small flat screen TV. The windows open for fresh air at night which is a great feature for us. This is "an old person's hotel" - great big dark pieces of antique furniture - dark colours etc. The bathroom really needs updating. It had a tiny sink with no counter top at all. Old bath with an acrylic overlay and grout in need of replacement. The breakfast (included) was wonderful. Fresh fruit, eggs benedict done perfectly, fresh waffles and home preserves, as well as the standard continental fare. This full breakfast is only available on weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    122
    43
    28
    9
See reviews for
79
186
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
katonah, new york
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

It is charming, comfortable, has a fantastic location -- you can walk to town (restaurants, shops, bars, music) and to the track, and in the morning you can enjoy the fabulous breakfast on the porch, watching the rest of saratoga go by!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bobbestultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed the night at the Inn at Saratoga for a "girls weekend" away. This was a pleasant detour from the chain hotel experience. Charming decor, unbelievably comfortable beds, a lovely dining room serving great food with a cozy fireplace to warm up the cold winter night--we couldn't ask for more. There was live music playing in the lounge which we could hear in the dining room adding just the right atmosphere without interfering with our conversation. We spent the afternoon strolling the streets of Saratoga Springs ducking in and out of shops as they caught our fancy. We had a great lunch at the Circus Cafe in town and explored the Northshire Bookstore. The Breakfast Buffet Sunday morning offered fresh fruit and yogurt, waffles, eggs, pastries, bagels, muffins . . . all delicious. I noticed that the Saratoga Performing Arts Center is right up the road, and I'm thinking it would be fabulous to come back in warmer weather, see a concert and spend the night. The staff was friendly and helpful--all in all it was a delightful experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelli22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice B&B-style hotel with old time charm, but modern comforts & spacious rooms, good free wi-fi.
Located at the beginning of the 'downtown strip' .of restaurants and shops (easily walkable). Was able to accommodate our early check-in. Great front desk / customer service. Unfortunately restaurant / lounge did not open on night we stayed, and very mediocre continental breakfast (a few very hard mini-muffins, just a couple English muffins/bagels, a fruit bowl, and some cereal ; good coffee though)..
Would recommend if given a substantially lower rate that the other 3 * hotels in town which tend to offer more amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearalbanyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tias, General Manager at The Inn at Saratoga, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Inn at Saratoga. Each year we close the hotel, except for the Front Desk, for our annual holiday party. It is the only day of the year this occurs. I am sorry you did not get to enjoy our Tavern or Restaurant. Lesson learned for myself for next year is that I will contact each guest before they arrive and inform them that the Tavern and Restaurant will be closed. Once again thank you and we appreciate you being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Love this Inn. I loved the ambience the decor and our beds. I felt like I was back in time watching the snowfall w my family having drinks in the lounge. If you are looking for a high end chain keep looking. If you want a great getaway with charm and character book now. We stayed on the first floor and loved it. The breakfast in the am was wonderful and I felt like I was a princess in an old castle. Chowderfest was fun too!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank momofone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Please don't be put off by the tired exterior of this hotel. We spent a few nights at the Inn at Saratoga in December last year and we couldn't have been more delighted!

We were booked into a four-poster bed room (that was a nice surprise) the bed and pillows were the height of comfort - like sleeping on a cloud!

The food was FANTASTIC - don't lose that Chef!! We had dinner in the lovely Victorian style restaurant and what a lovely evening that was. The complimentary breakfast was DELICIOUS - don't miss out on that!

And the staff was absolutely wonderful. Oh, and Ann (the bartender) in the cocktail lounge is a great source of local information if you're visiting Saratoga.

There are plenty of other great hotels in Saratoga, but we wouldn't hesitate in staying here again on our next trip across the pond.

Room Tip: Our only negative - try to avoid the rooms overlooking the main street, it can be a bit on the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivaldi1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Saratoga after dropping one of our kids off at school. The price was right and the room was clean and spacious. Beyond that there is nothing remarkable about this inn. Very "ho-hum" attitude from the few staff we came across. Don't get excited about the complimentary breakfast. The spread includes the very minimum.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poorfarm153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Property: The Inn at Saratoga
Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing