We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ants!!!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We went up to our room everything was fun. It looked alittle rundown from outside. The inside was okay and we had a whirlpool tub. We left for a movie then came back to ants hanging around the whirlpool tub, toliet, shower. The bathroom was nasty. The room looked shabby and looked like it was thrown together. Our stay was 365 dollars for that one night but they did give us free dinner and drink. Then in the morning we signed a thing saying we are paying 97 dollars for the room. We never recieved the money back and its been more than two weeks. If i were you, stay away from this hotel. What you see on the internet is very misleading. VERY!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momlove2bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    138
    43
    30
    9
See reviews for
85
202
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Returned to the Inn at Saratoga and enjoyed our stay very much. Yes, its a bit worn in places, but still very comfortable. Excellent location, rooms clean and reasonably equipped, helpful front desk. Very nice cooked breakfast each morning.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank QueenMumSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We are an elderly mother and two adult daughters who enjoy sharing one room so we can “pajama party.” But, other than the rare suite, it’s very difficult to find interesting old hotels that accommodate three separate beds in one room. The Inn is one of few.

After a harrowing drive from Long Island – bad weather, massive traffic delays, blah, blah, blah – all we wanted was a quiet room to stretch and rest before the next leg of our trip. We were placed in a room on the third floor. It was spacious and typically creaky for an old historic hotel.

As we walked from the elevator to inspect our room we were greeted by the incessant yapping of a little dog locked in a neighboring room. The poor little guy just didn’t stop. Although sympathetic to the poor animal’s plight the prospect of an all night noisy serenade was intolerable to us. We had no idea if and when the dog would stop barking. We needed to move.

When we explained the reason why we were requesting another room the front desk clerk seemed surprised that there was a dog in the hotel. My elderly mother stayed behind in the original room while we worked out a switch. She reported that within that half-hour the dog barked the entire time. After moving we could still faintly hear him two floors below.

The first floor room we settled into was larger than most standard hotels -- as are most of the Inn’s rooms -- and the bath was spacious and comfortable. But no grab bars and a very slippery sloped tub caused our mother to forego showering. We had a very convenient separate dressing room where we could store luggage. The TV was old but functioning. Although the Inn has undergone recent renovation it seems to have gotten a little weary already. Why does the décor have to be shades of dull brown?

The service was a bit lax, too. Certainly not up to the standard of previous visits. No one retrieved our luggage from our car. My sister struggled pushing a loaded luggage cart from the unkempt parking lot to our room. The staff knew we were three adults sharing a room and yet there were only three towels, one tiny bar of soap, and no shower cap. Although ordered at the time of check-in, our rollaway bed was still not delivered by the time we got back from dinner. It took two calls. And we had to set it up.

Even the restaurant and bar area has seen better days – although they make one heck of a martini. The menu is heavy on meat with gigantic portions, overwhelming for those of us with modest appetites and especially difficult for our vegetarian member. How do they expect hotel guests to manage doggie bags while on the road? I guess that’s why some guests bring their dogs.

Sadly I can no longer recommend the Inn at Saratoga, especially with so many other options available in town. This was one of several stays for us and we have witnessed a slow decline in décor, general upkeep, services and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddahof03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villanova, PA
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We were in town to visit Skidmore College and were delighted with the large, well-appointed room and clean, updated and moderately-sized bathroom. Our two double beds had ornate mahogony-style headboards and footboards, two bureaus were of a similar antique vintage, but well maintained. One was topped with an ultra-modern flat screen TV. A small round table with two chairs and adjoining dressing room (as big as a NYC bedroom!) were also included. Loved the high ceilings , decorative wallpaper a nice touch, Mattresses were a bit soft - you either like that or don't. Breakfast comes with the room. It was alright, but nothing to write home about. A step up from a continental breakfast. Weak coffee. Price, via Travelocity, was fabulous......$109 plus tax, etc. You're two to three blocks from the main area of main street, a less than 5-min. walk. All in all, we were quite pleased.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuvokVillanova_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The purpose of the trip was a one night stay over prior to wedding festivities. Hence the focus was solely WEDDING, and as a result there was no time to enjoy anything about this charming looking hotel located in an awesome spot of town. I can't wait for another chance to return and explore.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

As an oldie goldie myself, I enjoy the feel of the Inn. It is comfortable, charming, and cozy with excellent service and a friendliness not found at many places. When we return to Saratoga, we will stay there again. We really had a nice time and felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

As a member of the party traveling with No1DMBfan, I want to echo the rave review of the above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty customer care given us by Karan during Travers weekend. Clearly (and justifiably) her boss(es) have empowered her to win over new customers. She pulled out all the stops to wash the bad taste of our experience at the Adelphia out of our mouths: offering free coffee & breakfast, early check-in, passes to Victoria pool, seats at Travers, etc. etc.
For the past 18 years, we've been traveling to Saratoga Springs for Travers weekend and this was our best experience ever, largely due to Karan's TLC and also the beautiful, calming environs of the Inn at Saratoga. Hopefully, we'll be returning to the Inn for at least 18 more years. Thank you Karan.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diannemlCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Property: The Inn at Saratoga
Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing