We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Traffic Sound”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Too Much Traffic Sound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We enjoyed the quaint, older feel. More in tradition with Saratoga. We had the front room, Suite.(rm 222). Street view and above the bar. Absolutely clean. Sitting room was comfortable and if necessary, they have step ups for the magnificent 4 post King size bed. What I didn't expect was to be awakened around 11:30pm by a tractor trailer slamming to a stop at the light just above the Inn. Totally amazed at the amount of traffic of roaring engine and large trucks. It was a friday night and this went on til 3:30am and then quieted to a single car now and then. Also, several loud post bar patrons felt it necessary to yell, and laugh as they left the bar and stood on the drive, basically to our side windows, commenting loudly about the horse out at front. Maybe the ac during warmer days, helps to muffle this noise, but being a window unit, the mounting only let the noise be more audible into the room. My daughter even pulled the sleeper out in the sitting room, hoping that maybe that would be quieter. So, it would be a tiring day and a 6 hour drive back homeward. Would I stay again? Sure...just give me a room in the back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    122
    43
    28
    9
See reviews for
79
186
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Inn a few weeks ago. We were looking for a special place to spend our anniversary and The Inn was just that! The Inn was full of charming antiques and historical photos of Saratoga and the staff made you feel right at home. The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was an absolute perk! We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and were also impressed with the food. The place was magical! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something other then your average "corporate" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lisam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

My company was putting on a seminar at the Inn for clients, so my boss and I came in the night before. The Inn's website makes it look pretty nice, and as we drove up it looked quaint, if a bit "faded." I wish I could just describe the inside as faded...but both of our rooms were awful....hence, I am surprised by the many positive reviews here. As we arrived somewhat later, and were just staying one night, we didn't make an issue of it...but I'm not sure I've stayed in a worse room. First, there was a pervasive odor in my room (#229) somewhere between mold and feces. As it's an old building you can open the window which helped a bit. It was warm enough to use the air conditioning which was a window unit that was quite loud and cycled on and off all night. The toilet also ran off and on the entire night. Shower enclosure was clean, but very cheap, and the shower head was like a mister. Bedding was also a bit dubious. Batteries were literally taped into the TV remote control...most of the furniture in the room was scratched or scarred in some way...you get the idea.

Breakfast also pretty dubious. Fruit looked a day old...as did the pastries, etc.

There are numerous other nearby choices...go there.

As for the conference room where our event was held...not impressive at all. Some of the table cloths had tears in them, and the like. Our event organizer chose this location site unseen (other than the website)...needless to say, we won't go back, and were a bit embarassed that we brought clients to the Inn.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank peterarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tias, Manager at The Inn at Saratoga, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
In response to "awful" I am sorry your experience was less than what you expected. We are an older, historic hotel, not a one year old Hilton and I am assuming that is what you are used to staying in. There has not been a complaint from any other guests about any of the issues you brought up about your room but, the room was thoroughly inspected as soon as the review went up by myself, the head housekeeper and the front office manager and the only thing we found was the remote with the taped batteries. That has been replaced. Just today we received the critique form that we send to all of our groups from the event organizer. Here is a sample of the critique...

Meeting Room Set Up - Excellent
Catering/Banquet (Food Quality) - Excellent
Catering/Banquet (Service and Staff) - Excellent
Restaurant - Excellent
Lounge - Good
Front Desk - Excellent
Reservations - Excellent
Sleeping Rooms - Good
Housekeeping - Good

There are many positive reviews on tripadvisor because we are not the kind of place you described. Again, I am sorry that your stay was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I loved the Inn - my daughter and I went to Saratoga to see a concert at SPAC - this hotel was 2 miles from SPAC , basically a straight-away drive. The rooms were a very nice size, the beds were very comfortable and the free breakfast the next morning was excellent - aside from your basic fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc., there was a quiche and breakfast potatoes - all you can eat. We sat on the porch and it was a great morning.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concertlover24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Victorian charm somewhat shadowed by the need for some basic renovation. King size 4 poster beds are comfortable and impressive, but a step ladder would be helpful.
All together a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sign216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

I frequent Saratoga during the race season.. And on several occassions during the off season..I try to stay at The Inn @ Saratoga whenever I can.. The staff there is always pleasant and most accomodating. The rooms are always clean and comfortable..The complimentary breakfast is warm and filled with variety for the heartiest of appetities or plenty for the health conciouness individual.. The Inn is located in walking distance of all the local bar & restaurants..The bar located at the Inn is quiant; but always a pleasant time spent with the patrons from the hotel..With always a nice barmaid serving you tasty beverages..The Inn @ Saratoga is a place I would recommend to all; if you like a nice hotel with an excellent staff for reasonable prices..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar46LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

We went up to our room everything was fun. It looked alittle rundown from outside. The inside was okay and we had a whirlpool tub. We left for a movie then came back to ants hanging around the whirlpool tub, toliet, shower. The bathroom was nasty. The room looked shabby and looked like it was thrown together. Our stay was 365 dollars for that one night but they did give us free dinner and drink. Then in the morning we signed a thing saying we are paying 97 dollars for the room. We never recieved the money back and its been more than two weeks. If i were you, stay away from this hotel. What you see on the internet is very misleading. VERY!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momlove2bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Property: The Inn at Saratoga
Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing