We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some TLC” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saratoga Race Course

Saratoga Race Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famed 350-acre racetrack features thoroughbred horseracing during its six-week season from late July through early September. Though one of the sport's premier events, the races often take second place to people-watching.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I started going to the track in the 1960s - 3 to 4 trips a summer. After missing a couple of years due to a move to NC we visited last August. Unfortunately, the place has deteriorated, the clubhouse grandstand is dirty and the seats are rusting. If you visit, don't wear white, or better yet, sit at a picnic table outside. I won't be returning anytime soon. This governor has been a very poor steward of this historic facility. This track makes a huge profit but obviously the new head of NYRA doesn't plan to invest in maintenance or even a little paint. I'm afraid it's best days are long gone. I'll be vacationing in the city of Saratoga Springs in July - we love the parks, SPAC and the restaurants, but will skip the track.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers11805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    294
    60
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great day at races”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Can't wait for my yearly Jim dandy/ Alabama stakes visit- live racing, great atmosphere,always a fun time- all track seats close to the action - just a great time with friends/anyone who enjoys racing this is a summer must - then parlay this to kee in the fall

Helpful?
Thank Mcbub8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I go there sometimes with my boyfriend or friends, nice to relax, enjoy warm weather, and bet on some horses!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great old race track!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wooden bleachers, lot's of room, picnic area, historic setting and an roomy area to place your bets. What a great place to spend a horse racing day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great summertime place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Saratoga is basically a small town that has international aspirations. The entry fee is minimal, the entertainment is exceptional. People watching- beautiful people in fancy clothes & hats, regular people in shorts and t-shirts, kids running around having fun. Incredible horses pass before you, just a few feet away, along with the jockeys, trainers and owners. Live bands, local, and not local, foods, beer, alcohol, ice cream, fresh squeezed lemonade or fresh water mineral springs. Lots of places to explore, grassy areas, clubhouse seating, balconies, tents, picnic tables. Really has something for everyone. Races usually start at one, go early to stake out a picnic table, or check the left side of the main entry gate ticket booth to purchase grandstand seats if available the day of the race.You can carry in food and beverages to make it a real inexpensive day, or sample plenty of different foods there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank saratogasilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saratoga Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing