We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great start to a Saturday”

Saratoga Farmer's Market
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get some of the finest locally-grown fruits and vegetables at this open-air market operating each Saturday during the summer season.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great start to a Saturday”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

There is plenty to see. There is a great variety of produce, baked goods, plants, and crafts. Dogs are allowed. I filled two bags with vegetables. Many of the booths are under sheds so you are not under the hot sun. Parking is easy because it ia next to the public lot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank da h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I can't believe I haven't been there before and I can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I am local to Saratoga Springs and a friend and I went to the farmer's market 2 weeks ago. Love love love is what I have to say. The variety of produce, meats, cheeses, baked goods and flowers is fantastic. Bring an insulated cooler with you as I don't think you will be able to resist buying everything in sight. To tide me over, I bought a pie-cookie which is basically pie crust with fruit filling just like I used to make with my grandma when she was making full size pies. I also bought strawberries(forgot what a real strawberry tastes like-so good), fresh greens which were delicious, zucchini, artesan crackers and goat cheese. If I had thought to bring a bag, I would have purchased more items-the produce was that good. This place is dog and kid friendly and I will be back frequently. If you have a Wednesday or a Saturday morning free, go check this out. You cannot be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MFORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Saratoga Farmer's Market has grown over the past 10 years by leaps and bounds. For those who live close by it is a gathering place to meet friends as well as purchase great quality fruits, veges, plants, flowers, pottery, honey, yogurt, eggs, milk, fish, meet, soap, wine and bakery goods. Even if you are only visiting,,,,a great spot to grab a little nosh and a jug of maple syrup for your ride home. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Start for the Weekend”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Old McDonald had a farm...and every Wednesday and Saturday he'd fill his old Ford F-100 with produce and set up shop at the Saratoga Farmer's Market. That's the quaint feeling of this market which also has a variety of other vendors.
There is fresh cream-top milk, long island seafood, greens and herbs, floral arrangements, live plants, massages, knife sharpening, baked goods, fresh coffee, omelet making, clothing, crafts, fresh meats, cheese and eggs, and live music. Kids and dogs welcomed, although, since I don't own a dog, it would be cool if you'd leave yours at home!
Favorites are Kilpatrick farm for chard, fiddleheads and ramps, Balet Flowers for flower arrangements, the pretty Italian lady's sheep's milk cheeses, the Bee Guy's honey and balsamic, Dawn's unusual wild and heirloom plants, and the Milk guy and Yoghurt guy.
It's a busy market and seems to get busier between 11am-1pm. The easiest walking hours are between 9am, when they ring the starting bell, to 10:30am.
There is lots of parking on High Rock Ave, as well as the adjacent city lot. Try York and Henry Street for some additiional parking, but resist the temptation to park in the private apartment lot.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville. NY
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great market worth the stop!”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

A great market outdoors in the summer on saturday mornings. If you like fresh fruit and vegetables you'll have plenty to choose from, as the local farmers all bring their crops. The market also offers a wide variety of homemade jams, baked goods and breads. Some vendors even offer meats. My personal favorites are the delicious farm fresh chocolate milk and the various types of peanut butter offered by Saratoga Peanut butter Company, including regular, chocolate, white chocolate, maple, monkey boy, and a few others. Of course from week to week other vendors come offering things such as (all homemade) soaps, candles, honey, quilts, pottery, etc. Parking is located right next to the market in a very large lot where you can almost always find a space. The market is mostly covered so you will be fine if it rains. If you are looking to support great local businesses and farmers and are in search of fresh food and other high quality homemade pproducts, you can't go wrong here!

Helpful?
Thank js09629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saratoga Farmer's Market also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Saratoga Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing