We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yaddo Gardens

Yaddo Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formal rose and rock gardens are part of the magnificent Yaddo estate, a working artists' community.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading the book The Lady of Yaddo about Katrina Trask, I was looking forward to seeing this historic site. The gardens were not in bloom when I went in July, although the garden design and landscaping was pretty and the historical write-up is interesting. The biggest disappointment is that you cannot tour the house, nor even get close to it. Stop by on your way out of town for a few minutes - that's all it will take!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodAficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    70
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

As an area native, it was not until a few years back that I discovered Yaddo Gardens. A serene place where you can clear your mind and take in the colors of the beautiful flowers. To me it has a Roman Garden feel, something evokes a Maxwell Parrish ambiance. The garden is a place to bring your camera, it is magical, so serene! Don't miss out on this wonderful treasure that is still Free to the public and worth a fortune to your soul. Please go and you will see what I mean, it is jaw dropping in season!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
464 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“A tranquil Place in an Urban Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The entire place looks like an English Garden -- immaculately laid out with fountains, terraces, marble statues and a fish-pond. The Huge Gothic Mansion, the dark shady woods at the back and the pergola and trellises in the front, all contributed to give it an aura of romance, tranquility and serenity.

The large fountain at the entrance is lovely and artistic. The wide expanse of lawn going toward the Rose Garden was very soothing on a warm summer day.The Roses are all planted in a quadrant around the fish pond which is full of Koi and Goldfish. At the top of the stairs there is a Sundial in a balcony from which you can get a magnificent panoramic view of the entire Rose garden.

The Rock Garden behind the pergola starts at the fountain coming out of a pile of rocks covered with moss. This water gently flows down a meandering path surrounded by many more rocks, and ends up in a shallow pool with a strange statue in the middle of that pool. The entire area is dark, but has an interesting effect. The wildflowers, perennials and the lush ferns in that dark shady wooded area all around are actually appealing.

There are beautiful flowers in large pots everywhere. But we would have really appreciated some sort of labels to identify those flowers.

On the day that we visited, there was not too much flora for us to look at. But in full bloom, I can imagine that this garden will definitely be a Nature Lover's or a Photographer's dream.

People with strollers or wheelchairs would have a little difficulty here because you can only enter the Rose Garden via the lawn. Keep in mind that this land is uneven and very grassy. Otherwise, if you happen to be in the area, like we were, it is a good place to spend 45 minutes to an hour leisurely strolling around.

The Best part is that it is free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieandHistoryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to walk around, not busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I went because of the reviews, and it was a really fun trip. We went in the middle of July, so we missed the bloom which was a bit of a let down. They also seemed to be doing a lot of maintenance on the grounds, but overall it was still fun.

The best part, on the way out, we pulled over near a small stone bride and found a stream and a small waterfall. It's almost near the exit while driving, you'll see a small garbage can.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

easy to park, free, flowers need to be in bloom otherwise it can be skipped...........................................

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeterReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaddo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Yaddo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing