We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far short of Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

When we arrived the young man on the front desk was too involved with the phone to greet us or tend to us. A very pleasant lady interrupted her task and checked us in. We had had a long day of travel including a border crossing and were very tired. A cookie from the basket on the counter would have been nice. It was never offered. After dinner when back in the room we began to notice things about the room. There were two dirty Q tips on the bathroom floor, long hairs on the shower wall, lots of spots on the floor, showing a lack of mopping. There were no cups or glasses in the room. The carpet needed vacuuming,too. No paper delivered to the room and no bill was delivered. When we checked out they wisely did not ask how the stay was.
Keep in my my honored guest number is one of the oldest still active in Marriotts system. Staff of course didn't notice that either. This stay cost 30,000 points, way overpriced for the property and a total rip off considering the circumstances. I wrote this same review on Marriotts web site 3 days ago and heard nothing from them.

Room Tip: Yeah, go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, General Manager at Courtyard Saratoga Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for offering your feedback. Our goal is to provide 100% satisfaction to all guests, and I am disappointed to hear we did not achieve that goal with your stay. The service and cleanliness issues you commented on have been discussed with our team. We welcome all feedback, as this only helps us to improve. Again, we apologize that you were not pleased with your stay, but we would appreciate the opportunity to show you that this was not typical of our standards if traveling to the Saratoga area in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any further questions or concerns. Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Sincerely,
Megan Hennessey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Marriott ...what can you say consistently high quality..One desk person was so un "Marriott-like" not real friendly mildly helpful...but otherwise just a great place to stay in a fun town..They were very gracious with the van usage to town and we used it a lot as it was a scorching hot week the week were were there..

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kram5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

In summary, the hotel is slightly above average, rooms are spacious and clean, staff was friendly and the location is slightly off the beaten path.

There is a small pool my children liked and the breakfast buffet was adequate for $9.99.

The truth is there are many small inns and hotels right in the main strip of down. This hotel is several blocks out of the heart of town and thus there is a 10 minute walk. There is no shuttle into down either so you have to talk and you really dont want to take your car as parking is crazy, especially during peak times.

I stayed here because it is a Marriott and I am a platnium elite member.

If not for the pros of being a Marriott Loyalist, I would have stayed in the town.

Racetracks five minute drive away.

Its also a bit pricey, I paid over $200.00 per night in mid October.

All and all, you would not be dissapointed but be prepared to walk if you want to go to center of town.

Finally, this hotel seems to get a lot of wedding parties. No objections to this but the staff seemed swmaped with accomodations from the wedding parties and had little time to address the rest of the guests.

Nothing bad here, but truthfully nothing great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed two nights for business in early October 2013.

Location. Short, pleasant walk (maybe 15 minutes) from center of Saratoga Springs. It is sanwiched in a bit between two roads but nothing objectionable. There is a Hilton and a Hampton Inn a little closer to the center of town.

Checkin-. Easy and professional.

Lobby. Updated but with darker wood than most typical Courtyards. The check in clerk appeared proud that they have resisted the Courtyard "standardization." Matter of tatse I suppose. Don't have the brighter colors you see in Courtyards now. It was generally fine.

Room. Again, the room was rather darker than typical Courtyards. Maybe it wasn't stadardized but it looked a bit tired. Pretty spacious though. Could have used a little more lighting. Did not have a power station with a lot of outlets on the desk. Desk chair comfortable though. Bathroom was again a bit on the tired side with grout around the tub that could have been replaced. Bed and TV were fine. Good number of channels. Shower had good water pressure. Little noise from the road but garbage collection (or something like that) at around 4 am was a little annoying.

Amenities. Work out room pretty small with only one stationary bike. Lot nicer to go jogging in the neighborhood (Skidmore college is very close by and fun jogging around it). Restaurant was pretty typical of Courtyards. Just got breakfast but pleased with that. Hotel is just a few steps away from The Old Bryan Inn. Recommed it for a drink or dinner (particularly their steak).

Staff. Quite helpful with directions, jogging tips. Raining heavily when I left and they were prompt to get me a shuttle into the center of town. Nightly cleaning was efficient and thourough.

Overall. Solid average score. I haven't stayed at the other hotels in the area but this certainly strikes me as a reasonable place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed overnight on a business trip. The room was designed to accommodate a wheelchair, so relatively speaking it was spacious. Strong wi-fi reception. Full range of toiletries provided. Very comfortable bed. Bar fridge without the overpriced snacks. Small pool (no laps here!) and fitness cente had the basics.
Overall, very pleased with the facilities and location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This Courtyard should be called the JW Courtyard. JW is the Marriott's top of the line.We had the ceremony at the Museum of thoroughbred racing and the reception at the Courtyard. Both were magnificent. Guests who stayed at the Courtyard were extremely impressed with the staff and the rooms, including someone who spent 2 weeks before at the Four Seasons at $500. a night in Hawaii. Cara took care of the wedding reception arrangements and Gerry took care of the food. Gerry should have his own TV show. The food was fantastic.We had Filet Mignon , Alaskan wild Salmon, and Roasted Vegetable Wellington with a Goat Cheese Puff Pastry. The Creme Brulee Station was amazing.Our hats off to Cara and Gerry.The compliments we received from the guests were overwhelming. The reception was held in the Excelsior Springs room. All I can say, it was Fantastic.I am the father of the Bride.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewYorkRayman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed on the third floor overlooking the street. Very quiet. The only negative comment is that it would have been helpful if the bathroom was equipped with a rubber bath mat for the tub. Other than that the place and staff was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#18 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
748 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Address: 11 Excelsior Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2438 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: £80 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Marriott
Saratoga Springs Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing