We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk Staff from HELL!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, NY
1 review
“Front Desk Staff from HELL!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

We checked into the hotel 15 min before the 3pm check in time and the front desk manager, well, thats what her name tag said, was BEYOND RUDE AND AN OVERALL SNOB!!! Her total attitude was beyond unprofessional and was just MEAN. The guest in front of us was checking into a suite and she went BEYOND happy to check them in, but when we asked for a Pure, hypo-allergenic room as we requested through reservations she was nothing but harsh and mean. She gave us a room next to an elevator and said that was the only one she had in the hotel because they were sold out, but yet when I checked online there were PLENTY of rooms open through Marriott's website. And what scares me even more about this so called manager is that she checked us in with out asking for ID or credit card. Then 10 min later she called the room to tell us the card on file was denied and we had to come to the desk immediatly, with MAJOR ATTITUDE. My card was authorized for $700.00 for a two night stay in a room that cost $109.00 US per night!!!!! When I asked to speak with a manger, she told me that she was the only one there and that was thier rule because thats what "her general manager" wants!!!! I have been staying with Marriott's for over 2 years now as a loyal Gold Member through thier rewards program. NEVER AGAIN WILL I EVER STAY HERE!!!!! She should apologize and yet there is never a response back from the hotel General Manager or the so called, front desk manager. You should be embarassed by your actions and your lack of professionalism.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letscamp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    95
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
84
105
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

We have been coming to Saratoga for the past 12 years to the First Night Celebration. Two years ago we stayed at this Marriott. The couple in the room next to us fought and screamed for over an hour before someone from the management came up and asked the man to leave. A few hours later the man returned to the room and it all started again. The management couldn't seem to handle the situation. I laid awake practically the entire night worried that someone in the next room was going to be seriously injured. Furniture was being knocked over and I could hear the man hitting the woman. In the morning, the management didn't even offer us any compensation or an apology for what had to be the worst night I ever spent in a hotel.
Last year we stayed at another Saratoga hotel and had a wonderful experience. This year we decided to give the Marriott another try. We reserved a suite and signed up for the First Night package deal. After circling the parking lot several times we were finally able to park in a dubious spot. When we checked in we were told there were no more First Night buttons and were given a poor excuse as to why. We were then told to drive over to Stewarts to get buttons. Stewarts was out of buttons too and when we returned to the Marriott there was literally no place to park. We told the front desk staff that Stewarts was out of buttons, yet they didn't seem to care. A few minutes later I overheard them telling another customer who asked about buttons to go over to Stewarts. At that point we made the decision to checkout and never return. Our night was not a total loss as we were able to drive across town and buy First Night buttons at the YMCA and enjoy the rest of the evening. Instead of trying to find another hotel, we simply drove back home. All in all, parking and customer service at this Marriott are abysmal.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likes-to-Travel-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stayed at Marriott Courtyard while attending Allegiance Bowl college football game. Staff very friendly and professional.
Have stayed in Saratoga numerious times but first time at the Courtyard. Quite, clean and comfortable walk into social center of town.
Will stay again on next visit to Saratoga.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank musid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We recently stayed at the Saratoga Marriott and really enjoyed the stay. Very Convenient, Nice Rooms, Great Service - traveled with others and they all enjoyed the stay as well. Would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2Go5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

I travel to Saratoga every year with my college age son for a boys weekend at The track.
The hotel through its excellant concierge Diane, makes it easy for me. I'm able to make my dinner reservations and obtain seats for the track before I arrive. Diane knows all the best restaurants and is able to get preferred reservations.
Dean the bartender has been there for all my visits and the bar is a nice place to sit , have a drink and discuss the days races and next days handicapping.
I'm already looking forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradfordb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensbury
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

My girlfriend and I have stayed at numerous hotels in the saratoga area when she visits from manhatten, our favorite without comparision is the marriot!! The affordability factor was our 1st draw, however beyond that we find the rooms beutifully detailed,the reception upon our arrival very welcoming, and the staff to be truly accomadating. We have had our breakfast table set for us outside on the veranda, by a staff that wanted to make it special. The jewal in this hotel is the concierge Diane Lloyd, this lovely and very knowledgable women has made reservations for us when none were available, given us directions to an off the beaten path street that no one else could find, made sure we had wine sent up to our room after a busy day even when it wasn't usually "company policy, she even helped us pick out our special hats for a "day at the track". It's the people that make the place, so keep up the good work,because it certainely works for you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellythecargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Having not been to Saratoga Springs for several years I was suprised to find the Marriott Courtyard during my web search. It is a relatively new hotel and being a Marrriot brand "fan" I opted to try it. My wife and I were there for our 47th anniversary and because we both enjoy horse racing the SPA is the place to be in August. The hotel has a close-in location to downtown Saratoga Springs and is less than a mile from the race track, so it is walkable if you choose.
We were well received by a friendly front desk crew and a very helpful conceirge. Room was great and well up to Marriott standards. Breakfast buffet was complete and very reasonable. We relied on the conceirge for some up-to-date advise on restaurants and other arrangements and we were not let down! In all, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay!
It is difficult to describe "value" as August is "sellout" time in Saratoga Springs. The Courtyard is certainly comparable in value to the other top hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PICKEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#13 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Saratoga Springs

Property: Courtyard Saratoga Springs
Address: 11 Excelsior Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2438 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Saratoga Springs
Courtyard Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Courtyard
Saratoga Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing