We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty fare, well-prepared”
Review of Mio Posto - MOVED

Mio Posto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Mio posto is a petite American Italian restaurant located in the heart of Albany, New York. Our attention to detail creates a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for sophisticated dining. Danny Urschel's goal is to continue to develop mio posto with the intent to serve fresh, uncomplicated food to continually produce a gratifying experience for our guests.The menu is ever evolving. Based on local products and seasonal specialties, the menu is a culmination of thirty (30) years of expertise and experience cooking (and eating) with a great number of amazing individuals. With each new day, we pay respect to our past, while embracing innovative concepts and ideas.Whenever possible, we source products locally and use family-owned purveyors. We encourage reservation but are happy to have walk-ins, in space permits.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Hearty fare, well-prepared”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

"The Eggplant" (a layered eggplant, cheese & tomato sauce) antipasto was superb! The whole meal wholesome, hearty and flavorful. Well worth the visit. It is small, but not noisy. Book ahead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Versailles72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    49
    16
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White Plains
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the restaurant was very friendly and helpful with food recommendations. The food was excellent - you must visit. The figs with prosciutto - a great appetizer. The bolognese sauce is outrageous. Authentic and delicious Italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gourmet, Homey Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My husband, college age son and I ate here in mid-October. The restaurant is very cozy. It's small, but that is part of its charm. The staff make you feel like you are dining in their home. The food was excellent and plentiful. Plan ahead and get a reservation, it's worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joycesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DELICIOSO!!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We eat Itaian more often than any other type of food, and this was, by far, one of the best meals I have ever had (Rigatoni Bolagnese)! The restaurant is on the small side, so be sure to make reservations. I also had a roasted beet salad in a fig vinegrette that was to die for! And pistachio gelato as creamy as I have had in Italy! I just wish we did not live hours away!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Pea in A Pod”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Yes, that's how I felt, just like a pea in a pod. Tiny space with only 7 tables. Atmosphere is like something from the distant past. Food is outstanding with beautiful presentations. Pricey but fitting in with Saratoga Springs downtown. The $26 scallops were exxtra large and delicious. A thick, juicy pork chop was tender and mouthwatering. Service was good.

On the negative side, seating on the banquette with extra cushions was not very comfortable. Personally, I like to dine in comfort with a little more space between tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mio Posto also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing